Login |  Register |  FAQ

Infantry = useless?

Post subject: Infantry = useless?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:32 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Hi there people, I'm new to your boards and I'm just getting started on building an IG force for Epic Armageddon. I'm yet to actually play a game, and I'm still waiting on my order of models from GW.

My question is - do infantry have any value in the game of EA? I have seen sig comments suggesting that all they are there for is to provide traction for the Titans to walk on, so I wanted to get some opinion from experienced players. For example in regular 40k, Troops choices are generally regarded as the "core" of the army - what do y'all regard as the "core" choice for an IG army in EA?

Ultimately I plan to use some infantry, but I'm hoping to get a better idea of good force composition before I spend too much money on models that aren't much use. My army is still very much in the planning stage, but I am tending towards the idea of a few tank companies and some Baneblades as a core of the force, then some fancy toys (Vulture - I'm looking at you) to provide some flexibility.

So, any advice will be much appreciated!

Profile Send private message  

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:47 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

That comment about the Titan traction is just a joke (some might feel it is accurate however). Infantry heavy IG armies can be daunting to go up against. They're cheap points wise, can garrison most of the time and can unload a lot of fire when sustaining.

If you keep them in cover and in mutually supporting positions I find they do quite well. The cover makes them much more durable. Support and Infantry Platoons as well as Snipers make good upgrades for them and still allow them to be used as garrisons.

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:05 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother