Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
[Rules]How does consolidating into transports work http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14349 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | konate [ Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:05 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
If guardians or other formation wins a combat and consolidates, how does one properly consolidate into transports? A. the unit can move into its transports, consolidation over. B. The unit and transports consolidation move is equal to the lesser of the two and the troops end up in the transports at the end of the move. C.  The troops consolidate into the transports, then the transports can move their own consolidation move. Or is it an option I didn't include? |
Author: | Dave [ Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:06 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
I believe, for the Eldar, if they're within 5cm of the transport then can consolidate in and the transport can move as normal just like every other move (as per Hit and Run). For other armies the transport's movement would be limited to it's consolidation move distance as normal. |
Author: | konate [ Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:20 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
Sounds kinda like option "C" with the extra limitation of "must be within 5 cm". I believe that if they disembarked to assault then they will always be within 5 cm. If this is correct, it is NASTY! |
Author: | Chroma [ Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:23 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
Quote: (konate @ 22 Dec. 2008, 18:20 ) If this is correct, it is NASTY! Except that they can't get out again until their next action... and Wave Serpents don't have *that* great of a save... It can be a very powerful tactic, but it does entail some risk. |
Author: | zombocom [ Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:16 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
If they are within 5cm, they can get into the transports, then the transports move away. If not within 5cm, the transports must move over each base to pick it up. It rarely comes up, since if the disembarked for the assault they'll usually be within 5cm unless the assault went for multiple rounds. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Mon Dec 22, 2008 11:07 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
None of the above. Aside from loading into war engines on a consolidation, which has its own rule section, consolidation moves work exactly like a normal move. The troops may not move at all. The transport moves into contact with the infantry, the infantry board, and the transport continues its move. From 1.7.5, end of the first paragraph: The vehicle simply moves into base contact with the unit to be picked up, and then carries on with its move as normal. Note that the transported unit is not allowed to move themselves during the move when they are picked up. There is no 5cm range limit inherent to picking up troops in a consolidation move, though for normal troops the 5cm consolidation distance for the vehicles obviously limits it. There is no way for the troops to move into the vehicle on their own. The vehicle has to move to them. Note, that means if your troops assaulted into difficult terrain then your vehicle may have to enter that terrain to pick them up. As a bonus, since the move is always restricted to 5cm, there's no reason not to "move cautiously" and take the terrain reroll. If your troops assaulted into impassable terrain for the vehicle then you may not be able to consolidate into the vehicles at all. There is no special "5cm jump into the transport" rule for Eldar. All the normal rules apply. Only the distance moved is different. Swordwind 1.1.2, last paragraph: In addition Eldar formations that wins an assault are allowed to move any distance up to their speed value when they consolidate, rather than being limited to a move of 5cms as would normally be the case. A Wave Serpent from one end of the formation could move 15cm to an infantry unit at the other end (if it lost its transport, for instance), pick it up and move its remaining 20cm off in any direction it wanted. There is an FAQ that says skimmers picking up troops in terrain are subject to the terrain effects so the Eldar do have to plan appropriately in that respect just like anyone else. And yes, it is nasty. A formation of DAs jumping out from behind buildings to assault, then consolidating back out of LoS is effective and very frustrating if you don't have arty to take them down. |
Author: | konate [ Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:18 am ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
So they can't embark AND move 35 cm away? |
Author: | zombocom [ Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:15 am ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
Quote: (konate @ 22 Dec. 2008, 23:18 ) So they can't embark AND move 35 cm away? That depends on how far the transports have to move to pick up all the bases. |
Author: | konate [ Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:42 am ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
Quote: (zombocom @ 23 Dec. 2008, 02:15 ) That depends on how far the transports have to move to pick up all the bases. When the assault ends, all models are 5 cm away from the Wave Serpents. |
Author: | Markconz [ Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:55 am ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
Quote: (nealhunt @ 23 Dec. 2008, 10:07 ) And yes, it is nasty.  A formation of DAs jumping out from behind buildings to assault, then consolidating back out of LoS is effective and very frustrating if you don't have arty to take them down. Yes it's one of the more brutal epic experiences to face... especially when it's done repeatedly by multiple formations of wave serpent mounted aspects. Artillery, Overwatch, Fightbombas, and just hoping my tyranids/orcs roll lots of 5's and 6's in the firefight are my traditional counterstrategies... |
Author: | nealhunt [ Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:27 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
Quote: (konate @ 23 Dec. 2008, 04:42 ) Quote: (zombocom @ 23 Dec. 2008, 02:15 ) That depends on how far the transports have to move to pick up all the bases. When the assault ends, all models are 5 cm away from the Wave Serpents. This is too dependent on the situation to give a flat answer. The transports have to move to the infantry first to pick them up, then they can use their remaining move. 3 steps: 1) Move the vehicle to the infantry - counts as part of vehicle move. 2) Load up - does not affect vehicle move. * Repeat 1 and 2 as desired until the transport is full. 3) Spend remaining move. If the infantry is touching the Wave Serpent, the vehicle doesn't have to move at all before they load and the WS can speed off with a full 35cm move. It works like this: 1) 0cm move required - already touching the infantry 2) 0cm move required to load 3) 35cm vehicle move remaining On the other hand, if the infantry were all 5cm away and the setup was something like this: inf - 5 cm - vehicle - 5cm - inf the vehicle would have to move 5cm one way to pick up one, then 10cm back the other way to pick up the second, using a total of 15cm of its move. It would have 20cm of remaining move. 1) 5cm move required to Inf 1 2) 0cm move to load 1a) 10cm move required to Inf 2 (15cm total expended) 2a) 0cm move to load 3) 20cm vehicle move remaining With modest planning by the Eldar player, they can usually keep the infantry in contact with the transport and have a full 35cm consolidation move if they mount up, but they have to conform to the movement rules so it's not guaranteed. |
Author: | konate [ Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:09 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
Would the infantry be allowed move (consolidate) the distance required to make the distance between them and the transports 0 cm (thus boarding the transport)? |
Author: | Dave [ Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:19 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
That's what I've always assumed. If the infantry started in base to base with the transport they could embark. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:41 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
Quote: (konate @ 23 Dec. 2008, 16:09 ) Would the infantry be allowed move (consolidate) the distance required to make the distance between them and the transports 0 cm (thus boarding the transport)? No. The infantry cannot move to the transports. If the infantry move at all, then the transports are not allowed to pick them up. 1.7.5, first paragraph, last sentence, emphasis added: Note that the transported unit is not allowed to move themselves during the move when they are picked up. |
Author: | zombocom [ Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:48 pm ] |
Post subject: | [Rules]How does consolidating into transports work |
Quote: (konate @ 23 Dec. 2008, 16:09 ) Would the infantry be allowed move (consolidate) the distance required to make the distance between them and the transports 0 cm (thus boarding the transport)? Only if the transport doesn't move once they're on board. |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |