Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:49 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
Quote: (Ginger @ 29 Jun. 2009, 18:42 )

The Vitperaptor can both act as a synapse and transport 9x Gargoyles etc. As part of its swarm it can take along some Harridans, each of which can transport 4x Gargoyles. In this capacity, the Harridan can be thought of as integral formation transport, while the Vituperaptor is more like WE transport.

The point being that now you can mix these together while in earlier lists they had to be in separate formations, and so had to consider taking other WE and AV to act as shields.

You can mix harridans and vitraters together? I thought they were independants or can you now group synapse and independants together end/start of turn?

So anyone tried using 4 of these things yet together?

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:46 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Chroma, I have to admit I'm guilty of this confusion too. The list isn't written cleanly in my mind - it's all a bit confusing the first time you read it. I'm not that keen on the two types of unit types for Rav, GG etc either. It just seems to make the list "bit-ty". If I pick up a list I prefer to be able to read the necessary rules clearly where they should be written not have to scan the whole document to work out a minor detail.

Not attacking you, just my 2 cents from a noob Nid player, FWIW.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:01 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
It is clunky and overcomplicated that the same unit has different rules depending on how it is bought in the army list.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:17 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:15 am
Posts: 461
Location: UK
I have to weigh in on the naysayers side on this one I'm afraid.

It is complicated/convoluted.

More specifically any one of the Nid rules is simple and easily memorable- when you pack in a dozen or more special rules and mix them together, it gets complex.


I could have a situation where my Harridan and Gargoyles intermingle with a Hive Tyrant, Gaunts and Gargoyles. I then have some Gargoyles that are Expendable, non-scoring and die with the Synapse, and some that are not Expendable, scoring and ignore Synapse- except they're identical models.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:43 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
Quote: (Jeridian @ 30 Jun. 2009, 10:17 )

I could have a situation where my Harridan and Gargoyles intermingle with a Hive Tyrant, Gaunts and Gargoyles. I then have some Gargoyles that are Expendable, non-scoring and die with the Synapse, and some that are not Expendable, scoring and ignore Synapse- except they're identical models.

:vD

[joking]  Paint them differently  [/joking]

:vD




_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:50 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 606
Quote: (Jeridian @ 30 Jun. 2009, 10:17 )

I have to weigh in on the naysayers side on this one I'm afraid.

It is complicated/convoluted.

More specifically any one of the Nid rules is simple and easily memorable- when you pack in a dozen or more special rules and mix them together, it gets complex.


I could have a situation where my Harridan and Gargoyles intermingle with a Hive Tyrant, Gaunts and Gargoyles. I then have some Gargoyles that are Expendable, non-scoring and die with the Synapse, and some that are not Expendable, scoring and ignore Synapse- except they're identical models.

So what would alternative be? Remove ability for independant harridans have gargoyles? Not good. Those are supposed to carry gargoyles. Force them to be with synapse creature? Again goes against fluff and would mean harridans are useful only with vituperator.

Alternatively of course you could remove whole destroyed if outside synapse rule if that's more what you like...

_________________
www.tneva.net


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 11:43 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
Not saying you should do it but you could let the harridan spawn gargoylse as the final way :)

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:22 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
What is confusing about the current list is that apparently many of the "independant" creatures have been listed together with the "Brood" creatures as 'Lesser' creatures. So Harridan, Lictors and Gene Stealers are also included in the same group and it seems that I have fallen foul of the same confusion. On closer inspections the Harridan does not have 'brood' attribute.

Basically the question revolves around the definition of "Brood" creatures that *must* be near synapse creatures, and the 'others' that do not suffer from this problem. The definition of synapse swarms and 'independant' formations is clear, but it definitely helped to have the different creatures segregated in the list.

So this brings us back to the original question. As Gargoyles are defined as "Brood" creatures, they must be deployed near a synapse and will disappear at the end of the turn if they are not in range of a Synapse creature.

However, putting gargoyles inside a Harridan raises a further question - do these units have to be moved with the synapse when it moves? Put another way, does being inside the Harridan amend the "brood" attribute allowing the Harridan to act independently?

