Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=18786 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | scream [ Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:56 am ] |
Post subject: | 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
Hi, here is a question from Epic french board: Can I take 2 rhinos detachment to transport 1 trolls detachment (10 stands) ? If so, as rhino detachments are separate from troll det, when I'll activate one rhino det, I'll break the trolls unit coherency until I'll activate the second rhino det. Thanks in advance for your replies ![]() |
Author: | ulric [ Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:30 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
If I am right we discussed this problem anywhere. If a unit is transported by an unit of APCs you can give them different orders but activate them at one go |
Author: | scream [ Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:56 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
ulric wrote: If a unit is transported by an unit of APCs you can give them different orders but activate them at one go This is OK when detachment already contains APC (6 SM stands + 3 rhinos) but when you take 1 rhino detachment to transport 1 scout detachment, you get 2 separate detachments and 2 activations. I checked the rules and there's nothing that invalidate this. There's just an optional rule that allow to break coherency between apc and troops provided in a single detachment (3 rhinos & 6 SM stands) My "problem" is when you take 2 APC detachments to transport a single detachment: 2 rhino cards to transport a troll card (10+1 stand). In this case, The rhino detachments are separate detachments but troll forms a single unit so when you activate 1 rhino detachment (transporting 5 trolls) and move it more than 6 cm away from second detachment, you intentionally break troll unit coherency and this can not be done. On the same way, you could transport a termagant unit in 2 hierophants... |
Author: | ulric [ Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:51 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
I think you have 2 opinions: 1st: count the 3 units as one for the purpose of activation but give seperate orders 2nd: let the first rhino with trolls move If I am right there was a rule:""if a unit breaks the coherency it has to move together in the next turn or as soon as possible except they are on FF"" if you now move the 2nd rhino det. the coherency is redone again I think there is not really a problem I have done it this way with ironshields transporting Squat warriors |
Author: | Napalm [ Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:48 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
ulric wrote: If I am right there was a rule:""if a unit breaks the coherency it has to move together in the next turn or as soon as possible except they are on FF"" if you now move the 2nd rhino det. the coherency is redone again I think there is not really a problem That's exactly how i'm playing my trolls since a long time. But our question is something like "is it legal?": The 1st coherency breaking is on purpose, can you do this? |
Author: | zap123 [ Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
Yeah, I think we covered this off somewhere else. These big units weren't meant to be mechanised. So the answer is actually the third option: You need to take a transports capable of carrying the full unit. So for Troll/Minotaurs/Beastmen/Cultists that have 10-11 stands your options are Plaguetower, detachment of 3 Deathdealers, Leviathan etc. |
Author: | scream [ Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:03 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
Thanks zap. Since the board has moved search does not return messages between last crash and mid 2004...Maybe answer to my question was in this gap... |
Author: | zap123 [ Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:23 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
Yeah. I've also noticed that Firefox mangles the old threads and mashes a bunch of replies together, while surprisingly IE does not. |
Author: | gaskran [ Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:15 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
I think it was me and Pettan who argued about this some time ago and we have since followed the third option. It makes life a bit more complicated for the chaos player, but removes the very cheesy "insta-trolls in CC" that was the result of rhinos transporting them. Two Death dealers lumbering forward with a blood scorpion escort is a nice compromise, that gives the trolls/minotaurs a bit of movement and makes them a powerful deterrent on the flank they´re on. |
Author: | zap123 [ Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:58 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
Yes, and the Deathdealers are pretty decent tanks on the assault themselves. My Khorne army rarely leaves home without at least one detachment of three! Insta-Trolls is very horrible to consider! |
Author: | scream [ Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:06 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
zap123 wrote: Insta-Trolls is very horrible to consider! Insta-Bloodletters is not bad too as they can fit in rhinos/thunderhawks/land raiders ![]() |
Author: | zap123 [ Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:04 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
See, we're making the Plague Tower useful again ![]() |
Author: | scream [ Wed Sep 22, 2010 5:42 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
zap123 wrote: Tower useful again ![]() ![]() Since we've created a small rule "praetorians do not looas 5cm for embarking/disembarking", Plague Tower has become a little bit more intereting (a bit ~5cm long ![]() |
Author: | gaskran [ Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:59 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 2 cards to transport 1 detachment ? |
In our last game using a plague tower it took an immense amount of punishment, soaking effectively most of the Tau heavy fire in two consecutive rounds. My take is that a chaos army never should embark on their space hulk without one of these in tow. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |