Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Updated Nid v7.0 list

 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 1:49 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 720
Location: Utah, pick a Pacific Island the other half of the year.
This is the way it is going to be when I send it to JJ. I'll get it up somewhere as a PDF the nice version sometime this week. For those that cannot wait here is the cheap version.

Hamman?s World
Phase IV ?Subdual? Tyranid Army List v7.0

T1.1 SPECIAL RULES
Strategy Rating: 1
Initiative Rating: 2+

T1.20 UNSTOPPABLE
Tyranid formations never receive blast markers and therefore can never be suppressed or broken by them. As long as they are under the control of the greater hive mind they, quite literally, don?t know the meaning of fear and will mindlessly sell their lives to bring victory to the greater hive mind. Tyranid formations that lose an assault must still make a normal withdrawl as described in the Epic-A rule book for withdrawls, the only exception being that the formation itself is not broken at the end of that withdrawl.

Tyranid formations ?that lose an assault must still make a withdrawal move, and any units that end their move within 15cms of an enemy unit will be destroyed, but the formation itself is not broken.

T1.30 SYNAPSE GROUPS
Every swarm is controlled by a Synapse Group which is formed before the start of the battle and is made up of from one to three selections from the Synapse Creature list. Once formed this group cannot be added to, nor control more then a single swarm.

T1.40 TYRANID SWARMS
The Tyranid army is divided into three basic types of units, these are; Brood Creatures, Independent Creatures, and Synapse Creatures (with Brood Creatures themselves being further subdivided into Uncommon Brood Creatures, and Common Brood Creatures). Each creature?s type is noted on their individual data sheets and in the army list that follows.

Independent Creatures are organized into formations like other units. They are treated in all ways as if they were a normal formation in Epic-A, as this concerns coherency, and formations.

Synapse creatures and brood creatures are treated a bit differently. Instead of having a fixed formation brood creatures are purchased as individual units that will become part of a swarm that is controlled by synapse creature group. It must be understood that the Swarm is the formation, and that both the synapse creature group controlling it, and the brood creatures in it, are a single formation containing units.

At the start of the game the Tyranid player first makes synapse groups from synapse creatures. Then the player simply assigns one, or more, brood creatures to a synapse creature groups thus creating a formation called a swarm, until all the brood creatures have been assigned. All such swarms must be set up in a legal formation using the instructions for the scenario. In addition the units must be set up within 15cm of the synapse creature group. If the Tyranid player wants they may hold some brood creatures back and not assign them to any synapse creature group. These unassigned brood creatures may be used when a swarm spawns during the game (see T1.40 Spawning).

Starting with the second turn, and all subsequent turns, a swarm consists of it?s original synapse creature(s), and all the brood creatures within 15cms of those same synapse creature(s). Brood creatures that are within 15cms of synapse creatures from different swarms may join either swarm as designated by the Tyranid player (We recommend that the units that are in doubt be turned to face the swarm they belong to, to avoid confusion later in the turn).

Further, Tyranid ?units must maintain coherency within their swarms as normal (ie 5cms for normal units, DC x 5cms for war engines) and brood creatures must also maintain 15cm coherency distance with a synapse creature from their swarm for the turn. Aside from the additional requirements of synapse coherency, normal coherency rules apply. It is important to note that the death of a swarms synapse creature(s) doesn?t prevent that swarm from taking an action during that turn, (all they must do is remain in normal coherency), and it will have no possible adverse effects on them till the start of the next turn.

The only exception to this is when a swarm is carrying out an Engage Action.

During the Engage Action all of a swarm's brood creature units can move out of both synapse coherency and normal coherency of the swarm's synapse creature group, however these same brood creature units must maintain coherency with each other, and all of the brood creature units from the swarm must be committed to the Engage Action.

At the end of the Engage Action, both the synapse creature group controlling the swarm and any remaining brood creature units from the swarm must attempt to get back into normal coherency if the combat was a Tyranid victory.

Alternatively, both the synapse creature group controlling the swarm and any remaining brood creature units from the swarm may withdraw as normal if the combat was a Tyranid loss, again returning to normal coherency with each other during that withdrawl.

After any consolidation or withdrawal moves have been made, any brood creature units from the swarm that still remain outside of synapse coherency, of any synapse creature(s) from the swarm, they are removed from the table. It's assumed they have pursued fleeing enemy survivors so far away as to be well beyond the hive minds control for the time being.

Any brood creatures that start a turn not within 15cms of a synapse creature will go to ground and are removed from play. Although not dead it is assumed that the creatures have reverted to their animalistic instincts and are lurking on the battlefield waiting for an easy chance to get their next meal. These brood creatures may return to the game using the Spawning action (T1.50) described below.

In all cases the organization of the swarms is determined at the very start of the turn before anything else, like Teleports, Strategy Roll, etc.

T1.50 SPAWNING ACTION
One of the most terrifying things about fighting the Tyranid army is there seems to be no end to the number of creatures in the army. Even if an attack is stopped more tyranids will soon appear to renew it. Some of these will be brood creatures that have gone to ground earlier in the battle but now have been incorporated back into the hive mind?s control, while others will be reinforcements sent by the hive mind to sustain the attack.

To represent this endless stream of claws Tyranid formations can carry out a Spawning ?Action during the Rally Phase. This Spawning Action allows the Tyranid player to return brood creatures to play that have been killed, gone to ground, or were held off table before the start of the battle. Also note that only brood creatures can be spawned, not synapse creatures, or independent creatures as these creatures are to rare to be spawned back in this manner.

Each swarm may return 1D3 spawning points worth of brood creatures back into play for each synapse creature group bought for the swarm, and still in play, plus any modifiers that apply to the synapse creature (s) bought for the swarm (Thus a swarm led by 3xTyranid Warriors would roll 1D3+3 spawning points, while a swarm led by a Hive Tyrant and 3xTyranid Warriors would roll 2D3+7 spawning points). Also roll an extra 1D3 spawning points if there are no enemy units within 30cms of any unit in the swarm. The swarm may also add 1D3 spawning points by adding ONE myecetic spore that to the swarm during the spawning action (up to a maximum of ONE myecetic spore may be added to a single spawning action). It should be noted that the Tyranid Warrior group does drop in spawning points if it takes losses, but obviously cannot spawn anything if it is wiped out. In the Data Sheets for the units the modifiers to the 1D3 roll are noted in synapse thus Synapse (x) with ?x? being the modifier added to the 1D3 roll. So a Tyranid Warrior group of 3xTyranid Warriors is Synapse (+1), or 1D3+3 spawning points. Here follows a compilation of the groups and there Spawning Points.

Lesser Synapse Node: 1D3
Tyranid Warrior 1D3+1
Harridan: 1D3+2
Hive Tyrant/Vituperator/Greater Synapse Node: 1D3+4
Dominatrix: 1D3+6

The Tyranid player uses the number of spawning points rolled to return brood creatures that are off table and return them to the battle. Each brood creature type has a spawning value based upon it?s general availability, or lack there of, to the Tyranid army as a whole. The cost for spawning back a creature is noted in their data sheet under notes as Brood (x) where in x equals the units spawning points.

Place any units spawned back by a swarm within 5cms of any synapse creature(s) from that swarm. Spawned units may not be placed in the zone of control of an enemy unit, or in impassable terrain.

T1.60 WAR ENGINE REGENERATION
Really large Tyranid creatures (the size of most Imperial War Engines) are covered inside and out with symbiote creatures that swarm in and around the creature healing wounds, repairing damaged tissue, and stemming the flow of vital bodily fluids. This makes Tyranid war engines dangerous foes indeed as an unwary Princep may think he has given one of them a mortal wound only to have that same creature pull itself up from the ground and attack. To represent the actions of these symbiotic creatures during the Rally Phase the Tyranid player rolls 1D6 for 1/2 of the starting DC capacity of a war engine, rounded up. For each roll of 5+ that war engine recovers on of it?s lost DCs. As these symbiotes cannot increase the size of a Tyranid war engine, nor make it stronger, these rolls can only be used to replace a war engines lost DCs. Also, regeneration may not be used to bring a WE back to life once it?s dead, it is dead.

