Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Using Transports

 Post subject: Using Transports
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:09 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:25 pm
Posts: 484
Location: Scotland, UK
Help! had a discussion last night with one of the guys about transports. I understand that when transports are part of a formation they can only transport units from that formation. However, if the transports are a seperate formation, can they transport anything unit/formation they want (that they can legally transport)

The discussion came up as we have alot of Ork Battle Wagons and cant really see rules to use them as a combined part of an ork army??

_________________
Walk softly. And carry a big gun.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:25 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:15 am
Posts: 1832
Location: Oslo, Norway
No, transports can only carry units from their own formation. The exception is War Engine transports, which have rules for transporting other formations (in section 3 War Engines).

Ork Battlefortresses and Gunfortresses have an exception to that rule again, but only in Grand Tournament lists - they cannot transport units outside their own formation.

Ork battlewagonz can only be bought as part of a Warband, but gunwagonz and flakwagonz do have their own formation (Blitz Brigade). A Blitz Brigade without infantry can't transport anything, but I'd not that a Warband can buy gunwagonz and flakwagonz as upgrades, while Blitz Brigades can buy infantry as upgrades. There's plenty of opportunities to use the transport capacity of gunwagonz.

edit: Hmm, no infantry for Blitz Brigades. I was sure they had the option to add Nobz, but I was mixing it up with Gunzmobs. You can still buy gunwagonz for Warbands.


Last edited by Ulrik on Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:29 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5602
Location: Bristol
Ulrik is correct, regular vehicles can only transport units from their own formation.

Battlewagons are an upgrade option for the Ork infantry formation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:12 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:25 pm
Posts: 484
Location: Scotland, UK
Ahh now it all becomes clear!

_________________
Walk softly. And carry a big gun.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:28 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 374
Just a quaestion!

Maybe there's a better topic for it, maybe there were some questions like this, BUT:
-If I buy a Codex Marine Tactical Company, in Rhinos -and I buy 4 Land Raiders for them, as Heavy Support -Should i put my marines into the Rhinos, or they can start at the LR's? So the Rhinos may start the game empty -just as free units for a Tactical formation?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:37 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:24 pm
Posts: 9658
Location: Manalapan, FL
Pati, if I am reading you correctly, a Tactical formation with Land Raider upgrades then what happens is you mount full into the Land Raiders and any stands in the formation that cannot fit would then be provided Rhinos enough to transport the rest of the formation.

e.g.
Tactical (6 stands) + Land Raider upgrade = 2 Rhinos + LR

If you're meaning something else then please ignore :D

_________________
He's a lawyer and a super-villian. That's like having a shark with a bazooka!

-I HAVE NO POINT
-Penal Legion-Fan list
-Help me make Whitescars not suck!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 10:33 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
pati wrote:
Just a quaestion!

Maybe there's a better topic for it, maybe there were some questions like this, BUT:
-If I buy a Codex Marine Tactical Company, in Rhinos -and I buy 4 Land Raiders for them, as Heavy Support -Should i put my marines into the Rhinos, or they can start at the LR's? So the Rhinos may start the game empty -just as free units for a Tactical formation?


From the FAQ and the NetEA rule book just replace devastator with tactical,

Quote:
Q: Does the Land Raider upgrade available to the Devastator formation replace
that formation’s Rhinos? And if so how do you add Razorbacks to the
formation if they do?
A: A Devastator formation can be given up to four Land Raiders. However,
including Land Raiders in this way will mean that the number of free Rhinos
the formation will receive will be reduced to the minimum number needed
to carry any Devastator stands that can’t fit inside the LRs. Then, once the
number of Rhino’s needed for the formation is known, you may replace
each remaining Rhino with 1-2 Razorbacks.
To summarise:
1. Add any LRs to the formation.
2. Add enough Rhinos to carry any Devastators that won’t fit into the
LRs.
3. Convert any Rhinos to Razorbacks.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:43 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Pati, in E:A the intention is that formations should not have excess transport capacity. So when upgrading the transport (to LR in this case) they lose the equivalent Rhino transport capacity.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 374
Thanks, now it's clear! :)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:06 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 374
Hey, I have a second question! What if eldar banshees air assault in CC withRhinos, transporting 2 SM units -2 banshee/transport, get in CC before counter charge. What if they First Strike kills the Rhinos? The SM guys disembark? they are allowed to take part in the engagment in this way? They sholud roll for save when their transport is down?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:13 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:06 pm
Posts: 1234
Location: Westborough, Massachusetts USA
If the elder double up BtB on each rhino, the marines inside will be unable to disembark. Kill the rhinos and the SM inside will be reduced to a cover save of 6+ IIRC. Don't get caught like that inside transport;) however, if the eldar can't double up all the rhinos the sm will be able to disembark.

_________________
Let us playtest like the Greeks of old... You know the ones I mean


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:38 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 374
only 6+ cover save? Is it sure? They still have their 4+ power armour :)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:48 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
Anything inside a vehicle that's destroyed gets its armor save OR a 6+ cover save unless a crit says otherwise.

If two banshees end up on a rhino, they trap the marines inside it. If the Rhino is killed during a FS attack, the marines would get their CC or FF. Sucks to be Banshees.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:57 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:30 am
Posts: 1486
Location: Örebro, Sweden
pati wrote:
only 6+ cover save? Is it sure? They still have their 4+ power armour :)

Yeah they get their normal save unless the attack destroying the vehicle would have denied regular saves (e.g. MW/TK)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Transports
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 6:04 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:06 pm
Posts: 1234
Location: Westborough, Massachusetts USA
Oh, my mistake. Thought we had played it the 6+ way in the past. Maybe it was my IG in chimera I was thinking about

_________________
Let us playtest like the Greeks of old... You know the ones I mean


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net