Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

More rules chat...

 Post subject: More rules chat...
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:52 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:25 pm
Posts: 178
Well we had another tournment in Scotland, and as always this lead to more rules queries.
In fairness, thanks mainly to Steve C, we got through much of this unscaithed and with a better concept of the rules.
But two intresting ones came out. - i have checked the rules and FAQ and cant see much on them.

The first was that firm favourite about supreme commander re-roll.
In this case where the SC is on the table. Can the re-roll be used for planes taht fail to activate.
The rules are pretty blunt:
"In addition, each supreme commander unit in the army allows a player to re-roll one failed initiative test (of any type) once per turn."
But the FAQ had looked at where the supreme commander is off board, - e.g on the spaceship that fails to activate.
So what do people play? Can they SC re-roll planes? or even spaceships?
Can the Necron SC re-roll rally tests for units off board?

The next, which had no impact at all, but has some overlap, is spaceships.
If a spaceship fauils to activate what happens? - well obviously it carrys to the next turn, but is there a rule taht says it auto activates after that? I couldnt see anything, though in truth I feel that this actually should be a rule if it isnt.
e.g a turn one space ship fails on turn one, then on turn two, but is auto turn three.
Or a trurn three, fails turn three and is auto turn four.
Can anyone advise where this rule is from? if not is there thoughts for making it official?

thanks as always, the players in the extreme North....

Dan


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: More rules chat...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 12:22 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:07 pm
Posts: 417
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
We're playing that space ships and flyers benefit from the supreme commander, but only if he's on the battlefield. If he's not on the battlefield, he can still be used if he is being transported in the formation that wants to re-roll. So, it's more of where the supreme commander is located that is the limitation.

As for the space ships, we've been playing that if they fail to activate they get no bonus the next turn. For cheap space ships with bad initiative (like the cheapest Orc one) there can be some upside to not automatically showing up the next turn, as that means you can get the benefit of the space ship testing to activate several turns in a row.

_________________
AC for Dark Angels (https://bit.ly/2HvM3EM) Traitor Titan Legion (https://bit.ly/2HvNgfi) Alpha Legion (https://bit.ly/2HNfk0I) Questoris Mechanicus (https://bit.ly/2KfqLg2) & Hive Fleet Dagon (https://bit.ly/2FirNoc).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: More rules chat...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:52 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1940
Location: South Yorkshire
Dan 1314 wrote:
But two intresting ones came out. - i have checked the rules and FAQ and cant see much on them.

The first was that firm favourite about supreme commander re-roll.
In this case where the SC is on the table. Can the re-roll be used for planes taht fail to activate.
The rules are pretty blunt:
"In addition, each supreme commander unit in the army allows a player to re-roll one failed initiative test (of any type) once per turn."
But the FAQ had looked at where the supreme commander is off board, - e.g on the spaceship that fails to activate.
So what do people play? Can they SC re-roll planes? or even spaceships?
Can the Necron SC re-roll rally tests for units off board?


The basic rules state that a Supreme Commander re roll can be used on any failed initiative test of any type, so it can be used on any failed initiative roll of any type.

What you have missed is the GT scenario specific rule about off board units, highlighted the relevant part.
Quote:
6.1.6 Set-up Remaining Formations All of the remaining formations in the players’ armies must be set up within 15cms of their own side’s table edge or be kept back ‘in reserve’. The players take it in turn to set up these formations one at a time, starting with the player with the higher strategy rating.Units kept in reserve must either be aircraft, or be going to enter play in a transport aircraft or by teleportation. Reserve formations entering play in aircraft or by teleportation should be placed aside with units that will enter play via planetfall. These formations are not ‘secret’ and your opponent may inspect them at any time. Units being transported must start the game already loaded into the transport vehicle that will bring them into play (ie, an aircraft or unit with the planetfall ability).
Formations entering play in aircraft or from spacecraft can do so on any turn, following the rules for transport aircraft and planetfall (see 4.2.5 & 4.4) Formations that are in reserve may not carry out any game functions or use special abilities they may have.


A supreme commander re roll is a special ability so cannot be used when off board except when used to affect its own formations activation, see FAQ . highlighted relevant parts.
Quote:
Q: If a formation is offboard (awaiting teleport, in a transport aircraft, etc.) can any special abilities of units in that formation be used? A: No. Special abilities of offboard units may not be used. A specific exception is made for abilities used to affect the activation of the formation they are in. For example, an Eldar formation with a Farseer is held offboard in reserve and the Eldar player retains the initiative to activate this formation. Even though the formation is offboard the Eldar player can use the Farsight ability of the Farseer in that formation to negate the penalty for retaining the initiative. Similarly, a Space Marine Supreme Commander may use the Supreme Commander ability to re-roll the command check to activate the formation they are in if it was offboard but could not be used to apply that same re-roll to a formation that was onboard or to another offboard formation.


The Necron Supreme Commander will play in exactly the same way, if on board the re roll can be used on any formation (even if the formation using the re roll is off board) but if the supreme commander unit iis off board the re roll can only be used on its own formation.



Quote:
The next, which had no impact at all, but has some overlap, is spaceships.
If a spaceship fauils to activate what happens? - well obviously it carrys to the next turn, but is there a rule taht says it auto activates after that? I couldnt see anything, though in truth I feel that this actually should be a rule if it isnt.
e.g a turn one space ship fails on turn one, then on turn two, but is auto turn three.
Or a trurn three, fails turn three and is auto turn four.
Can anyone advise where this rule is from? if not is there thoughts for making it official?

thanks as always, the players in the extreme North....

Dan

No there isn't any special rule , nor should there be , to auto activate a failed spacecraft in later turns.
Also remember that a failed spacecraft will only get to try to activate again in the next " Spacecraft free turn" as only one spacecraft is allowed per turn.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: More rules chat...
PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 12:17 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2337
Location: UK
By the way there has been some disagreement in the past as to the scope of the supreme commander off board FAQ, i.e. whether a transported SC can use his reroll on the transport's activation (think autarch in vampire). We've always played it (and seems to be how UK tournaments play it) that it can be used on an initiative test that 'affects his formation' which includes the transport's initiative test but it's not made explicit in the FAQ.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: More rules chat...
PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:17 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 353
Location: London
I think the exception in that FAQ was unnecessary. Especially the unneeded boost to farseers

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net