Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Assault (?)

 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 12:26 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 4311
How is knowing the rules a negative thing?

_________________
www.epic-uk.co.uk
NetEA NetERC Human Lists Chair
NetEA Chaos + Black Legion Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 12:42 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:32 pm
Posts: 4893
Location: North Yorkshire
Sorry Hena, quoted wrong paragraph, but others have covered me.  :whistle:

_________________
_________________
www.epic-uk.co.uk - home of the UK Epic tournament scene
NetEA NetERC Xenos Lists Chair
NetEA Ork + Feral Ork + Speed Freak Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 1:02 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 8:41 pm
Posts: 1480
Location: Gothenburg,Sweden
Steve ~ If that was to me it missed. When it comes to rules I'm awful.

Hena ~ There you stumbled on a major issue, these rules are everything but intuitive.

_________________
It would be nice to get lightspeed,
so far we can only reach slight speed.
- Erik M
092b85658e746a91d343e53509d357744e56f641


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 6:15 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 4311
Erik - that was aimed at you as I see no reason to make snide remarks at people pointing out rules clarifications.

_________________
www.epic-uk.co.uk
NetEA NetERC Human Lists Chair
NetEA Chaos + Black Legion Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 3:04 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Quote: (Hena @ 02 Jan. 2009, 11:34 )

I think that that should read in 1.12.9 (Winner Consolidates) and not in 1.13.4 as it's really not intuitive place for that.

It is in 1.12.9.  The exceptions about how broken formations behave in assault are all noted in the appropriate places in 1.12.  Section 1.13.4 is a repeat of that information, placed as a reminder.

1.12.9 Winner Consolidates
After the loser has withdrawn, the winning formation
receives a number of Blast markers equal to the number of
units that were killed by the enemy. Note that it is possible
for a formation to win an assault and then become broken
by the casualties that they suffered! In this case, the
winning formation is broken, but does not have to make a
withdrawal even if other enemy units are within 15cm (see
1.13.3). If the winner of the combat was already broken at
the start of the combat, they do not receive any additional
Blast markers.


The rules could probably stand some formal cross-referencing for exceptions (and the rules could probably use an index as well).

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:18 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:21 am
Posts: 810
Location: United States
I've always been a little confused as to why the text in the assault section reads like this:

1.12.8 Loser Withdrawals

...If the loosing formation is not broken then it becomes broken and may withdrawal (see 1.13.3)....

Once any additional casualties have been removed, any surviving units on the losing side must make an immediate withdrawal as explained in the rules for broken formations later on (see 1.13.3).
 

Why does it give you an option to withdraw then say that you must withdraw?

_________________
-Malakai

"You'll never understand how much watching other people's pain gets me off, hearing their screams and knowing that I have the power of a god." -Velvet Acid Christ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:34 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Poor editing.

If you want to be all niggly-technical, you never HAVE to take a withdrawal move.  There are just potentially disastrous results if you do not, i.e. the loss of all units within 15cm of the enemy.

There's a similar issue with the movement/coherency rules.  They state that you MUST remain in formation coherency, but then go on to describe what happens if you don't... so there must obviously be an option not to maintain coherency.




_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault (?)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:07 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:21 am
Posts: 810
Location: United States
Quote: (nealhunt @ 05 Jan. 2009, 12:34 )

If you want to be all niggly-technical, you never HAVE to take a withdrawal move.  There are just potentially disastrous results if you do not, i.e. the loss of all units within 15cm of the enemy.

Yeah, I had always thought that maybe I was missing something and some "super-subtle-special rule" was eluding me.

_________________
-Malakai

"You'll never understand how much watching other people's pain gets me off, hearing their screams and knowing that I have the power of a god." -Velvet Acid Christ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net