Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Questions on some of the finer points of the rules http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1439 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | JustinCase [ Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:51 am ] |
Post subject: | Questions on some of the finer points of the rules |
Hello everyone, At our last game of epic, our group came upon some things in the rules that left us a little confused. They really aren't major problems; they concern very fine points of interpretation. I was hoping some people on this board would be able to clear them up for us. The questions concerned assaults with more than a single formation on a side. The rules concerning this are only given in the Commander special rule section and in the Air Assault section. We were unable to find anything else that even references this situation, and the wording of these sections leaves some confusion as to the correct interpretation. 1st question: If an intermingled formation has been assaulted, can supporting units' hits be allocated to units more than 15cm from them that are within 15cm of the formation making the assault? 2nd question: It states under the Commander rule the combined formations are treated as a single formation; and that if it wins an assault, that each formation receives a number of Blast Markers equal to the number of casualties it suffered. Does this mean that each formation receives a number of Blast markers that the combined formation sustained, or that each formation suffers a number of Blast Markers equal to the number of casualties that particular formation received? 3rd question: Does an assaulting formation have to assault combined formations if they are intermingled (or could he choose to assault only one of the formation and let the other provide support to the enemy formation)? 4th question: If a unit of Scouts is intermingled with a normal formation in such a way that the normal formation cannot be assaulted without entering the Zone of Control of the Scout, can the non-Scout formation be assaulted or would the attacker be forced to assault both of the intermingled formations? Would this be dependent on which of the Zones of Control was entered first (i.e. the normal unit's ZOC or the Scout's ZOC)? Thanks for the answers in advance. JustinCase |
Author: | nealhunt [ Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:01 pm ] |
Post subject: | Questions on some of the finer points of the rules |
The rules concerning this are only given in the Commander special rule section and in the Air Assault section. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:40 pm ] |
Post subject: | Questions on some of the finer points of the rules |
Yes, that's right. I would have to check in hit allocation rules on those with respect to allocating support fire hits. Since they are done as a separate "volley" I would tend to lean towards them only being allocable to units in range at that point. |
Author: | JustinCase [ Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:57 am ] |
Post subject: | Questions on some of the finer points of the rules |
Hello, Sorry, I think all of the players at our table missed that special rule section off to the side while looking for an answer. It pretty much handles all of our questions. Thank you for your time. I do have one more question. If I engage an enemy formation in a firefight, and with the counter-charge, the opposing formation brings one or more of my support formations into the assault, do those formerly-support formations get a counter-charge of their own? Thanks again in advance. JustinCase |
Author: | nealhunt [ Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:51 pm ] |
Post subject: | Questions on some of the finer points of the rules |
Nope. They weren't "Engaged" or "charged" as such, so no countercharge. They just get pulled into the assault. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |