Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Assault (?)

 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:10 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:25 am
Posts: 97
Location: Taiwan, at the moment...
1.  Can extra CC hits be allocated to units in the enemy formation beyond btb contact?

2.  Can units in btb contact have FF hits allocated to them?

3.  The extra attacks that are specific to "Small Arms" cannot be used if in btb (thus
     also the MW ability of Wraithguard), correct ?

4.  The extra attacks that are specific to "Assault Weapons" can only be used if in btb
     contact (thus also the MW ability of Terminators), correct?

5.  Support CANNOT be lent to an assault until AFTER the formations in the assault have    
     resolved their attacks AND either the attacker or defender has not been wiped out,
     correct?


   è¬Â


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:17 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
1.  Yes.  Once you've determined total number of hits they are just hits.  They are not "CC" or "FF" hits. (War Engines have an exception to this.)

2.  Yes.  See above - no distinguishable FF hits.  In fact, since units in base contact are closer than those not in base contact (obviously) they must be allocated hits first.

3.  Correct.  If you would normally use FF value, Small Arms abilities apply.

4.  Correct.  If you would normally use CC value, Assault Weapon abilities apply.

5.  Correct.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:22 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5478
Location: London, UK
Briefly,

1) As a general principle, all assault hits (CC anf FF) are pooled together and then allocated front to back against enemy units. There is no distinction between CC and FF, except in the case of WE (see below)

2) As 1), there is no distinction between CC and FF hits

3) You are correct. You need to be carefull to observe the distinction between "Weapon" notes and "Unit" notes. Weapon notes apply to the specified weapon, while unit notes apply to all weapons and attacks

4) Again correct

5) Correct. This is part of the 2008 errata which essentially splits the assault into two parts, and you resolve the core assault before considering whether support is applicable or not. (But don't forget that BMs get added to nearby formations capable of supporting even if they did not actually do anything)

==================
Drat, Neal got there first again - so as he says




_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 11:34 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:25 am
Posts: 97
Location: Taiwan, at the moment...
What happens to a broken unit that is assaulted?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 11:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
It fights as normal. Gets one blast marker for every unit left after all attacks are resolved and is destroyed if they lose.

Broken formation can't support an engagement.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 11:58 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:25 am
Posts: 97
Location: Taiwan, at the moment...
Quote: (Mephiston @ 31 Dec. 2008, 22:36 )

Broken formation can't support an engagement.

I don't understand?


Also, if they all get blast markers, aren't they just considered broken (again)?  That is, I suppose, unless they are Marines...that could be a (dangerous) way to regroup them.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:06 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
Sorry I'll clear up the blast markers. The broken formation counts as having as many blast markers as units when working out the modifier for the roll off.

So in a assault between two formations were the attacking formation has 1 blast marker and the defending formation is broken with 4 units left the attacking formation would get +1 to the roll for having less blast markers.

The formation will remain broken even if they win and if they lost they are wiped out automatically.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:11 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:25 am
Posts: 97
Location: Taiwan, at the moment...
That makes a lot of sense, actually.

Is this in the book somewhere, or in the 2008 Epic Armageddon Handbook?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:20 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
It's in the book. The bit about units and blast markers is in the assault resolution modifier table on page 26 and the auto destroyed is in 1.12.8 Loser Withdraws on page 27.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 1:47 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:32 pm
Posts: 4864
Location: North Yorkshire
I think that people need to check their rule books. If a Broken formation wins an engagement then it doesn't take any additional BM, so doesn't loose additional units. (Page 27 - 1.12.7 last sentence of first paragraph).

_________________
_________________
www.epic-uk.co.uk - home of the UK Epic tournament scene
NetEA NetERC Xenos Lists Chair
NetEA Ork + Feral Ork + Speed Freak Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:40 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
The last paragraph of 1.13.4 states


Remember that a broken formation that wins an assault
does not receive any Blast markers for the casualties it
suffered, and will not therefore lose any additional units
due to panic. It is assumed that in this case, the feeling of
triumph at winning the assault overcomes any feelings of
terror or fear.


So if a broken formation wins the assault no further casualties are taken.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:52 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 8:41 pm
Posts: 1480
Location: Gothenburg,Sweden
Hena ~ it's the odd results and situations that is the bread and butter for rule... lawyers.  :whistle:

_________________
It would be nice to get lightspeed,
so far we can only reach slight speed.
- Erik M
092b85658e746a91d343e53509d357744e56f641


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net