Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Some "clean-up" of special rules texts
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=9730
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Lightbringer [ Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Some "clean-up" of special rules texts

Good work hena

I would tweak the following sentence...

"Note that if a swarm that loses all its Synapse
creatures during an assault they will all "go to ground"

to

"Note that if a swarm that loses all its Synapse
creatures during an assault all of the swarm's surviving broods will immediately go to ground at the end of the assault."





Author:  Dave [ Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Some "clean-up" of special rules texts

What happens when a swarm looses all of its synapse creatures in an assault but some of its brood creatures are within synapse range of another swarm's synapse creature?  Do they still automatically goto ground or can they join the other swarm?

Has it been decided whether mindless swarms can support and assault?

Author:  nealhunt [ Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Some "clean-up" of special rules texts

I think the rules need more radical simplification and clarification.

Swarms - One coherency rule, no exceptions.
Mindless - Hold actions and no capture/contest.
Spawning - Minimal modifiers.

Author:  Dave [ Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Some "clean-up" of special rules texts

In this paragraph...

A swarm that looses all its synapse creatures before or during an action may still act and can be activated normally...

I get the "during an action" (the swarm can finish its activation if it looses its synapse creatures to overwatch) but what is the before there for?  That seems to me that a swarm can still be activated in a turn that it lost its synapse creatures in.

I also think the "may still act" can be removed.

Author:  Dave [ Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Some "clean-up" of special rules texts


(Hena @ Jun. 19 2007,08:23)
QUOTE
Eg. Assault + lose synapse, switch swarm, assault again + lose synapse, switch swarm ... Granted not very likely, but allowing same unit to assault twice (or more) is nasty.

That would be pretty broken and unfortunately exploited.  Good reason :).

Author:  Dave [ Tue Jun 19, 2007 8:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Some "clean-up" of special rules texts


(Hena @ Jun. 19 2007,14:00)
QUOTE
It is there for exactly that. That enemy cannot kill the synapse and wipe the swarm without Tyranids getting to do something about it.

The logic being that the player will either try to engage with them or double into synapse range to save the brood creatures?

What was the reason for allowing this over say removing the whole swarm altogether?  Too much of a handicap for the bugs?

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/