Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Flame template weapons
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=7057
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:32 am ]
Post subject:  Flame template weapons

Again, this line should be removed:

If multiple templates are being used then each succeeding template must cover as many units as possible from those that are not already being attacked by another template.

Because it makes no sense if Templates can not now apply double-hits.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:10 am ]
Post subject:  Flame template weapons

Now that you clearly cannont apply double-hits, it's an obviously redundant line.




Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:39 am ]
Post subject:  Flame template weapons

Sorry I still don't get it, what's the point of this line: If multiple templates are being used then they must together cover as many units as possible.

Why is it nessesary to tell the player to do something he's going to do anyway.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Tue Aug 01, 2006 1:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Flame template weapons

Ah I see.


One thought, how about replacing the word 'cover' with the word 'affect'.

And potentially removing the stuff about the opponent being able to re-position the template to shoot your own troops or something, as it appears to be a rule that says 'don't cheat or bad stuff will happen', when you're not supposed to be cheating anyway.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Tue Aug 01, 2006 1:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Flame template weapons

The barrage rules can be found on page 21 of the rulebook.

I could neither find any rule allowing your opponent to position your barrage if you break LOS restrictions etc, nor surprisingly any rule about having to hit as many models as possible, which I had thought was an actual rule.


EDIT:

Replied to your question about hitting your own units on the SG forum.

According to the rules, it appears you can fire a barrage at one of your formations without hitting anything but your own troops if you like!





Author:  Ilushia [ Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Flame template weapons

E&C the rule about 'Hitting maximum numbers' is down under 'using blast templates' in the Barage rules. It says:

Using Barrage Templates:Deciding which enemy units have been caught underneath a circular Barrage template is another one of the things that can cause endless arguments during a game. The method we use (and the default you should use unless you have a different convention that you prefer) is that a unit is affected if any part of the model falls under the template, or at least one model on a stand. In addition, templates must be placed in such a
way as to get as many enemy units from the target formation under them as possible within the restrictions for lines of fire and range. This stops players ?sniping? at important units with artillery.


The specific bit in question is in bold. ePilgrim argued to me at the tournament that it specifically pertained to second and beyond templates, but I don't think that's true. There's no negative result if you fail to hit the maximum number, except that you HAVE to. Meaning if the enemy realizes you haven't they can force you to move the template to where it would hit the most even if you don't want it there. But there's nothing about repositioning one which fails to hit the max number.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Tue Aug 01, 2006 3:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Flame template weapons

I recomend against using the word 'mouth' and reference to 'breath weapons', since only two of the five ways to obtain a template weapon in the Tyranid list is a breath weapon (The Hydraphant & Hierodule), and that seems likely to soon reduce to just one of three, as template weapons are withdrawn and/or modified.

Just refer to 'the attack's origin point' perhaps.


Again, allowing the opponent to reposition the attack is not conforming with the rules, but is applying a massive negative, since the wording allows the opponent to target anywhere he likes, including friendly units or dead ground.
The wording isn't needed for barrages, we should trust that players will obey the rules here too. I can't think of any other explicit occasion where an opponent can de-facto take control of one of your units due to a technicality in the rules.

Pointing out that your opponent has made an error is always available at any point in a game, but I can't think of any occasion where making an error allows for the opponent to reroll your dice, move your units, or move your barrage. The onus is on the active player to do the right thing (With prompting from the opponent if nessesary), not for the opponent to take control.


simply remove , or the template can be repositioned by the opponent to any other position that is in LOF. and the ruling is maintained without questionable recourse to allowing the opponent to pick the target.


If multiple templates are being used then they must together so that as many enemy units as possible are under them all.

Might want to tidy that up.



If the weapon is fired at aircraft only aircraft models are counted. If weapon is fired at ground then aircraft units are not counted.

How about:
If a weapon has AA & AP/AT values, it may be fired either at aircraft or ground targets, but not both at once.

Just feels slightly more concise to me, and makes an exception for templates that lack an AA value.



I would place the (friend or foe) note in section 2, under targetting rather than finding hits, to bring it into line with the barrage organisation.


Incidentally, where is the note about barrage templates only inflicting single hits to twice-touched bases? Again I'm sure it's in the rules somewhere but I can't find it.





Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Flame template weapons

Currently all the template weapons are breath weapons (with the exception of harridan and vituperator).

Non-breath weapons:

- Trygon
- Vituraptor
- Harridan

Breath Weapons:

- Hierophant
- Hydraphant

Breath weapons are in the minority in the current list, let alone the revised one (Where we know they are going to be modified in some cases or removed entirely in others). Labelling the attack type as a 'breath weapon' is illogical both currently and in the likely future.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/