UnderTheRadar wrote:
Hello again!
After another trial game a handful of questions...
I'll field these.
UnderTheRadar wrote:
How big is a trench - in other words, how many infantry stands can I fit inside one?
As I cannot find the rules for Fortifications in NetEpic, I've gone back to 2nd edition for the answer to this. If NetEpic says something different, I may be wrong.
In the "Space Marine Battles" softback book, it lists that for 150 points you may place up to 50cm of entrenchments anywhere in your set-up area. It does not state the exact width/depth of each trench, but the assumption seems to be one stand deep. Thus if you crammed in as many as you could get, you could get 25 stands per 50cm length of entrenchments, assuming you are using the 2cm square bases from 2nd edition. It would be a fewer if you are using the rectangular bases, but I don't know their size as I don't have any.
Ah, just found the table for Fortifications in the core rules (page 30). Trenches appear to have been reduced to 30cm for 150 points, thus could hold a maximum of 15 stands per 150 points of Trench. If using odd lengths, it works out to 10 points per stand protected.
UnderTheRadar wrote:
Is combat between the occupants of a bunker/strongpoint and units assaulting it close combat, or is it down to exchanges of fire? Linked question - can I assault a bunker with tanks?
A bunker or stronghold is a building and follows all rules therefore. Thus Infantry may close assault models in one, but tanks may not. Whether Infantry are close assaulting it or not depends on where the attacker put them and intent. If they are touching the structure, it should be safe to assume they are close assaulting. If they are not touching it, they would have to use ranged attacks.
UnderTheRadar wrote:
Can I confirm that I can fire template weapons at aircraft assuming the template weapons are on First Fire orders? For example, if I have a battery of Earthshakers, can I attack a flight of Marauders within range using the artillery template?
The core rules answer this. Page 24, near the top of the second column, both altitude descriptions say "Template weapons may affect the aerial unit or units on the ground, but not both." In other words, yes, artillery may attack Flyers.
However, this varies depending on which of the two sets of rules you are using for Flyers. If you are using the rules on page 26, then Heavy Artillery (Basilisk, Manticore, Earthshaker, etc) may NOT fire at Flyers at all as their type is not listed among the types that may fire at Flyers. If you are using the rules on page 24, which does not have the "Hard Target" ability, then they may. Note that you should be using one set of rules or the other, not both.
UnderTheRadar wrote:
Am I right in thinking that (except where specifically mentioned, like for Dropships) all aircraft weapons can engage both ground and air targets?
As far as I am aware, a weapon system is only restricted to one or the other if it specifically says it is so limited in the description of that specific model.
However, this also varies depending on which set of rules you are using for Flyers. If using the set with "Hard Target", then many weapons on many other Flyers cannot target Flyers, as most Flyers are technically in the "Vehicle" category and most of their weapons are not turreted or 360 fire. Also, this means that any Flyer that is "Super Heavy" may not fire at other Flyers at all, as that pinning category is not listed at all.
UnderTheRadar wrote:
What altitude are aircraft at while moving, assuming they don't move at the final altitude?
Based on the wording under the "Altitude" ability, I'd interpret that as saying that the craft begins the turn at whatever altitude it ended the last turn at, and moves at that altitude for 90 to 95% of it's move, only ending the turn at it's new altitude, whatever that may be. As that is not specified, if you and your opponent are comfortable doing it differently, then go for it.
UnderTheRadar wrote:
Do I have to use templates for direct fire? For example, I have three Basilisks providing close support to some tactical infantry which is mixed up with the enemy, and if I use templates I will end up hitting both the enemy and my own units. Can I attack a single enemy unit with a single Basilisk shot, using the Basilisk cannon like a tank gun?
Yes, you must use the barrage template even for Direct Fire. Also, most races are not allowed to shoot at their own forces (intentionally anyway) at all, so you could not fire into an area of mixed ally and enemy.
The exception would be if a specific model has an ability that says otherwise. I cannot think of an existing Artillery model that also allows single-target direct fire. One could be designed, but balancing it could be tricky, outside of the Points Formula anyway.
UnderTheRadar wrote:
Is it individual stands that are pinned, not entire units? For example, after close combat one of the tactical stands in a platoon of ten is locked in combat with an enemy infantry unit. What options are available to the tactical stands that are not in close combat?
Yes, only the specific stand that is in close combat is technically pinned, but the remainder of the formation (please stop using "Unit" as it's meaning is too vague) is still required to maintain coherency with it. What options they have entirely depend on their order for that turn, and whether or not they have moved yet. Assuming the formation has not yet activated, but one stand has just been pinned:
_ If on Charge: The remainder of the formation may enter Close Combat with any enemy formations in range while still maintaining coherency.
_ If on Advance: The remainder of the formation may move around as they wish, so long as they maintain coherency with the stand that is pinned.
_ If on First Fire: The formation really should have Snap Fired (without the -1, see page 19: Enemy Response) at the charging formation. Whether or not they did, they cannot move anyway as they ore on First Fire.
Their options in the Combat Phase will depend on the outcome of the Close Combat, and their orders.
UnderTheRadar wrote:
How do I handle this sort of situation... A militia company starts crossing boggy ground. The CHQ stand goes with them but the Rhino can't follow. As I read the rules, there quickly comes a point where the CHQ stands can go no further because they will move out of cohesion with the Rhino, and soon after there comes a point where the Militia platoons can advance no further because they have moved more than 25cm from the CHQ. I want to carry on the advance. I have up until now "voluntarily" lost the Rhino. Am I missing something here?
The Rhino *should* just be able to go around the impassible terrain. While this would force the CHQ stand to take a more circuitous route through the terrain rather than straight across, to maintain coherency, it should enable the Rhino to come along. If you are having battles with such terrain that extends from one side of the battlefield all the way to the other side, or is otherwise impossible to go around, then you need to adjust your strategy accordingly.
As far as I am aware, the rules do not support being able to lose the Rhino for this kind of reason. The CHQ would have to maintain coherency. That said, if your opponent is fine with you doing that, then just consider it a "house rule" and play on.
UnderTheRadar wrote:
Finally... I've been trying to look for posts about soft transport - trucks, jeeps and so on. It seems a PDF or Imperial Guard - type army would have cheap transport available, but there is no provision for such transport in the army lists. Can anyone give me a steer on availability, cost and so on?
Correct, Imperials do not have "light" transports. Still, you make a good point, at least about the PDF. The only comparable model that I can think of would be the Ork "Trukk". It would not be unreasonable to use the same stats and point cost (as both Orks and PDF require a command radius) for a PDF version, possibly representing a supply truck or even a Hummer-like vehicle. Get your opponent's permission before doing so.
Actually, the PDF do have a "jeep" of a sort. The "Recon Vehicle" is basically a jeep or dune buggy like vehicle used for scouting. It would be a bit too small to carry even a single stand of Infantry though. There is also the "Artillery Tractor" but that only has the Tow ability, not Transport.
UnderTheRadar wrote:
Once again thanks in advance for all the help! I am currently playing this game with card counters so any battle report I would put in would be (a) pic-less, and (b) probably laden with rules errors. That said, the games have been fast and furious and I can't wait for the opportunity to properly embody my PDF/IG mix in glorious 3mm and share the fun.
UtR
No worries, that's what we are here for. Glad to help another enthusiast.
Magnus