This is the same argument that recurs regularly. To recap...
Quote:
Rule X says X.
Rule Y references Rule X for context, but Rule Y states Rule X slightly differently than the original text.
Rule Y constitutes a change to Rule X.
Generally speaking, that's not true.
It's the writing style for GW/Jervis to include paraphrases rather than to reproduce the rules with mechanical/legalistic precision. In the absence of an explicit note to the contrary, any difference in language should be considered a simple inconsistency in the paraphrase rather than a rule change.
To put this particular dispute in the context of GW's tendency to write rules colloquially, this is a 2-page argument over whether a
parenthetical summary in a different rule section changes the original rule.
For those that want something that more directly addresses this text:
1) 1.12.6 explains what constitutes being in a position to lend support, and undeniably includes range/LoS.
2) The range/LOS standard is used in multiple procedure throughout the game.
3) No exception to the range/LOS standard in the game is designated by anything other than a special rule which states explicitly that it is an exception.
That should be enough to make it obvious that the "within 15cm" in 1.12.8 is an off-hand, contextualizing clause and is simply imprecise rather than a rule change. However, if there is any remaining doubt about whether line of sight is supposed to apply, 1.12.8 itself even refers to seeing the loss in the very next sentence.
I don't think that leaves any doubt that the normal range/LoS condition is supposed to apply.
==
Edit: That sounded rather testy. Hope this toned it down.