T1.70 GT VICTORY CONDITIONS AND TYRANIDS
Because of the unique nature of the Tyranid army, and the completely alien Hive Mind that controls it, it doesn?t ?see? military objectives in the same way that most sentient commanders, of any number of known races in the, galaxy do. For example a sentient commander would keenly feel heavy losses in personnel, while the Hive Mind thinks no more of expending gaunts in battle then most sentient commanders would ammunition. This ?alien outlook? requires some changes in the way that GT objectives are treated by the Tyranid army.

T1.71 Objectives
Brood creatures can be best described as almost mindless drones whom the Hive Mind gives some direction to, while at the same time letting that same creatures instinctive behavior do the rest. In effect the Hive Mind only tells the brood creatures where to go and how fast to get there and leaves the detailed work of fighting to the brood creatures instinctive behavior. So the real truth is the brood creatures have no idea why they are going where they are going, nor what they are supposed to be doing once they get there, so they could walk right past the objective they have been sent to secure!

Fortunately the Hive Mind does provide this ?more detailed? bit of information to the ?higher creatures? (Independents and Synapse) that make up the army so that at the very least these positions, that it deems vital, can be secured.

To represent this effect in the Tyranid army only independents creatures and synapse creatures (not brood creatures) can be used to gain control over, or contest battlefield objectives.

T1.72 Break Their Spirit
The Tyranid army basically has no morale that any opponent can take advantage of, in fact their behavior is so instinctive in nature that it is doubtful that they have any feelings at all. While this is one of the great strengths in the way that the Hive Mind uses it?s lesser creatures, it also requires that the army use centralized control, via synapse creatures, to keep the mindless mass moving where it needs to go. So while it is impossible for an opponent to attack and degrade the Tyranid army?s morale, it is possible to eliminate the synapse creatures providing the link between the Hive Mind and it?s drones and degrade the effectiveness of the army.

To represent this trait the Break Their Spirit goal is based upon the number of synapse creature units still on table in the Tyranid army compared to those that are in the dead pile. If the number of synapse creature units left on the table is equal to, or less then, the number of synapse creature units in the dead tray off table then the opponent has achieved the Break Their Spirit goal. Undeployed synapse creature units do not count toward, or against, this goal.

T1.73 Tie Breakers
All armies, including Tyranids, are effected adversely by losses in both personnel and equipment. In all other armies these losses directly effect the formations that make up the army with losses of 50%, or more, resulting in that formation becoming combat ineffective till it can be rebuilt. In effect the army has lost 100% of that formations ability to fight until it?s return.

The Tyranid army doesn?t suffer attrition in this way. Synapse creatures can scower the battlefield and in mere minutes scoop up enough brood creatures that have gone to ground to put together a fit ready to fight formation ready to have at the enemy. When one speaks of attrition and the Tyranid army one must ignore what occurs on even a major battlefield and think on a planet wide scale, and even this itself makes it more difficult to judge what effects losses have had on them. The only thing that is clear is that the effects of attrition vary with what types of creatures the Tyranid army looses, difficult to produce synapse creatures losses are keenly felt, while gaunt brood creatures losses are far less noticed, but not ignored.

To represent these effects on the battlefield the Tyranid army doesn?t use formation size at the end of a battle to determine points the opponent receives for a Tie Breaker. Instead the opponent receives the following points for each creature, by type, that is in the dead tray, or off table, at the end of the battle.
Synapse Creature units are worth two times their point value
Independent Creatures units are worth their full point value
Brood Creatures units are worth half their point value rounded down.

T1.80 Template Weapons
1): Position the template so that it is touching the end of the mouth of the weapon, and with the entire template within the firing arc of the weapon. If using more then one template then they must be placed at the same time and may overlap.
(2): The template must be placed to cover as many enemy units from the target formation as possible, within the arc of the weapon, or the template can be repositioned by the opponent to any other position that is in LOF. If multiple templates are being used then each succeeding template must cover as many units as possible from those that are not already being attacked by another template.
(3): Determine how many units are under the template. If the weapon is fired at aircraft only aircraft models are counted. If weapon is fired at ground then aircraft units are not counted. A unit is under the template if; (a) Any part of the model falls under the template; (b) At least one enemy model on a stand falls under the template.
(4): Roll a die for each infantry unit (as one block) and each vehicle unit (as a second block), scoring hits and carrying out saves as would normally be done for shooting.

