Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=16004
Page 1 of 8

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:22 am ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

In a Harridan?

I see I can upgrade it with Gargoyles, but since its not a synapse they will just dissapear at the end of turn 1?

Author:  fredmans [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 11:22 am ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

The Harridan can transport 4 gargoyles. Also remember that it is an Independent Swarm, meaning it acts like a normal non-Tyranid formation.

/Fredmans

Author:  Man of kent [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 11:59 am ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

Yes, but it's not listed as synapse! Which means the gargoyles just die no?!

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

Yes but Gargoyles aren't independant, they are brood. So you load them up, off you move and end of the turn they dissapear.

Author:  frogbear [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

*calls for Chroma can be heard*

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

Hmm, you could pair them with a vit, but its rather slow. Far better it seems is to get 4 harriddan and move them as a group.

Author:  arkturas [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

Any units bought as part of an independent formation are independent (there's a rule about it in there somewhere) and do not die due to lack of synapse.

This part is important. Any gargoyles bought as part of the harridan formation are independent and don't require synapse. The harridan can't pick up gargoyles from other formations as they would then die due to lack of synapse at the end of the turn if there were no synapse creatures in range.

(Although technically the harridan could pick up any formation consisting solely of gargoyles having lost their synapse and all other units, transport them and then drop them off into another synapse formation for the gargoyles to survive)

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

So the list has two types of Gargoyle, ravenor and trygon? But they all spawn back as the same type?
Its not that clear in section 5 gaming. Just says
Tyranid formations come in two types: Independent Swarms and Synapse Swarms. Independent Swarms consist of specific creatures and options shown in the army list, while Synapse Swarms can be highly mutable. Up to one third of the army's points may be spent on Independent Swarms.
That seems not that clear that the independant swarms over-ride brood at the end of turn 1.

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

Ah, its actually in the special rules section.

Unless part of an Independent Swarm, Brood creatures out of control range are removed and any that are within control range of one Synapse Group become part of its Synapse Swarm.

Author:  Chroma [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

Quote: (The_Real_Chris @ 29 Jun. 2009, 12:26 )

Ah, its actually in the special rules section.

Unless part of an Independent Swarm, Brood creatures out of control range are removed and any that are within control range of one Synapse Group become part of its Synapse Swarm.

:agree:

Author:  zombocom [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

[personal bugbear]Yet another case of overcomplicated special rules cluttering the list[/personal bugbear]

Author:  Chroma [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

Quote: (zombocom @ 29 Jun. 2009, 17:45 )

[personal bugbear]Yet another case of overcomplicated special rules cluttering the list[/personal bugbear]

It's not "overcomplicated", it was that someone didn't read it and made an assumption.  You read it once, and it's easy to remember.




Author:  Ginger [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

The Vitperaptor can both act as a synapse and transport 9x Gargoyles etc. As part of its swarm it can take along some Harridans, each of which can transport 4x Gargoyles. In this capacity, the Harridan can be thought of as integral formation transport, while the Vituperaptor is more like WE transport.

The point being that now you can mix these together while in earlier lists they had to be in separate formations, and so had to consider taking other WE and AV to act as shields.

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

Quote: (Chroma @ 29 Jun. 2009, 18:06 )

Quote: (zombocom @ 29 Jun. 2009, 17:45 )

[personal bugbear]Yet another case of overcomplicated special rules cluttering the list[/personal bugbear]

It's not "overcomplicated", it was that someone didn't read it and made an assumption.  You read it once, and it's easy to remember.

More a case of me expecting army selection rules (which I assumed it was) to be int he army section, not the racial special rule section (as I don't believe any other list has army list rules in with race rules, though I could be wrong, where do all the Eldar special rules go, are they split?)

Page 1 of 8 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/