|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 3 posts ] |
|
Question about Nova Cannons & Rounding |
Yuber Okami
|
Post subject: Question about Nova Cannons & Rounding Posted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:16 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:40 pm Posts: 520
|
In my last game arised some game rules questions. Here they are:
- A Nova Cannon shot and touched slightly 2 escort cruisers whose bases were touching each other (in order to give them +1 dice when firing their turrets), and so they scored two hits. Then, the other player declared that, as they were in base touch, the first damage point anulated both shields, and the second killed an escort. Is that right?? i thought the BM was placed after resolving all hits from the weapon, not in the middle of it. Also, who places the BM? The attacking or the defending player?
- In BFG, do you round UP or DOWN? in the 3 battles i got my ships crippled the other players told me that i had to round their stats DOWN, but in my last battle (when i crippled two ships and sustained no damage), i was informed that we had to round stats UP. Maybe it's simply that my ships round down and any other player's ships round up, i don't know...
PS: i'm getting sick of this campaign 
_________________ "It would be most ilogical if i let you kick my ass" -Spork, son of Spoon son of Fork
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Admiral d'Artagnan
|
Post subject: Question about Nova Cannons & Rounding Posted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:36 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:56 pm Posts: 238
|
Escorts or Cruisers? Kinda confusing there. If you meant Escorts, then it will all depend on where the hole is. If one hole is on one of the Escorts base, roll D6. The ship where the hole is will take that damage. If a 2 is rolled, then the shield drops and the hit destroys the Escort. Now if the NC Template's outer edge hits the other Escort as well, then the shield goes down as it only takes 1 point of damage.
If the NC Template's outer edge hits both ships. then both take automatic 1 hit but their shields go down. That's it. The damage is not cumulative.
BMs are only placed when the shields take damage or where the NC Template's hole is when the NC misses.
BFG generally rounds up.
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Xavi
|
Post subject: Question about Nova Cannons & Rounding Posted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:29 pm |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:30 am Posts: 939 Location: University of Essex, Colchester, UK (soon to be Brighton, Sussex, UK)
|
Round up unless otherwise stated.
Tricky stuff the NC thing.... *DISCLAIMER* I have NOT checked he rules before answering so I might be wrong.
- IMO the BM are placed after the damage is done, so you score 1 point of damage against each ship with the NC (you scored a near miss against them), so both drop tyheir shields. - it also happens that they are in base to base contact. OK, so they have 2 BM in contact with each one of them. OK so far. - This means that *if* they had 2+ shields, they would be droping a second shield. They don't, so the extra BM does not cause them further damage.
The BtB contact droping shields was intended basically for direct fire damage. First hit in one of the ships drops a shield of each ship in B2B contact as well. So, a second salvo could smash the whole squadron. in this case you cause damage to all the ships at once, so further damage is not done. Until the enemy shots again, that is
The simultaneity of the damage done by the NC is the impirtant bit here.
Clear as mud?
Xavi
_________________ Commanding legions forward while sitting in a nice armchair.
|
|
Top |
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 3 posts ] |
|