ARMY LIST

SYNAPSE CREATURE
(up to 1/3 of the armies points may be spent on these groups)

Dominatrix: 1 x Dominatrix unit: 500 points (Note #1)
Harridan: 1 x Harridan unit: 225 points
Hive Tyrant: 1 x Hive Tyrant unit: 100 points
Tyranid Warrior Group: 3 x Tyranid Warrior units: 150 points
Greater Synapse Node: 1 x Synapse Node unit: 75 points
Lesser Synapse Node: 1 x Lesser Synapse Node unit: 50 points
Vituperator: 1 x Vituperator unit: 325 points
(#1: You can purchase more then one Dominatrix, however only one of them can be designated as the Supreme Commander.)

INDEPENDENT SWARMS
(up to 1/3 of the armies points may be spent on these swarms)

Genestealer Swarm: 6 to 9 Genestealer units: 25 points each
0-2 Lictor Swarms : 2 to 5 Lictor units: 50 points each
Hierophant: 1 x Hierophant: 250 points
Hydraphant: 1 x Hydraphant : 350 points

UNCOMMON BROOD CREATURES
(up to 1/3 of the armies points may be spent on these units)

Biovore 25 points
Carnifex 35 points
Haruspex 50 points
Hierodule 100 points
Zoanthrope 35 points
Exocrine 75 points
Myecetic Spores 15 points

COMMON BROOD CREATURES
(At least 1/4 of the armies points must be spent on the following Brood Creatures)

Ravaner 30 points each
Gargoyle 20 points each
Termagaunt 15 points each
Hormogaunt 15 points each

Dominatrix
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
WE /25cm /4+ /3+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Warp Blast /30cm /AP4+ AT4+ AA5+
Bio-Plasmic Breath /Template /MW 5+ /Ignore Cover
Monstrous Claws /Base Contact /MWTK (D3) /+2 attacks
Cluster Spines /(15cm) /small arms
notes: DC-8, Supreme Commander, Fearless, Walker, Reinforced Armor, Synapse (+6). May step over units and impassable or dangerous terrain that is lower then the war engines knees and up to 2cm wide.
Critical Hit: Roll 1D6 and consult the chart below.
1-5: The Dominatrix loses one DC.
6: The Dominatrix?s Symbiote is killed and it is no longer treated as a Supreme Commander

Harridan
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
WE /35cm /4+ /4+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
2 x Bio-Cannon /45cm /MW 5+ /Ignore Cover
Spore Cannon /Template /MW 5+ ?AA5+ /Ignore Cover
Huge Claws /Base Contact /MW /+2 attacks
Notes: DC-2, Reinforced Armor, Skimmer, Synapse (+2), Fearless, Transport (Four Gargoyles)
Critical Hit: Roll 1D6 and consult the chart below.
1-5: The Harridan loses one DC.
6: The Harridan is killed

Vituperator
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
WE /30cm /4+ /4+ /4+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
2xBio-Cannon /45cm /MW5+ /Ignore Cover
Notes: DC-4, Commander, Reinforced Armor, Skimmer, Synapse (+4), Fearless, Transport (Eight Gargoyles, Termagaunts, Hormogaunts, Raveners, Hive Tyrant, Tyranid Warrior.
Critical Hit: Roll 1D6 and consult the chart below.
1-5: The Vituperator loses one DC.
6: The Vituperator is killed.

Greater Synapse Node
Type /Range /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
WE /0cm /4+ /6+ /6+
Weapons /Speed /Firepower /Notes
Ripper Swarm /(15cm) /small arms
Notes: DC-2, Reinforced Armor, Fearless, Synapse (+4), Teleport (may only teleport into the Tyranid table half) May not garrison
Critical Hit: The Node is killed.

