Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 8  Next

Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:06 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:57 pm
Posts: 491
Location: Liverpool
Essentially gargoyles when bought with a harridan ignore some of the tyranid special rules and come out of the Independent points total. They are still brood creatures as brood isn't really a special rule, it's a designation that interacts with the Tyranids racial rules.

The swarm composition and synapse rules are ignored because the gargoyles are in an Independent Swarm and not a Synapse Swarm.

They also ignore the expendable rule as there is no synapse unit in the Independent Swarm.

As brood creatures the gargoyles can be spawned but only into synapse swarms (and not the Harridan's swarm).

I agree the wording needs work but how exactly can it be made simpler when there are 3 creatures that appear in Independent Swarms and Synapse Swarms. (I don't think forking those 3 units into 6 is viable and you can't just directly assign racial special rules either as they depend on the Swarm type (Synapse or Independent) and Swarm composition (presence of synapse creatures))





Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:13 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Ginger @ 30 Jun. 2009, 14:49 )

And this also raises the question whether these 'independent' gargoyles come out of the 1/3 independant costs or not.

It doesn't "raise" the question, it actually answers it: A "Harrassment Swarm" specifies what units in consists of, a Harridan and, possibly, Gargoyles; so, yes, they come out of the Independent section and follow those limits.  It's got nothing to do with Brood Groups and Synapse Swarms.  The "independent Gargoyles" are not subject to Synapse Swarm creation/rules at the start of the game, because they're not *part* of a Synapse Swarm.

Even if the Harridan is killed, the Gargoyles that are part of its Swarm are *still* Independent, following all they appropriate rules.  Gargoyles, specifically, are used in two very distinct ways by the Tyranids: 1) as semi-self-directed "forward" elements used to channel prey creatures and 2) as an aerial "screen" around ground swarms.

Once a Gargoyle is *dead*, spawning doesn't care where they originally came from to return them to play in a Synapse Swarm.

The Harridan is *not* a Synapse Creature, it doesn't lead anything except Gargoyles, it doesn't have the option to be Synapse, or have any psychic powers, etc, in 40k at all.  It's a big "harassment" unit sent forward to sow terror, and Gargoyles.

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:21 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
[personal bugbear]

Problems like this are, to me, just a symptom of the overcomplicated nature of the tyranid list. There are too many special rules, with too many exceptions leading to a result that can, frankly, be a bit of a mess.

Papering over the cracks by changing the wording is one option, but the real problem is that the list differs too much in too many ways from the epic ruleset.

My personal solution would be to lose the swarm/brood rules entirely and have fixed formations, along with an initiative penalty for losing synapse ala the french list/E&C's Hive Fleet Leviathan list.

For me, it's simply vital for any epic list that you should be able to turn up to a game with someone who's never seen the list and be able to explain it in the 5 minute warm-up before the game, to a level where there will be no confusing it ingame. Most lists pass this test, but a few don't. Tau are just over the borderline, as are Necrons, but both can be explained fairly well in the 5 minutes, even if a few details get left out.

Nids however have no hope of being fairly explained to the opponent in that time, and that's unfair.

[/personal bugbear]

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:42 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Quote: (zombocom @ 30 Jun. 2009, 15:53 )

Surely the simplest solution would be to make the haridan synapse?

As Jeridian says, the idea of identical models following totally different rules is overcomplicated.

Well, Harridan's *were* synapses in earlier versions of the list, and I am not sure why it was dropped :laugh:

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:47 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Ginger @ 30 Jun. 2009, 16:42 )

Well, Harridan's *were* synapses in earlier versions of the list, and I am not sure why it was dropped :laugh:

Yeah, I know they were... *laugh*

But they aren't in 40k, which "informs" our stats in EPIC; they've just been known to "lead" Gargoyles on occasion, nothing else.  They appear, mainly, to be a mobile gun/assault platform, not a "leader"-type.

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Quote: (Chroma @ 30 Jun. 2009, 16:13 )

Even if the Harridan is killed, the Gargoyles that are part of its Swarm are *still* Independent, following all they appropriate rules.  Gargoyles, specifically, are used in two very distinct ways by the Tyranids: 1) as semi-self-directed "forward" elements used to channel prey creatures and 2) as an aerial "screen" around ground swarms.

Once a Gargoyle is *dead*, spawning doesn't care where they originally came from to return them to play in a Synapse Swarm.

The Harridan is *not* a Synapse Creature, it doesn't lead anything except Gargoyles, it doesn't have the option to be Synapse, or have any psychic powers, etc, in 40k at all.  It's a big "harassment" unit sent forward to sow terror, and Gargoyles.

I can accept joining gargoyles to the independent Harridan, but not this twisting of their abilities. As others point out, this will lead to confusions on the battlefield as to which gargoyles were independent should the formations become intermingled in some way, and you cannot even overcome this by colouring them differently as later they could be returned as brood creatures.

Ok, it seems that you want to keep this 'harrasment swarm' as a Harridan and up to 4x gargoyles. Is there any way we can treat the Harridan as both synapse and an indepenent creature? Does it matter whether the broods are payed for as 'independent'?

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:11 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
My Leviathan proposal deals with this issue by having formations of Independent Harridans, as well as having a Harridan with Synapse Symbiote Upgrade (thus being a Harridan that can have Gargoyles following it around).

I removed the Vituperator from the Leviathan list as it's never had a model, never will have a model, and never even came close to becoming an official part of the background.

My Leviathan proposal has 461 words total in the Special Rules section, around one third the ammount of Special Rule words in the ERC army list (1291 words).




_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:12 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Ginger @ 30 Jun. 2009, 17:03 )

I can accept joining gargoyles to the independent Harridan, but not this twisting of their abilities.

Not sure what the "twisting" is referring to.

But this is the same effect that occurs with the Subterranean Swarm, but there hasn't been any confusion, that I've heard, regarding whether the creatures in that Swarm "go away" without Synapse or anything.  Nothing in the Sub Swarm can spawn, it takes Blast markers as normal, and the dead units can be respawned to Synapse.  It's the exact same thing as the Harrassment swarm, so where is the confusion that the Gargoyles "go to ground" coming from?

Making the Harridan a "semi-synapse" is just going to lead to more special rules... and single unit special rules are the worst.

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:13 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 606
Quote: (Ginger @ 30 Jun. 2009, 17:03 )

Ok, it seems that you want to keep this 'harrasment swarm' as a Harridan and up to 4x gargoyles. Is there any way we can treat the Harridan as both synapse and an indepenent creature? Does it matter whether the broods are payed for as 'independent'?

Umm...Some sort of special rule like brood(X) leader which allows to maintain brood creatures of correct type as if synapse creature and apply that to harridan?

_________________
www.tneva.net


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:19 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Quote: (Chroma @ 30 Jun. 2009, 16:13 )

It's a big "harassment" unit sent forward to sow terror, and Gargoyles.

I can also imagine *Biggles* would want to sow gargoyles in turn #2, embark some more from a nearby swarm in turn #2, to sow some more gargoyles in turn #3 :laugh:

While 40K *informs* EPIC, perhaps this is one of those occasions where we choose not to follow exactly? Otherwise you are effectively describing either 'independent' gargoyles which would seem to cause one set of problems, or the Harridan as a *gargoyle synapse* which would seem to cause other problems.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:23 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Evil and Chaos @ 30 Jun. 2009, 17:11 )

My Leviathan proposal has 461 words total in the Special Rules section, around one third the ammount of Special Rule words in the ERC army list (1291 words).

Okay, that's a wee bit disingenuous...  *laugh*

All the special rules are practically the same, but you cut out a lot of flavour text and use bullet points.  I can get the "army rules" down to 530 doing that... pre-bullet pointing!




_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:30 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Quote: (Chroma @ 30 Jun. 2009, 17:12 )

Quote: (Ginger @ 30 Jun. 2009, 17:03 )

I can accept joining gargoyles to the independent Harridan, but not this twisting of their abilities.

Not sure what the "twisting" is referring to.

Well this is saying that a gargoyle is a brood creature, except when it is independent when it ignores the *brood* ability. It is a bit like the childhood question "when is a door not a door?"  :whistle:

I have not played the *Subterranean* swarm rules, but if it works as you describe, it will also suffer from the same problem. At the end of each turn you end up having to both check for synapse control while remembering that one gargoyle is currently a *brood* creature while a neighbouring gargoyle is *independent* although it looks and feels identical in every way. Unfortunately IMO this will be horribly confusing.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:30 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
Doesn't the leviathan list get rid of swarms, broods, synapse destruction etc?

That's not "practically the same" at all.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:35 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Quote: (zombocom @ 30 Jun. 2009, 17:30 )

Doesn't the leviathan list get rid of swarms, broods, synapse destruction etc?

That's not "practically the same" at all.

Indeed, it's not the same at all.

Also there is some fluff text to the Special Rules, though not enough (could do with about 20 words more for each of the 5 Special Rules).

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:39 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (zombocom @ 30 Jun. 2009, 17:30 )

Doesn't the leviathan list get rid of swarms, broods, synapse destruction etc?

That's not "practically the same" at all.

Uh... no.

The listed special rules are in Leviathan are:

T1.01 - RELENTLESS

T1.02 - DISPOSABLE

T1.03 - MOBILITY

T1.04 - SPAWNING
With "fixed" spawning point values based on Synapse.

T1.05 - FREE PLANETFALL

"Synapse" and "Brood" are not individually defined, but are referenced in a few of the special rules and the "Swarm Building" is the same thing as the Hamman's World list with "Synapse Broods" that have "Common and Uncommon Broods" assigned to them.

It also (re-?) introduces the Brood Hive as a spawning booster.

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 8  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron

Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net