Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Snap Fire

 Post subject: Snap Fire
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:57 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 9:28 am
Posts: 310
Location: Sweden
Can I use Snapfire with a unit that has been activted? Or is it not an activation?

Can my Landraider that is being charged use its PD, see if it works and then if not choose to show its FF order and fire its lasers?

Quote: 

Special Ability: Point Defense (X)
This is a variety of light, short-range weapons designed as a close-in anti-infantry defense. This can be a
combination of reactive armor, energized hulls and automated weapons systems, though there are different
mechanisms, i.e. Ork Point Defense generally consists of Gretchen with pistols, tied to the hull.
Point Defense systems (the X listed next to the ability) always act as though they were on First Fire Orders
no matter what the unit’s actual orders are, and may be thought of as a separate unit. They may be used in the
Movement Phase in order to Snap Fire at the target of a charge (with the normal –1 To-Hit penalty) or to gun down a
Charging enemy (without the –1 penalty), or they may fire in the Combat Phase when the model make it’s normal
ranged attacks.
All PD attacks have a 360° arc of fire, a range of 15 cm, hit on a 6+ and have 0 TSM. Point Defense


/Peter

_________________
"Take me to the Brig. I want to see the "real Marines". " Major General Chesty Puller, USMC


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Snap Fire
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:53 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 5:52 pm
Posts: 50
Quote: 

Can I use Snapfire with a unit that has been activted? Or is it not an activation?

In the rules of Snap fire p.19 we can see : [...]When an enemy detachment is activated and moves into sight, you may interrupt its movement at any point and activate one of your units that has First Fire Orders.[...]
So I would answer no because to snap fire you have to activate your unit and you can't activate a unit twice in the same sequence.

Quote: 

Can my Landraider that is being charged use its PD, see if it works and then if not choose to show its FF order and fire its lasers?

Quote: 

Special Ability: Point Defense (X)
[...]and may be thought of as a separate unit[...]

Yes you can.




_________________
Biel el'Jonson


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Snap Fire
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:52 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
What he said  :smile:

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Snap Fire
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:09 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 9:28 am
Posts: 310
Location: Sweden
Quote: 

and may be thought of as a separate unit.

So a unit can never use its PD if it has been moved/activated?




_________________
"Take me to the Brig. I want to see the "real Marines". " Major General Chesty Puller, USMC


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Snap Fire
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:52 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 3:18 pm
Posts: 1619
Location: France
Quote: (Pettan @ Nov. 19 2009, 06:09 )

Quote: 

and may be thought of as a separate unit.

So a unit can never use its PD if it has been moved/been activated?

Yes they can use their PD if they have moved/activated.




_________________
Fair players live longer
Epic40k.fr Techpriest


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Snap Fire
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:21 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 5:52 pm
Posts: 50
Quote: (scream @ Nov. 19 2009, 05:52 )

Quote: (Pettan @ Nov. 19 2009, 06:09 )

Quote: 

and may be thought of as a separate unit.

So a unit can never use its PD if it has been moved/activated?

Yes they can use their PD if they have moved/activated.

...because PD may be thought of as a separated unit from the land raider. If you have activated your land raider detachment, even if they are on charge order, you can snap fire with their PD because they (the PD) have not been activated.

To make it easier, with a land raider detachment, you have 2 units in one :
- The land raider wich can moove, fire, engage close-combat, etc...
- The PD wich are always in first-fire order and which can only fire.

_________________
Biel el'Jonson


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Snap Fire
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:34 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 9:28 am
Posts: 310
Location: Sweden
Quote: 

...because PD may be thought of as a separated unit from the land raider. If you have activated your land raider detachment, even if they are on charge order, you can snap fire with their PD because they (the PD) have not been activated.

To make it easier, with a land raider detachment, you have 2 units in one :
- The land raider wich can moove, fire, engage close-combat, etc...
- The PD wich are always in first-fire order and which can only fire.


Very clear and exaclty as I thought.

This should mean that:  My Landraider that is being charged can use its PD, see if it works and then if not choose to show its FF order and fire its lasers?

/P-man

_________________
"Take me to the Brig. I want to see the "real Marines". " Major General Chesty Puller, USMC


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net