Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Transported Nids

 Post subject: Transported Nids
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 4:06 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:23 am
Posts: 47
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Aus
Yet another quick series of related questions from the newb. A Hierophant has transport(5) - if you load up a Hierophant with a slave brood (i.e. Hormagaunts, Raveners), how do they interact with synapse?

Does synapse still work, and do you just measure to the 'carrier'? If the 'carrier' moves out of synapse range, and the brood on board has the Hunt instinct, will it stay on board, or jump out and move on it's own? How about Rampage instinct? And what about Nesting instinct - do they just never re-enter play again?? Can a brood on (non-Nesting) Instinctive orders mount a transport? What if the transport is between the brood and the closest enemy unit?

Sorry if these have come up before...this is still all new to me.

_________________
Rule 37 : There is no 'Overkill'. There is only 'Open Fire' and 'I need to reload'.
The Seven Habits of Highly Effective Pirates
from
Schlock Mercenary


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Transported Nids
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 5:53 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Good questions.  So, if the Titan (and by extension its passengers) are within Synapse then the passengers should be able to be given an order as normal.  If the Hierophant goes outside Synapse range the passengers follow their instinctive orders, and if these are Rampage or Hunt they pop out.  Whether the Titan loses 5cm of movement is a bit sticky too, and a unit with Nest would indeed get stuck inside.

I would however guess that unlike most transports the Hierophant can effectively "spit 'em out" whenever she feels like it.  

A unit with instinctive orders would not be able to mount a transport as that option is not mentioned in the Instinctive behaviour descriptions. (and is kinda disturbing a thought :D )

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Transported Nids
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 11:09 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:23 am
Posts: 47
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Aus
Hmm - not nice, but I can accept it.

Last question - is a transported synapse creature still able to supply synapse for other models besides it's 'ride'?

Oh, and I like that the Hierophant is now a 'she' ;)

_________________
Rule 37 : There is no 'Overkill'. There is only 'Open Fire' and 'I need to reload'.
The Seven Habits of Highly Effective Pirates
from
Schlock Mercenary


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Transported Nids
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 2:14 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Any bug that nasty would have to be a 'she' wouldn't it :D

The rule for Hive Mind radius says nothing about line of sight or not working in a transport, so I can see no reason why the Synapse critter could not provide it to units within the radius.

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net