Lesser Synapse Node
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
AV /0cm /4+ /6+ /6+ 6+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Ripper Swarm /(15cm) /small arms
Notes: Reinforced Armor, Synapse, Teleport, May not Garrison

Hive Tyrant
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
AV 15cm /3+ /3+ /4+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Venom Cannon /30cm /AP5+ AT6+
Huge Claws /Base Contact /MW / CC weapon +1 attacks
Notes: Commander, Fearless, Invulnerable Save, Walker, Synapse (+4)
(Hive Tyrant may be given wings adding Jump Pack, Speed 25cm, but reducing it?s armor save to 5+)

Tyranid Warrior
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
Inf /15cm /4+ /3+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Venom Cannon /30cm /AP5+ AT6+
Death Spitters /(15cm) /small arms
Scything Talons /Base Contact /CC Weapon +1 attacks
Notes: Fearless, Synapse (+1)

Genestealers
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
Inf /20cm /6+ /4+ /0+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Scything Talons /Base Contact /CC Weapon +1 attacks
Notes: First Strike, Infiltrator, Scout, Independent

Lictors
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
Inf /15cm ?5+ /3+ /0+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Huge Claws /Base Contact /MW /CC weapon +1 attacks
Notes:First Strike, Infiltrator, Invulnerable Save, Scout, Teleport, Independent

Hierophant
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
WE /25cm /4+ /3+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Bio-Plasmic Breath /Template /MW5+ /Ignore Cover
Monstrous Claws /Base Contact /MWTK(D3) /CC weapon +2 attacks
Cluster Spines /(15cm) /small arms
Notes: DC-6, Reinforced Armor, Walker, Independent. May step over units and impassable or dangerous terrain that is lower then the war engines knees and up to 2cm wide.
Critical Hit: Roll 1D6 and consult the chart below.
1-5: The Hierophant loses one DC.
6: The Hierophant is killed.

Hydraphant
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
WE /25cm /4+ /3+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Warp Blast /30cm /AP4+ AT4+ AA5+
Bio-Plasmic Breath /Template /MW 5+ /Ignore Cover
Monstrous Claws /Base Contact /MWTK (D3) /+2 attacks
Cluster Spines /(15cm) /small arms
notes: DC-8, Fearless, Walker, Reinforced Armor, May step over units and impassable or dangerous terrain that is lower then the war engines knees and up to 2cm wide.
Critical Hit: Roll 1D6 and consult the chart below.
1-5: The Hydraphant loses one DC.
6: The Hydraphant is killed.

Haruspex ?A? (Haruspex)
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
AV /20cm /4+ /3+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Cluster Spines /(15cm) /small arms
Acid Spray /15cm /MW 5+ /Ignore Cover
Large Claws /Base Contact /MWTK(D3) /CC weapon +1 attacks
Notes: Walker, Reinforced Armor, Brood (3)

Haruspex ?B? (Malefactor)
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
AV /20cm /4+ /3+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Cluster Spines /(15cm) /small arms
Huge Claws /Base Contact /MW /CC weapon +2 attacks
Notes: Walker, Reinforced Armor, Brood (3)

Carnifex ?A? (Carnifex)
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
AV /15cm /3+ /4+ /6+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Spore Cysts /(15cm) /small arms
Big Claws /Base Contact /MW /CC weapon +1 attacks
Notes: ?Fearless, Walker, Brood (2)

Carnifex ?B? (Venomfex)
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
AV /15cm /3+ /4+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Spore Cysts /(15cm) /small arms
Venom Cannon /30cm /AP5+ AT6+
Notes: Fearless, Walker, Brood (2)

Biovore
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
LV /15cm /5+ /6+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Spore Mines /45cm /AP5+ AT6+/ Disrupt
Notes: Walker, Brood (2)

Zoanthrope
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
LV /15cm /5+ /6+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Warp Blast /30cm /AP4+ AT4+ AA5+
Notes: Brood (2)

Hierodule ?A? (Hierodule)
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
WE /15cm /4+ /3+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Cluster Spines /(15cm) /small arms
Acid Spray /15cm /MW 5+ /Ignore Cover
Huge Claws /Base Contact /MW /CC weapon +2 attacks
Notes: DC-3, Reinforced Armor, Walker, Brood (6)
Critical Hit: Roll 1D6 and consult the chart below.
1-5: The Hierodule loses one DC.
6: The Hierodule is killed.

