Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

Intermingled question

 Post subject: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:07 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
This passage is written in the updated GW rules in the intermingled section.

If there are two or more formations within 5cm of the target formation, then the attacker can choose to include one or more of them as the target, he does not though have to include any of them.

The way this reads to me is that you have to have 2 formations (not just one) within 5cm of the target formation to actually be able to intermingle.

Shouldn't it read "two formations within 5cm of each other" instead? How I've always understood it you could intermingle assault if there's 1 other formation within 5cm.

Can someone please correct or clear this up for me? Thanks all.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:17 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 1:01 pm
Posts: 2518
Location: California
Always thought it was if another formation(Or More) was within 5cm of the Target formation then you can declare intermingled.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:29 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Agreed, but RAW seem otherwise here


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 3:10 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
You have to read all the 1.12.10 rule for working out what constitutes intermingling.
I have underlined the part that shows what constitutes intermingling.
Quote:
Occasionally an attacker will wish to attack a position where units from two enemy formations are intermingled
together. When a player declares the target for a charging formation he can choose, if he wishes, to include any enemy
formations that are intermingled with the target formation as being part of the target of the charge. Two formations are intermingled if they have any units within 5cm of each other. If there are two or more formations within 5cm of the target formation, then the attacker can choose to include one or more of them as the target, he does not though have to include any of them.


The section quoted earlier
Quote:
If there are two or more formations within 5cm of the target formation, then the attacker can choose to include one or more of them as the target, he does not though have to include any of them.


Is there to show players that if they want to intermingle formations it's not an all or nothing situation, they can choose which formations to add in or leave out of the assault.

As far as I can remember it was included to stop rules lawyers trying to force opponents to have to include all potentially intermingled formations if they claimed any at all.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:24 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Ahh ok I missed that sentence. Thanks 'dexys.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 12:09 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Still RAW it says that you can only declare intermingled if there are 2 formations within 5cm of the targeted formation. You don`t have to attack both additional formations too but you can declare one or both of the additional formations as intermingled.

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 12:25 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
BlackLegion wrote:
Still RAW it says that you can only declare intermingled if there are 2 formations within 5cm of the targeted formation.

No it doesn't; Read dptdexys's explanation. Dobbsy took a quote out of context, is all.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:46 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
AH ok. I understand now.
But there seems to be no limit about how many formations you can declare intermingled?

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:28 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
BlackLegion wrote:
AH ok. I understand now.
But there seems to be no limit about how many formations you can declare intermingled?


There is no limit, any number of enemy formations can be intermingled for an assault but to be included they have to be within 5cm of the target formation.

As an example,
pick an enemy formation to be assaulted and you are allowed to intermingle any other enemy formation (no limit to numbers)that has a unit within 5cm of them.
Quote:
Occasionally an attacker will wish to attack a position where units from two enemy formations are intermingled
together. When a player declares the target for a charging formation he can choose, if he wishes, to include any enemy
formations
that are intermingled with the target formation as being part of the target of the charge. Two formations are
intermingled if they have any units within 5cm of each other. If there are two or more formations within 5cm of the
target formation, then the attacker can choose to include one or more of them as the target, he does not though have to
include any of them.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:18 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
dptdexys wrote:
BlackLegion wrote:
AH ok. I understand now.
But there seems to be no limit about how many formations you can declare intermingled?


There is no limit, any number of enemy formations can be intermingled for an assault but to be included they have to be within 5cm of the target formation.

As an example,
pick an enemy formation to be assaulted and you are allowed to intermingle any other enemy formation (no limit to numbers)that has a unit within 5cm of them.

It's how I was able to win a game in ten minutes.

My opponent deployed with one Scout formation threaded throughout almost his entire army. I asked him to reconsider, explaining why the odds were about 50/50 of me breaking his army. He told me to stuff it.
I placed my Chaos Terminators in charge range, on one flank.
We diced for initiative. He spent five minutes laughing and (paraphrased) saying "Oooh, you're gonna break my whole army, are you?"
He activated his artillery. Failed. Rerolled. Failed.
I charged with the Chaos Terminators, intermingling all but two formations (one out of 5cm, one with an Inspiring Character I didn't want to include).
I won the engagement, wiping out one formation, crippling another, and breaking six more. He wanted to restart at that point.

I only spent five minutes being a dick to him about it. ;D

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:54 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
One mate of mine is still annoyed about "Rug" from the forums here intermingling him at a tournament, and it's been something like 3 years since they played that game.

Intermingling's funny. :-)

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intermingled question
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:45 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Almost all players learn very quickly the down sides of unintentionally intermigling their formations. It's very,very rare players get caught out after the first couple of times of being on the recieving end.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net