Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Activations, ones and other questions
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=10677
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Yuber Okami [ Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:35 am ]
Post subject:  Activations, ones and other questions

1) The rulebook stablishes that a roll of 1 is always a miss, but i have read passages stating that this is not true regarding activations (so, an space marine formation with 1+ activation will not need to check for activations until it gets BMs). Which rule is true????

2) When a formation is being transported inside another formation (typically a war engine), and it is attacked, does the formation inside get any BM? If the transporting unit is broken, does the transported unit become broken?

3) If a formation is the objective of a barrage, but the templates also get to encompass units from another formation, will the other formation get BMs as the target formation (i.e., one for being shoot at, another one for every casualty + any extra BM caused by the barrage)?





Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:00 am ]
Post subject:  Activations, ones and other questions

1 -

A roll of a '1' is always a failure... except if you're making an Activation roll.

Then, Marines (with their standard 1+) will always pass, and Orks making an Engage move will also auto-pass (They get +2 to their dice roll when Engaging).



2 -

If it's a seperate formation, then no.



3 -

The second formation takes BM's as if it were being targetted independently (Thus, a BM for being shot at, plus anything for kills that occur in that formation, etc).

BM's are not shared between the two targetted formations.

Author:  Ginger [ Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:31 am ]
Post subject:  Activations, ones and other questions


(Yuber Okami @ Oct. 02 2007,08:35)
QUOTE
1) The rulebook stablishes that a roll of 1 is always a miss, but i have read passages stating that this is not true regarding activations (so, an space marine formation with 1+ activation will not need to check for activations until it gets BMs). Which rule is true????
As E&C says - check out the last sentence under 1.0.1 "dice" on page 9 of the rule book.

2) When a formation is being transported inside another formation (typically a war engine), and it is attacked, does the formation inside get any BM? If the transporting unit is broken, does the transported unit become broken? A similar discussion was held on the SG Boards here.

In Summary:-
- The transported formation is considered to be part of the WE formation while it is inside or as it emerges as part of an assault.
- They will be trapped inside if the enemy assaults and gets twice the DC value in units into B-B with the transport (so 4x enemy will "lock down" a ThunderHawk).
- Units inside transports cannot shoot or fight during an assault unless the transport datafax specifies otherwise.
- In the assault resolution, the trapped formation (and any inspiring characters) are still counted (so the Thunderhawk and transported formation could be 10 strong).
- If they lose the assault, then the transport and the formation inside are both broken, and both may be subject to 'hackdown' hits.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Activations, ones and other questions

Good point about Engagements.

I was more thinking about what happens when a WE is broken at range.

Author:  Ginger [ Wed Oct 03, 2007 1:57 am ]
Post subject:  Activations, ones and other questions

I believe the answer is the same. So a DC3 WE that is transporting another formation of 8 units counts as a 11 unit formation for all purposes. If several enemy formations fire on it, it is quite possible that it would suffer one hit, and have four BMs - but it would not break until the other formation disembarked. There is a significant risk here that the WE is destroyed while containing a separate formation, at which point each unit must then make a saving throw, and obviously a number of units may well perish as a result.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/