Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Ork Warlord and Leader ability question

 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:32 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1077
Location: surrey uk
An Ork Warlord is a Supreme Commander. This gives him the re-roll, commander and leader abilities.

If the Warlord is added to a stand of Nobz, does this give the Nobz leader twice? in other words, can that stand remove two blast markers instead of one?

_________________
[url=http://tinyurl.com/bott2015][img]http://i62.tinypic.com/205fcow.jpg[/img][/url]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:33 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
Pretty sure this was discussed a year ago and the answer was it doesn't stack so only one extra bm removed.

From the 2008 FAQ
Quote: 


2.1.8 Leaders
Q: When you Rally (1.14.1) do you
remove one Blast Marker per unit with
the Leader ability or can you only
remove one Blast Marker in total
regardless of the number of units in
the formation that have the Leader
ability?
A: You can remove one Blast Marker for
every unit in the formation that has the
Leader ability.






Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:34 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:32 pm
Posts: 4893
Location: North Yorkshire
Bingo.

_________________
_________________
www.epic-uk.co.uk - home of the UK Epic tournament scene
NetEA NetERC Xenos Lists Chair
NetEA Ork + Feral Ork + Speed Freak Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:55 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
It's in the official FAQ, I believe.  Special abilities do not stack.

Most obviously don't stack simply by their nature and at least one that could possibly have stacked was already determined not to (Inspiring).

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:56 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1077
Location: surrey uk
to be fair, that's they why I've played it so far, though

Quote: 

2.1.8 Leaders
Some units or characters are noted as being leaders. A
formation that includes any leaders may remove one extra
Blast marker for each leader whenever it regroups or
successfully rallies.


(my emphisis)

So a stand of nobs is a leader and a warlord is a leader. 2 x leader.

The faq answers the question in terms of units with leaders, asking:

is it 1 or more units with leader = 1 BM or 1 BM per unit with leader?

and doesn't ask:

is it 1 or more leaders = 1 BM or 1BM per leader?

Just debating though - I'm quite happy to accept that characters can't stack abilities onto a unit.

_________________
[url=http://tinyurl.com/bott2015][img]http://i62.tinypic.com/205fcow.jpg[/img][/url]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:58 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1077
Location: surrey uk
Quote: (nealhunt @ Nov. 12 2009, 13:55 )

It's in the official FAQ, I believe.  Special abilities do not stack.

Most obviously don't stack simply by their nature and at least one that could possibly have stacked was already determined not to (Inspiring).

yeah, inspiring uses the word unit

_________________
[url=http://tinyurl.com/bott2015][img]http://i62.tinypic.com/205fcow.jpg[/img][/url]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:07 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 11:52 am
Posts: 3078
Location: Bristol, UK
I'd go with a No i'm afraid Al...another reason to always take a gargant...(says the man without a gargant!)

_________________
MoK's Painting Blog
Now Showing:
Mok's Modular Modern Messy Guard Army


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:12 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1077
Location: surrey uk
Well, I don't think you always have to go with a gargant (I think Joe has shown that)
but the benefits are clear yes

_________________
[url=http://tinyurl.com/bott2015][img]http://i62.tinypic.com/205fcow.jpg[/img][/url]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:21 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
Quote: (alansa @ Nov. 12 2009, 13:58 )

Quote: (nealhunt @ Nov. 12 2009, 13:55 )

It's in the official FAQ, I believe.  Special abilities do not stack.

Most obviously don't stack simply by their nature and at least one that could possibly have stacked was already determined not to (Inspiring).

yeah, inspiring uses the word unit

The FAQ regarding leaders uses the word unit too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1077
Location: surrey uk
Quote: (Mephiston @ Nov. 12 2009, 14:21 )

Quote: (alansa @ Nov. 12 2009, 13:58 )

Quote: (nealhunt @ Nov. 12 2009, 13:55 )

It's in the official FAQ, I believe.  Special abilities do not stack.

Most obviously don't stack simply by their nature and at least one that could possibly have stacked was already determined not to (Inspiring).

yeah, inspiring uses the word unit

The FAQ regarding leaders uses the word unit too.

Yeah, but the original wording for Leader doesn't. The FAQ question and answer are written in terms that assume only one leader per unit and don't consider the possibility of stacking - And therefore do not address that question.

To fix you'd need to errata the original leader rule.

I'm getting real pedantic here?

_________________
[url=http://tinyurl.com/bott2015][img]http://i62.tinypic.com/205fcow.jpg[/img][/url]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:21 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Edit:  Hena beat me to it.  Sorry I didn't quote the exact FAQ in my original response.




_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:29 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1077
Location: surrey uk
Ah - nice one hena

_________________
[url=http://tinyurl.com/bott2015][img]http://i62.tinypic.com/205fcow.jpg[/img][/url]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Ork Warlord and Leader ability question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:51 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1077
Location: surrey uk
Quote: (Rug @ Nov. 12 2009, 16:24 )

Quote: (Man of kent @ Nov. 12 2009, 14:07 )

I'd go with a No i'm afraid Al...another reason to always take a gargant...(says the man without a gargant!)

The other option is not to take any Nobs........ & add your Warlord to ANYTHING! Mwahahahaaaa!

Suppa Stompa could work?

yeah - supastompa would well benefit from a warlord

_________________
[url=http://tinyurl.com/bott2015][img]http://i62.tinypic.com/205fcow.jpg[/img][/url]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net