Synapse range |
Evil and Chaos
|
Post subject: Synapse range Posted: Sat May 05, 2007 3:55 pm |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am Posts: 20887 Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
|
Didn't Neal propose that 'synapse range' simply be made synonymous with 'unit coherency'?
What was wrong with that proposal?
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Evil and Chaos
|
Post subject: Synapse range Posted: Sat May 05, 2007 5:57 pm |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am Posts: 20887 Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
|
40k synapse rules wouldn't make sense in this scale, so you can't take them into account (granted I don't know them, but am not that interested in them either as they don't really matter),
Largely they're the same, except that it's 12" instead of 15cm, and creatures outside of synapse range will fall back towards synapse creatures, after which they will return to the player's control (Which is the phenomena that is referred to as 'spawning' in Epic).
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Markconz
|
Post subject: Synapse range Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 3:06 am |
|
Purestrain |
 |
 |
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 10:43 pm Posts: 7925 Location: New Zealand
|
I think you need something to clarify that despite doing an engage action you still need to be back into synapse range (or are destroyed) at the end of that engage action. As it is now I think there is still potential for confusion with the clauses about when you are destroyed and the exceptions granted by engage actions.
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Lightbringer
|
Post subject: Synapse range Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 10:58 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:09 am Posts: 276
|
Hena - the following paragraph just needs a little bit of re-wording for clarity but I totally agree with the intention....
"After each move the brood creatures must be within 15cm of the synapse creatures of the swarm (if they are alive). If one is unable to get all brood creatures within 15cm, they must be as near as possible of the synapse creatures none the less. The only exception to Brood creatures remaining within 15cm of their Synapse creatures is when a swarm is taking part in assault. "
I suggest this....
"After each move a swarm takes all of its brood creatures must be within 15cm of a surviving synapse creatures from that swarm. If a player is unable to get any brood creatures within 15cm then these brood creatures must be moved as close as possible to a synapse creature from the swarm. The only exception to brood creatures remaining within 15cm of their synapse creatures is when a swarm is taking part in assault (see below). "
Lightbringer 
_________________ Overseer Lightbringer II
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Evil and Chaos
|
Post subject: Synapse range Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 11:28 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am Posts: 20887 Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
|
If a player is unable to get any brood creatures within 15cm then these brood creatures must be moved as close as possible to a synapse creature from the swarm.
I would remove this line altogether.
Possibly I would up synapse range to 20cm though.
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Lightbringer
|
Post subject: Synapse range Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 1:35 pm |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:09 am Posts: 276
|
It must be there. There has been one case where a player ended up in situation where not all fit within 15cm. And I certainly wouldn't up that range as it is critical in keeping the Tyranids clustered. It's a disadvantage and.I want to keep it that way instead of starting to "gnaw it".
HA! Found and it was Lightbringer . http://www.tacticalwargames.net/cgi-bin....;t=5248
HA! I think if you look again at this thread from last year you will see I was asking what would happen IF I were not able to fit all my broods in. It has never actually happened but Adrian (our IG player) was asking so I thought I would try to find out.
I think the latest wording just about covers the issue of a swarm's movement and broods and synapse range but the question of what a swarm can do if it loses its synapse creatures BEFORE activating has not fully been resolved (has it?).
Lightbringer
_________________ Overseer Lightbringer II
|
|
Top |
|
 |