Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Fighta-bommas & FAQ 2007

 Post subject: Fighta-bommas & FAQ 2007
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:10 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:11 pm
Posts: 418
Location: France (Rouen)
Fighta-Bommas only roll a D3 instead of a D6 when rolling their attacks against ships. However, as they are also fighters, they get a +3 modifier when reducing the number of attacks each squadron marker makes against a target’s turret value.


Can you explain me that point ?
I'm French and I have no problem to read English, but I don't manage to translate this rule.

I understand a fighta-bomma is a standard bomber, but roll D3+3 instead of D6 ?? Weird !

_________________
My gaming and painting blog : http://figsdeflogus.blogspot.fr


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Fighta-bommas & FAQ 2007
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 2842
Location: Netherlands
I'll get back....

_________________
Light at the Horizon.

Warp Rift
Project Distant Darkness
Eldar MMS

GothiComp Hall of Fame
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=19176


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Fighta-bommas & FAQ 2007
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 9:52 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:56 pm
Posts: 238
And so the confusion continues.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Fighta-bommas & FAQ 2007
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:09 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:30 am
Posts: 939
Location: University of Essex, Colchester, UK (soon to be Brighton, Sussex, UK)
Basically orks only roll 1D3 for attacks, but they ignore the first 3 turrets on a ship when counting the minus to the number of attacks.

Imagine 4 fighta bombas attacking a Murder class curiser (2 turrets)
- The bombas move
- The Murder rolls 2 dice and each 4+ destroys a fighta-bomba. Let's say she destroys 1. 3 buggers remain.
- The 3 fighta-bombas roll 1D3 each. 1, 3 and 6 = 1 + 2 + 3 attacks. 6 attacks. Proceed to roll against armour 5+ for hits as normal.

Now, usually the D6 rolled by each bomber would get a -2 because the ship has 2 turrets. Orks ignore that unless the ship has 4+ turrets. They roll the full 1D3 each.

If the fighta bombas were attacking a battleship with 4 turrets, they would roll 1D3 -1 attacks each. If they rolled the same as above, they would be rolling for 3 attacks (0+1+2) instead of the 6 they are rolling against the murder

Hope that clarified something. It is a messy rule for sure.

Xavi

_________________
Commanding legions forward while sitting in a nice armchair.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Fighta-bommas & FAQ 2007
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:04 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 2842
Location: Netherlands
Yep, like that.

_________________
Light at the Horizon.

Warp Rift
Project Distant Darkness
Eldar MMS

GothiComp Hall of Fame
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=19176


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Fighta-bommas & FAQ 2007
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:32 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:11 pm
Posts: 418
Location: France (Rouen)
It's ok now :)

Can the fighta-bommas still act as a standard fighter and neutralize a turret ?
So against a 4-turrets-ship, if one fighta-bomma in the wave act as a fighter, the first three turrets are neutralize by the rules 'fighta-bomma', and the last turret by the lone fighter ?

_________________
My gaming and painting blog : http://figsdeflogus.blogspot.fr


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Fighta-bommas & FAQ 2007
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:07 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:30 am
Posts: 939
Location: University of Essex, Colchester, UK (soon to be Brighton, Sussex, UK)
Actually the supression rules do not exist anymore: they were removed in the last rules update. I still like them, though. if you use them, I fail to see why you couldn't do just that :)

Cheers,

Xavi

_________________
Commanding legions forward while sitting in a nice armchair.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Fighta-bommas & FAQ 2007
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:57 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 2842
Location: Netherlands
If you read the yahoo group (Bob Henderson / mccavage) posts you'll see that they wanted turret suppression to be official but forgot.

Thus use it!

_________________
Light at the Horizon.

Warp Rift
Project Distant Darkness
Eldar MMS

GothiComp Hall of Fame
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=19176


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Fighta-bommas & FAQ 2007
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:59 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:11 pm
Posts: 418
Location: France (Rouen)
Oh !
There are many things I miss in this FAQ :)

_________________
My gaming and painting blog : http://figsdeflogus.blogspot.fr


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net