Hierodule ?B? (Trygon)
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
WE /15cm /4+ /3+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Cluster Spines /(15cm) /small arms
Bio-Shock Wave /Template /MW5+ /Ignore Cover
Large Claws /Base Contact /MWTK(D3) /+1 attacks
Notes: DC-3, Reinforced Armor, Walker, Brood (6)
Critical Hit: Roll 1D6 and consult the chart below.
1-5: The Hierodule loses one DC.
6: The Hierodule is killed

Exocrine ?A? (Dactylis)
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
AV /15cm /5+ /6+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Super Spore Mines /45cm /1BP /Disrupt, Indirect Fire
Spore Cysts /(15cm) /small arms
Notes: Walker, Brood (3)

Exocrine ?B? (Exocrine)
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
AV /20cm /4+ /5+ /4+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
2xBio-Cannons /45cm /MW5+ /Ignore Cover
Big Claws /Base Contact /MW /CC weapon +1 attacks
Spore Cysts /(15cm) /small arms
Notes: Walker, Brood (3)

Ravener
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
Inf /20cm /4+ /3+ /6+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Death Spitter /(15cm) /small arms
Scything Talons /Base Contact /CC Weapon
Notes: Infiltrator, Brood (2)

Gargoyle
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
Inf /30cm /6+ /6+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Flesh Borer /(15cm) /small arms
Bio-Plasmic Attack /Base Contact /CC Weapon
Notes: Jump Pack, Brood (1)

Termagaunt
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
Inf /20cm /0+ /6+ /5+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Flesh Borer /(15cm) /small arms
Notes: Brood (1)

Hormogaunt
Type /Speed /Armor /Close Combat /Firefight
Inf /20cm /0+ /4+ /0+
Weapons /Range /Firepower /Notes
Scything Talons /Base Contact /CC Weapon
Notes: Infiltrator, Brood (1)

Thanks All

Jaldon :p

_________________
Brave sir Robin, when danger reared its ugly head he bravely turned his tail and fled, Brave sir Robin.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 4:32 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote (Jaldon @ 01 May 2006 (01:49))
Termagaunt 10 points each

"Termagant" and weren't they going to be 15 points?

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 7:19 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 720
Location: Utah, pick a Pacific Island the other half of the year.
Termagant" and weren't they going to be 15 points?


Fixed.

Exocrine A is still brood (2).


Fixed

Is it allowable to split of multiple groups from nodes or only one? If multiple, is there upper limit or can all the brood critters be sent off in groups of one creature (which would allow Chromas speed bumping).


No, they must remain a single formation.

"are a swarm under the control of a synapse node"

Nothing here says that a new swarm has been formed, or that the swarm has been split. It is still a single swarm as that is defined by the rules on swarms.

"This swarm?s brood creatures are allowed to move beyond both synapse and normal coherency of the node (The ?released? brood creatures must still remain in coherency of each other) as part of a single action."

Again the swarms brood creatures are allowed to move beyond the the synapse and coherancy of the node, not each other, nor again is anything said about being able to split the brood creatures into two, or more, seperate swarms. And all of this is accurring as part of a single action so both the abandoned Node AND the brood creatures sent off into the blue have activated for the turn.

"This action has no adverse effects on the node. Or the brood creatures that are carrying out an engage action, in which case they can ignore synapse coherency, however normal coherency rules still apply."

Note here the words 'engage action', the swarm can ONLY seperate from the node as part of an engage action NOT a normal move, double move, march, etc.......Again because normal coherency rules apply the swarm is still not being allowed to split up.

So according to the rules the brood creatures split off from the node remain a single swarm, and they may only split off from the node IF they are carrying out an engage action.

Ok.........I have tweaked that rules section a bit, see if it's clearer now.

Thanks for catching my Typos, hard to believe I went over the list three times and STILL missed some :blush:

Thanks All..................

Jaldon :p

_________________
Brave sir Robin, when danger reared its ugly head he bravely turned his tail and fled, Brave sir Robin.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 3:40 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 6:03 pm
Posts: 15
Hormagaunt is spelt as 'hormogaunt' a few times there.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 3:50 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
I think the Trygon is slightly better than the Heirodule and the Haruspex A is slightly better than B/Malefactor.