This would all be resolved by making the Harridan a "brood" creature IMHO. Was that the original intention?

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:25 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
Maybe you only check for stuff that is deployed? So if underground or being transported (ie when off board) cannot be removed in end turn for being out of synapse?

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:44 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Ginger @ 30 Jun. 2009, 13:22 )

What is confusing about the current list is that apparently many of the "independant" creatures have been listed together with the "Brood" creatures as 'Lesser' creatures. So Harridan, Lictors and Gene Stealers are also included in the same group and it seems that I have fallen foul of the same confusion. On closer inspections the Harridan does not have 'brood' attribute.

What I think is being confused here is that "Independent" is a *formation* type, while "Brood" is a *creature* sub-type; there's no such thing as an "independent creature", only Independent Swarms.

From the Tyranid Swarms sub-rule:

Unless part of an Independent Swarm, Brood creatures out of control range are removed and any that are within control range of one Synapse Group become part of its Synapse Swarm.

Primarily "Brood" simply (*LAUGH*) means "spawnable", with the additional attributes of being "expendable" and requiring to be near Synapse creatures when in a Synapse Swarm.

Does that help at all?

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:59 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Hmm, I know what you are saying Chroma, but their deploment is also governed At the start of the game, the Tyranid player assigns Brood creatures to Synapse Groups, creating swarms. These swarms must be set up in legal formation using the instructions for the scenario. Additionally, Brood units must be placed within control range (15cm) of a Synapse creature from the swarm's Synapse Group. Brood units may also be held in reserve. During the Action Phase, a Synapse Swarm is treated like a normal formation.

So if put on the table, the gargoyles *must* be placed in a swarm, even if they are carried in a Harridan - unless we do something here to assume that transported units are not subject to the *Synapse / brood* relationship :smile: .

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:04 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Ginger @ 30 Jun. 2009, 13:59 )

So if put on the table, the gargoyles *must* be placed in a swarm, even if they are carried in a Harridan - unless we do something here to assume that transported units are not subject to the *Synapse / brood* relationship :smile: .

From the "using the army" section:

Tyranid formations come in two types: Independent Swarms and Synapse Swarms.  Independent Swarms consist of specific creatures and options shown in the army list, while Synapse Swarms can be highly mutable.  Up to one third of the army's points may be spent on Independent Swarms.

So, in essence, those Gargoyles with the Harridan have already been "assigned", they're not coming from Brood groups.

But I will clear that up in the next version to be more specific.




_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:28 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
I think you need to have race rules in the front.
Then in the back with the GT army list any deployment rules.
So Brood in the special rules.
Independant and synapse swarms in the GT army list section.

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:49 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Quote: (Chroma @ 30 Jun. 2009, 14:04 )

Quote: (Ginger @ 30 Jun. 2009, 13:59 )

So if put on the table, the gargoyles *must* be placed in a swarm, even if they are carried in a Harridan - unless we do something here to assume that transported units are not subject to the *Synapse / brood* relationship :smile: .

From the "using the army" section:

Tyranid formations come in two types: Independent Swarms and Synapse Swarms.  Independent Swarms consist of specific creatures and options shown in the army list, while Synapse Swarms can be highly mutable.  Up to one third of the army's points may be spent on Independent Swarms.

So, in essence, those Gargoyles with the Harridan have already been "assigned", they're not coming from Brood groups.

But I will clear that up in the next version to be more specific.

In which case you seem to be suggesting that the these 'independent' Gargoyles are not subject to the "brood" rules, even though they have that attribute. Won't that be even more confusing?

I think you are effectively intending that these Gargoyles are a *one-use* weapon of the Harridan (unless they end up near a swarm of course), so the introductory wording would be along the lines of
    "broods must be assigned to synapses forming swarms or independent transport. At the end of the turn any broods outside synapse control go to ground (removed)"


And this also raises the question whether these 'independent' gargoyles come out of the 1/3 independant costs or not.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:53 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
Surely the simplest solution would be to make the haridan synapse?

As Jeridian says, the idea of identical models following totally different rules is overcomplicated.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net