|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 7 posts ] |
|
Charge move rules question |
Overmind
|
Post subject: Charge move rules question Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:38 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:28 pm Posts: 37 Location: Jaén, Spain
|
Hello folks.
Suppose we are talking about normal units (no war machines).
When performing a charge move, is it possible to have one charging unit getting in base-to-base contact with TWO enemy units?
Thanks in advance
|
|
Top |
|
 |
kyussinchains
|
Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:18 am |
|
Hybrid |
 |
 |
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm Posts: 6214 Location: Leicester UK
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Dave
|
Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:17 am |
|
Hybrid |
 |
 |
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm Posts: 8537 Location: Worcester, MA
|
You'd have to enter their ZoCs at exactly the same time, as once you do so you're compelled to move directly towards the unit which is ZoCing you. In practice, this can be hard to accomplish, what with how units are arranged and where a unit is allowed to move.
Infiltrators, however, ignore ZoC so can do it with no problem at all. Just place them in base contact with two units and you're done.
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Overmind
|
Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:39 pm |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:28 pm Posts: 37 Location: Jaén, Spain
|
Oh, thanks for the reply.
Let's walk another step: is it legal to move your unit (no infiltrators) in a non-straight way just to contact two units, as long as it finishes its move in contact with the first unit? (even if the second unit is more far).
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Dave
|
Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:14 pm |
|
Hybrid |
 |
 |
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm Posts: 8537 Location: Worcester, MA
|
Are you talking about pivoting the unit as it moves towards the closest enemy unit whose ZoC it is in? I would say no, as that pivoting counts as movement, and if you're not using that movement to move towards the enemy above then you're not adhering to the rules.
Generally, I would say that contacting two enemy units when you don't have infiltrator is a rare thing. Locally, we just say you can't do it just to keep the game moving.
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Kyrt
|
Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:47 pm |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm Posts: 2402 Location: UK
|
|
Top |
|
 |
Ginger
|
Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:35 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm Posts: 5460 Location: London, UK
|
Technically, a unit must stop moving when it arrives in B-to-B with an enemy unit. It is not permitted to move around that enemy to contact a second enemy. So, as Dave says, to conact two enemy units simultaneously, a unit must enter both ZoCs simultaneously which is both fiddly and time consuming.
|
|
Top |
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 7 posts ] |
|