Should the Biovore have an indirect fire note or did I miss where that was taken out?

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 5:39 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:02 pm
Posts: 916
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Couple of questions for the Nid experts..

The Hierophant is not fearless?

Did the Hive Tyrant always have commander?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 6:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote (Jaldon @ 01 May 2006 (01:49))
T1.60 WAR ENGINE REGENERATION
To represent the actions of these symbiotic creatures during the Rally Phase the Tyranid player rolls 1D6 for each starting DC capacity of a war engine. For each roll of 5+ that war engine recovers on of it?s lost DCs.

Isn't this supposed to be one roll per "half" of starting DC?

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 12:33 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 720
Location: Utah, pick a Pacific Island the other half of the year.
Isn't this supposed to be one roll per "half" of starting DC?


Yes, fixed and thank you

The Hierophant is not fearless?


Nope it isn't

Did the Hive Tyrant always have commander?

No it didn't, Maksim added it some time ago and I liked the effect it had so I have kept it.

First you state that when splitting off of the brood can ignore the coherency rules. Then in the last sentence you say that they must conform to it.


Sorry but that is not contradictory as the first sentence is discussing the unit abandoned by the move, the node, and then goes on to add the point that this doesn't apply to the brood creatures of that swarm. The second sentence then reinforces this point by stating the brood creatures must remain in coherency of each other just as if they were a normal formation.

I understand that the division of the formation happens in beginning of the next turn. But only one group of creatures can move off. And other brood creatures may stay with the node. This is the target of the wording?


Maybe not, as the rule clearly states that the brood creatures must still remain in coherency of each other, and if you have left brood creatures behind at the Node then they must reamian in coherency with those that have moved off. In effect they cannot be split.

Nowhere does it state that some brood creatures can leave the node while others remain with the node, rather it clearly states the swarm must either stay with the node OR abandon the node. Hence no middle ground here.

Should the Biovore have an indirect fire note or did I miss where that was taken out?

I took it out awhile ago.

Thanks All......................

Jaldon :p

_________________
Brave sir Robin, when danger reared its ugly head he bravely turned his tail and fled, Brave sir Robin.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 1:05 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
To represent this endless stream of claws Tyranid formations that carry out a Spawning Action during the Rally Phase. This Spawning Action allows the Tyranid player to return brood creatures to play that have been killed, gone to ground, or were held off table before the start of the battle. Also note that only brood creatures can be spawned, not synapse creatures, or independent creatures as these creatures are to rare to be spawned back in this manner.

Does this require an Activation/Initiative test, with all applicable modifiers (-1 for enemy within 30cm) or is it automatic?  It is unclear in the write up of the rule.

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 2:03 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:02 pm
Posts: 916
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Does this require an Activation/Initiative test, with all applicable modifiers (-1 for enemy within 30cm) or is it automatic?  It is unclear in the write up of the rule.

I think Jaldon covered this in the Norn Queen's Report...
Spawning...............................................................................<
;snip>
(a) The Swarm must pass an initiative test to spawn in the Rally Phase. Note this is NOT a Rally Test it IS an initiative test.

And..
(b) If there are no enemy within 30cms add +3 points to the spawning action.
Though those points don't seem exactly the same in the rule.

To represent this endless stream of claws Tyranid formations that carry out a Spawning  Action during the Rally Phase.
I think the use of the word Action is intended to imply that like all Actions (Advance, Engage etc) and Action Test is required.  No modifiers as it is not retaining nor do BMs matter.  The nearby enemy modifier is for Rally Tests, rather than action Tests.

And..
Also roll an extra 1D3 spawning points if there are no enemy units within 30cms of any unit in the swarm.
So rather than a modifier to the Action Test, the spawning is instead lower in number when nearby the enemy.

Hope that helps, sincere apologies to Jaldon if I have misinterpreted.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 6:58 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 720
Location: Utah, pick a Pacific Island the other half of the year.
From v6.0 the first list I did.................

Brood creatures may not voluntarily leave the coherency of the swarm, nor may they voluntarily leave the synapse range of the synapse creature controlling them, except at the very start of the turn (as explained above), or if the synapse creature controlling the swarm in question has a movement of 0cms. In the later case the brood creatures move as if they were one formation and maintain coherency with each other, but not having to remain in coherency, nor synapse range, of the original controlling synapse creature. This move has no adverse effects on the abandoned synapse creature.


Now from v7.0

The only exceptions to synapse coherency are if the swarm is under the sole control of a synapse node (either type). This swarm?s brood creatures are allowed to move beyond both synapse and normal coherency of the node (The ?released? brood creatures must still remain in coherency of each other) as part of a single engage action. This engage action has no adverse effects on the node. or the brood creatures are carrying out that engage action, in which case they can ignore synapse coherency, however normal coherency rules still apply (So the either all of the swarms brood creatures abandon the node as part of the engage action, or they all remain with the node, the brood creatures cannot be split up).


In neither case are the brood creatures allowed to split up with some remainig with the node and others taking off into the blue. The problem with the first writing was it used the words 'Brood Creatures' when I intended it to be All the brood creatures. In the second this has been changed to swarm, and as the rules on forming swarms clearly states that is all the brood creatures making up that swarm AND its controlling synapse creature(s).

Forming swarms also clearly states that the only time the orgainization of the swarm can be changed is at the start of the turn, so sending off some of the swarm off into the blue and leaving some with the node is not legal as that WOULD be changing the orgainization of the swarm.

The only exception is that the swarms are allowed to abandon the node, it says nothing about abandoning the node and leaving some of the other brood creatures behind with the node. Which is what you believe they could do, when in fact they never could under any of the sets thus far that I have written.

Now to directly respond..............

1) one group of brood creatures can leave node on any orders (breaking the synapse and coherency from node)


I never said group, The rule says swarm which is all of the brood creatures, except the node in the case of abandoning said node, which is defined at the start of that rule (IE What is a swarm, a single formation)

2) nodes could leave some brood to itself as well

I cannot find anywhere where this is stated at all from v6.0 to v7.0

3) with engage and any synapse the synapse range can be broken, but not coherency

Synapse coherency CAN be broken during an engage move, the brood creatures are only required to remain in normal coherency of all the units in the swarm during the action. If, at the end of the action any units are out of normal coherency they follow all normal rules for coherency. It is why I stated under the rules for synapse coherency that they must do so during the course of the turn.

(Rule Quote) Further, Tyranid  units must maintain coherency within their swarms as normal (ie 5cms for normal units, DC x 5cms for war engines) and brood creatures must also maintain 15cm coherency distance with a synapse creature from their swarm for the turn.

Note it doesn't say during their action, but for the turn, so they can leave during the action, but must return to synapse coherency by the end of the action (for the turn). This frees up the bug charge range a bit. I have been trying to figure out how to make this clearer, but haven't been happy with anything I have come up with so far.

Please note that nowhere does it state that the swarm can break normal coherency rules, and it never has, so they must have a line of bugs trailing back to the synapse creatures so they can remain in normal coherency of the swarm.

Does this require an Activation/Initiative test, with all applicable modifiers (-1 for enemy within 30cm) or is it automatic?  It is unclear in the write up of the rule.

It says Spawning Action which is an action test, the other type is called a Rally Test. I verified this in the Norn Queen's report that this is a normal action test and not a rally test. The PDF version I am hoping to have available this week already has this clasified in it.

Hope that helps, sincere apologies to Jaldon if I have misinterpreted.

Nope, ya got em right my friend. And the report has the typo it is 1d3 for the outside 30cm thing.

Thanks All..............

Jaldon :p

_________________
Brave sir Robin, when danger reared its ugly head he bravely turned his tail and fled, Brave sir Robin.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Updated Nid v7.0 list
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 7:08 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
In the interests of simplicity why not drop the +3 or whatever when outside 30cm from enemy, have the under 30cm spawn as standard and bump the nodes up significantly?
Simplfies the rule somewhat/one less thing to measure and worry about but also changes the dynamics of deploying objectives and entering the Tyranid part of the board (because its full of bugs!).

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net