Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Snap Fire Questions http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=21808 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Jake Strangeway [ Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:31 am ] |
Post subject: | Snap Fire Questions |
Situation came up the other day in a game I was watching. A Blood Angel player moved a Thunderhawk gunship toward an objective near the other player's lines (Other player was Eldar). The Eldar player announced he would snap fire with a unit of Exarchs, and fired all 4 stands and, perhaps due to particularly fervent prayers to the Machine God, the gunship survived. As it continued on its way to the target, he then declared that a unit of Dark Reapers would open fire on it, and shot it out of the sky. Our question was, should the Eldar player have had to declare that both units were firing at the gunship before he rolled the dice? In many wargames that is how it is done, but we weren't sure if that is the case here. (and assuming he rolled for the Exarchs first, and he shot down the gunship, the Dark Reapers shots would have been wasted.) Next question - it says Command units who are in close combat cannot shoot, and command units who Snap fire may not later move. Should we infer from that that command units that move may not later in the turn Snap Fire - or, because it specifically says one and not the other, should they be allowed to do so? That one came up in a game of Space Marines vs Orks, where a bunch of Nobz (like 10 stands worth) rushed across the battlefield in Battlewagons, dismounted and got into a building, and then the question was could they then Snap Fire. We ruled that they could not, but we were looking for an "official" answer ![]() Jake |
Author: | scream [ Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:01 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Snap Fire Questions |
Jake Strangeway wrote: Our question was, should the Eldar player have had to declare that both units were firing at the gunship before he rolled the dice? In many wargames that is how it is done, but we weren't sure if that is the case here. (and assuming he rolled for the Exarchs first, and he shot down the gunship, the Dark Reapers shots would have been wasted.) I play this the same way than you did so for me, it's no. Jake Strangeway wrote: Next question - it says Command units who are in close combat cannot shoot, and command units who Snap fire may not later move. Should we infer from that that command units that move may not later in the turn Snap Fire - or, because it specifically says one and not the other, should they be allowed to do so? You can not snap fire if you have moved or if you have revealed your order (in both case units have been activated). In your example, the nobz could not do snap fire but they can fire in first fire segment. It's the same thing for prartorians that can move and always fire in FF segment. If they have moved (so their order is shown), they can fire in FF segment but can not do snap fire. Just remember that at the end of unit activation phase you can have some units with unrevealed orders. Typically units with FF order that you kept to snap fire and probably when you have less activations than your opponent and you decided to pass on activating. In FF segment, you'll be able to activate them to do standard first fire (just reveal all unrevealed orders at the end of activation phase). |
Author: | Jake Strangeway [ Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:49 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Snap Fire Questions |
Thanks! |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |