Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Anyone got a review of the French rules? http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=16022 |
Page 1 of 14 |
Author: | The_Real_Chris [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:15 am ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
Apparently they have a different system? |
Author: | Flogus [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:08 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
EDIT (hadn't seen I was I Tyranid Section) Last year, a French community has translated the Handbook 2008 and presented it as the officially updated rules. But when they finally know the Handbook was not official, they stepped back. By now, the E:A French material is : - the GW rulebook 2004 (still not updated) - the "Livre de Règles", the FrenchERC translation of the Handbook 2008 (not supposed to be still used) - the Compendium 1.1 FR (the GW rulebook updated with FAQ and errata 2008, by Hojyn). This document don't contain any army lists like the Compendium 2.1 EN, but the 'rules' part is the same, just translated. - the various army lists, some just translated from English, some fully created, and some reviewed and rebuilt like those made by FrenchERC. |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:32 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
The French system plays more like gibbly Orks IIRC. They removed Spawning, and Synapse from the rules. |
Author: | Flogus [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:43 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
Oups ! Yes, with the "News Posts" options, I hadn't seen I was in the Tyranid section. So, what about the French Tyranids ? Any unit considers dangerous terrain as open, and biotitan considers impossible as dangerous. Broken formation only makes a simple move. Formations with a synapse unit have 1+ Initiative, do not take a blast marker for being under fire. and get a +1 to rally. Formations which loose their synapse have 3+ Initiative. And Independant formations have 2+ Initiative. Only a formation with synapse or an independant formation can control/contest objectives (any unit in the formation, not just the synapse units). BTS objective is the destruction of the Supreme Commander formation. If no Dominatrix, a Tyranid Prince gets SC for free. AA : no Gargoiles, the AA is granted by a bio-construction. It is place on an objective, like Eldar webway portal. Range 75cm, 1 attack dice per aerian unit, AA6+ , AA7+ if contested by ennemy, and nothing if controled by ennemy. Regeneration : on dice per lost point, 1 point healed on a 5+ Can also heal on a Regroup action, like titans do with theirs shields. Mycetics "drop pods": like SM drop pods, 15cm, AP5+/AC6+ Disrupt Tunnelers, like in the rulebook 2004. And the list has about the same structure as Orks (single, double or triple formation, with upgrades). You can find it (in French) HERE. |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 3:57 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
Formations with a synapse unit have 1+ Initiative, do not take a blast marker for being under fire. and get a +1 to rally. Formations which loose their synapse have 3+ Initiative. And Independant formations have 2+ Initiative. I really like this. |
Author: | zombocom [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 4:00 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
Here's a link to the thread with a translation: http://www.tacticalwargames.net/forums/ ... 21;t=14434 I really like the basic structure and many of the special rules, though quite a few of them are pretty clunky and could be cut (such as the AA construction, spore mines like the 9.x list are much more sensible). To me it's a much better basis for building a list than the current one. |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:01 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
Make Bio-Artillery Independend an no-whee ![]() |
Author: | Chroma [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:08 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
And here's another variant army list setup, inspired by the French. Alternate Army List Setup |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:21 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
Quote: (Hena @ 01 Jul. 2009, 18:03 ) Quote: (BlackLegion @ 01 Jul. 2009, 19:01 ) Make Bio-Artillery Independend an no-whee ![]() 33% of artillery is better, I agree ![]() Ok. Don't look atthe actual Initiative values. I like the concept of variable Initiative based on if there are Synapse creatures left in the swarm or not. In Fluff Tyranid swarms doesn't miraculously turn docile and inactive if their Synapse creatures are killed. They are still abunch of creatures who want to do one thing foremost: Kill non-Tyranids. Ok their leaders are gone so they will but they will still do SOMETHING which their instincts/nature dictates. Thats not lurking around and find easy prey. Thats for lonely, singular critters. But there is still whole swarm of Tyranids! Strength lies in numbers every Pack-Animal knows this and Tyranids hunt in packs (with exeption of the Lictor and other Independend creatures). So they will hunt! Wether they engage the enemy, shoot at them, just move a bit closer or run away depents of the situational pack-mentality of the swarm. Synapses gives them directions, without Synapses they will still do what they are created for but not necessarily in an useful or ordered manner. |
Author: | Ginger [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:24 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
Hmm, While the French system seems to give a reasonable approach, I am not sure that it fixes the *independent Harridan swarm* that Chroma is proposing. The point of contention is that the gargoyles would still have dual states depending upon how they were purchased. Gargoyles purchased with the Harridan would be deemed *independent* and so should get the +1 added to their initiative even if the Harridan has been killed (and arguably they remain on the table), while those associated with *Synapse swarms* would get no bonus should the Synapse die (and arguably these should disperse at the end of the turn). The problem is still that if they get intermingled you still cannot easily decide which state a given Gargoyle is in during the turn. We could perhaps allow *Brood* to override *independent* during the turn (potentially robbing the Harridan of its creatures mid turn) though I suspect it would possibly cause greater problems. The other issue is that to achieve this you would have to have both *Independant* and *Brood* defined to specify the relevant effects, and potentially handle which overrides the other under particular circumstances - both a bit 'clunky' and also extra 'special rules'. However here is the kind of detail this implies:-
|
Author: | tneva82 [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:32 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
Quote: (Ginger @ 01 Jul. 2009, 20:24 ) Hmm, While the French system seems to give a reasonable approach, I am not sure that it fixes the *independent Harridan swarm* that Chroma is proposing. The point of contention is that the gargoyles would still have dual states depending upon how they were purchased. Gargoyles purchased with the Harridan would be deemed *independent* and so should get the +1 added to their initiative even if the Harridan has been killed (and arguably they remain on the table), while those associated with *Synapse swarms* would get no bonus should the Synapse die (and arguably these should disperse at the end of the turn). I still think special rule like Brood lord(X) - Counts as synapse creature for creature type X would be simplest solution. This way Harridan can lead gargoyles but not others. |
Author: | Ginger [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:16 pm ] |
Post subject: | Anyone got a review of the French rules? |
A good idea, but the issue is not the Harridan and how many gargoyles it can lead, but rather it lies with the Gargoyles themselves. Even with your system we would still hit the problem of if the Harridan group got near or intermingled with a synapse group - which gargoyles belong to which group? |
Page 1 of 14 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |