Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Aircraft embarking http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11770 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Mephiston [ Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:35 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
There is a long thread either on here or the SG site started by Biggles/Ginger. The end result was the only way for a formation to board an A/C and the A/C to disengage was for the formation to use its activation to move onto the A/C. |
Author: | Mephiston [ Sun Feb 24, 2008 6:11 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
From memory its something to do with the ground formation having activated already. I'll try and find the thread if Biggles/Ginger doesn't drop by before find it. [EDIT] Here is the thread, a warning its long! Specialist games thread |
Author: | Mephiston [ Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:16 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
Right I've actually reread the thread and I think you are right. If you land and all units in a formation are within 5cm you can pick them up and leave and if you have room another formation could activate and move into base contact with the flyer and embark too. 4.2.5 gives you the extra 5 cms 3.1.3 does not. |
Author: | Ginger [ Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:39 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
To summarise the thread, there are several versions of troop embarkation and disembarkation involving War Engines (See 1.7.5 and 3.1.3 for the other rules governing formation size etc.) :-
Does that make sense? |
Author: | nealhunt [ Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:40 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
As noted, the "free embark" is on landing, not disengaging. To be clear, you don't get the free embark if you disembark. The rule states "alternatively" which makes it either/or. Also, as a side note, the free embark rule just refers to "friendly units" and is not restricted to a single formation. As long as all units are in range to embark and there is room in the transport it doesn't matter how many formations are included. |
Author: | Pulsar [ Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:22 am ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
so to ask a question to clear it up for myself, if a vampire does an air assault and engages with the troops inside then the troops can't use there hit and run move to re-embark the vampire, but if the vampire planetfalls, the troops dis-embark but may do an action later in that turn, that means they end up within 5cm of it are the troops then able to re-embark and the vampire dis-engage as normal? i ask this question because i just started painted my vampire so i can us them. Edit: it's really late and i can't sleep (i.e. forming cohereant words is just luck) |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:23 am ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
An aircraft can either embark, or disembark, only once per turn. It cannot do both and still be able to fly away in the end phase. |
Author: | Ginger [ Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:14 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
(Pulsar @ Feb. 27 2008,02:22) QUOTE so to ask a question to clear it up for myself, if a vampire does an air assault and engages with the troops inside then the troops can't use there hit and run move to re-embark the vampire, but if the vampire planetfalls, the troops dis-embark but may do an action later in that turn, that means they end up within 5cm of it are the troops then able to re-embark and the vampire dis-engage as normal? i ask this question because i just started painted my vampire so i can us them. Edit: it's really late and i can't sleep (i.e. forming cohereant words is just luck) If any troops embark as part of their consolidation move after combat, the air transport may not disengage during the end phase. The Eldar hit-and-run does allow them to move further after combat, but this still holds true even for the sneaky pointy heads. When a Spaceship activates, all the planetfalling units arrive as part of the Spaceship activation, (and generally the contents of any transport are disembarked all as part of that single spaceship activation). This means that later in the turn, the (landed) transport may perform a sustained fire action, and at some other point, friendly troops may embark onto the transport as part of their own (not the transport's) activation. and finally the air transport may disengage in the end phase.
- a Marine Landingcraft could planetfall with a bunch of troops, disembarking three formations; - the Landing craft sustains against some enemy; - two formations activate assaulting the enemy supported by the third and the Landing Craft; - the third formation embarks onto the Landing craft as it's activation; - Finally the Landing Craft disengages ready for a further assault next turn Finally, please note that you can consolidate back onto the transport if you want to; it just means that the transport remains on the ground throughout the following turn. One other point to note is that when a bunch of troops embark onto the transport, they effectively become part of the transport's formation, so the size of the transport is notionally increased for the purposes of shooting / assault resolutions etc. (ie if someone else shoots or assaults the transport). For example, you might want to withdraw 3x broken tactical Marines onto a Thunderhawk to rally the formation off-table, relying on the transport's armour to protect them from further damage. In this case, the Thunderhawk 'formation' increases to 5x. And before you ask, if shooting at a transport containing broken formation(s), you have to allocate a BM to something. If you want to, you can allocate it to the transport itself, potentially breaking the transport etc. Here, the enlarged Thunderhawk 'formation' is not broken until it receives four further blast markers (though the marines inside are still broken for all purposes), after which shooting at it will automatically cause a further hit on either the Thunderhawk or the marines inside. |
Author: | Ginger [ Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:36 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
(Evil and Chaos @ Feb. 27 2008,09:23) QUOTE An aircraft can either embark, or disembark, only once per turn. It cannot do both and still be able to fly away in the end phase. E&C, while I understand your views, you are not quite right here as Neal pointed out in that long thread on the SG site. From the way the FAQ is written, it is only the act of Consolidation that prevents the transport from disengaging in the end phase and nothing else. In practice having tried various permutations of this, IMHO the restriction makes it more expensive and much harder to get troops off under fire and is thus quite balanced. The problem is that the idea is hard to grasp until you get hold of the Consolidation concept and ignore everything else. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
(Pulsar @ Feb. 27 2008,02:22) QUOTE so to ask a question to clear it up for myself, if a vampire does an air assault and engages with the troops inside then the troops can't use there hit and run move to re-embark the vampire They couldn't use hit and run at all. Aside from disembarking, there is no ground movement with a ground attack. If they did an assault, they could use their consolidation move to embark, but that prevents the Vampire from disengaging in the end phase. but if the vampire planetfalls, the troops dis-embark but may do an action later in that turn, that means they end up within 5cm of it are the troops then able to re-embark and the vampire dis-engage as normal? No. The "free embark" is for aircraft landings. The troops load when the aircraft lands. That means they sit there in the aircraft until the end of the turn, so you better be prepared. There is no "free embark" when disengaging or for planetfall. ==== It sounds like what you want to do is air assault, load/disengage, then repeat on the following turn. You can't do that. The consolidation restriction was put in effect specifically to stop the "eternal air assault" as it was dubbed. There are various options for multiple air assaults. 1) Use 2 aircraft, one empty. Assault with one, consolidate, and use the second to land/shoot/free embark. 2) You can alternate turns by leaving the force on the board and re-loading the transport in the following turn. Turn 1: Air assault. Turn 2: Activate the ground formation and end their action in position to be picked up (aircraft can land within 5cm of all). Land/shoot/freemebark. Turn 3: Air assault. 3) Air assault. Move a second formation onto the aircraft using the normal WE transport rules. Disengage and air assault with the second formation on the following turn. For example, DAs assault a target near some Reapers. The Reapers fire/move and use their movement to board the aircraft. The Reapers are ready for a Turn 2 air assault. Of these, I think #2 is the most viable and, if I'm not mistaken, it was the brain child of Biggles and his Marine army. #3 could work really well, but you have to have the enemy in just the right spot, near a formation that can shoot/move. Most people think #1 is prohibitively expensive. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:56 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
(Evil and Chaos @ Feb. 27 2008,09:23) QUOTE An aircraft can either embark, or disembark, only once per turn. It cannot do both and still be able to fly away in the end phase. What Ginger said. Only consolidation moves stop disengage. You can embark or disembark any number of units or formations without affecting disengaging, as long as none of them board via consolidation. |
Author: | Pulsar [ Thu Feb 28, 2008 2:02 am ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft embarking |
thanks for the answers guys it was how i through but i still needed to make sure that me or anybody else i played could not do is air assault, load/disengage, then repeat on the following turn, thanks |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |