Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Rules Clarifications - Broken Units

 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - Broken Units
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:30 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
A couple of questions,

There's been an on-running argument with regards broken units using transports. The rules explicitly state "A formation making a withdrawal may make two moves." Does this mean that the standard rules for movement apply, and it is legitimate for a transport to pick up it's disembarked cargo on the first move, and then disembark them at the end of the second? Seems a bit weird that a unit broken in an Assault would be able to extract in good order.

Do Broken units retain ZOC? In the most recent game, a spread out squad of broken Warbuggies was sufficient to stop me doubling around a BTS warband with a Landspeeder Squad, putting them in a crossfire. Seemed weird.

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - Broken Units
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:34 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
"broken" in epic isn't really the same as "broken" in 40k for example, it more represents disorganisation and tactical withdrawal.

It's not the same as running-for-the-hills type broken, which is represented by the "hackdown" hits after an assault, and the kills done by BMs to broken formations.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - Broken Units
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:01 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
Yes to both of your questions. You can disembark and embark during withdraw moves (only one during each move though) and they still exert a ZoC.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - Broken Units
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:06 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Like Dave says, both yes.

Aside from the noted exceptions, withdrawal is 2 normal moves and all the normal mounting/dismounting rules apply.  So, as well as using attached transports you could use a withdrawal move to mount up on a WE transport if it was close enough.

Nothing stops ZoC except base contact during an assault.  Keep in mind that the other side doesn't know the formation is "broken".  They just know there's a bunch of enemies with guns over there and they need to be appropriately cautious.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net