Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 153 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next

Assault question

 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:13 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 149
*cough*

Okay, to recap:
B1 charges A
B2 is nearer to A
A countercharges towards B2 and ends out of range of B1.

Solutions proposed:
Assault doesn't happen (wasted activation).
Go straight to assault resolution.

There's a hitch with this second one. If you do that, you're assuming the assault takes place, the attackers fire their 0 shots, the defenders fire their 0 shots.

Then B2 should have supporting fire before assault resolution.

With that applied, I'd still be inclined to go for the first option (assault never happens, B1 end up looking like plonkers) but if my opponent felt strongly about it I'd be happy to play it the other way.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 149
No, I'm saying if we go to assault resolution as tneva82 is arguing we should (considering it as a normal assault with 0 shots fired from each side) then the supporting fire should still take place.

Thinking about this more, that actually seems* to work fairly well:
Your squad gets trapped, one formation behind you and another charging at you, guns blazing. You can run away into the guns of B2, or you can stand and fight.

I do like the commander idea, incidentally.



*Yes, I know that doesn't mean it will


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:39 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
There would be no supporting fire to take place. Units can only support fire if they're in range of a directly engaged enemy unit. Since there are no directly engaged units at all there would be no supporting fire.

That's academic anyway, as the assault wouldn't take place at all.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:41 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 606
Quote: (old_gamer @ 05 Aug. 2009, 15:36 )

No, I'm saying if we go to assault resolution as tneva82 is arguing we should (considering it as a normal assault with 0 shots fired from each side) then the supporting fire should still take place.

Well technically it happens but there's no legal target for supporting fire so support fire is fired.




_________________
www.tneva.net


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:13 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Quote: (tneva82 @ 05 Aug. 2009, 14:52 )

So defenders actually get some chances rather than having to face assault with everything going in favour of attackers. Shock horror that game might be actually BALANCED? That's something that can't be done right?

Making it virtually impossible to assault is not balancing.

In real life assaulting is hard and generally requires more strenght than defending.


Yep.  About 2-3x.

In epic reverse is true as every advantage attackers have gives them advantage that in would in line up and fight be translated to HUGE modifiers.

I think this is the big disconnect.  You seem to be looking solely at the units involved in the assault as the amount of assets deployed, but that is not the case.  Factor in support fire, feints and delaying or stalling actions and the amount of assets required by the attacker to set up a strong assault can be much larger than those engaging and supporting.

As it is assaulting is unrealistically easy as it only requires token force compared to defending force to break it.

Your experience at Ropecon had less to do with the assault rules and more to do with the fact that you were out-activated almost 2:1.  With rpr's ability to stall then start with a first-of-turn activation due to strategy, he could probably activation nearly 3/4 of his army straight through.  With that kind of disparity, you only had a slim chance regardless of the assault rules.

It's the activation disparity that allowed rpr to set up assaults with such precision, not the assault rules themselves.  If the activation count had been similar, you would have had plenty of opportunity to counter his actions.  It's also clear from both your and rpr's reports that your position amplified his ability to use overwhelming activations to their greatest advantage.

That's not proof that under normal circumstances token assaults will roam around the board crushing formations.

In epic reverse is true as every advantage attackers have gives them advantage that in would in line up and fight be translated to HUGE modifiers. Currently assault is so lopsided in favour of attacker that it's not even funny.
...
As it is assaulting is unrealistically easy as it only requires token force compared to defending force to break it. This atleast provides some balance back.

Again, you're not giving credit to everything else that went into that "token" force doing its assault. What does it take for the attacker to build all those advantages to make it lopsided?  Prep fire, avoiding prep fire on the assaulting formation, setting up support, preventing your support from being hit before the assault, and an assault formation of sufficient size to hit the target with enough firepower to work.

Against rpr you got totaled, because he had so many spare activations that he could do all that setup unopposed.  That allowed him to maximize all his setup effect in a way impossible under more normal circumstances.

Have you actually tried this in practice or is this just useless theory-epic? We have played with this for over FOUR YEARS and haven't ran into any problems.

I've played it for years and only rarely had any problem with the results.

As I recall, you have a history of making up rules which gives you the advantage of always playing things as intended and never having to explain in a concise fashion to anyone else what that intent is.  Since I found a way to abuse your proposition in about 30 seconds and you've never had a problem, you clearly didn't explain your actual process.

THAT's the problem with "just fixing the counter charge rules."  Sure, you can whip out a concept that seems fair and reasonable as long as everyone understands it.  The real effort is in explaining it so that others can actually understand it.  In practice, there are lots of hidden assumptions and decision trees involved in supposedly simple concepts.

I suspect that's the reason you didn't address any of my points that would require you to elaborate on how your rules proposal actually works.

==

BTW destroyed for being out of coherency happens after movement during ACTION. They don't happen middle of assault.

Not true.  Charge and countercharge moves follow all the normal movement rules from 1.7 unless specifically stated otherwise.  From 1.12.4:
All the normal charge move rules
apply, and defending formations must still be in a legal
formation after the counter charge moves have been
made (ie, all units must be within 5cm of another unit
from their formation).
Ending out of formation after either kind of move is covered by 1.7.4.

So to what out of coherency destruction you are refering to anyway? That's assuming you can find some rule that says you can voluntarily move outside coherency in a first place.

I understand this is probably extremely confusing to a non-native English speaker.  You'll notice several places in the rules where they say you "must" do something, and then go on to explain what happens if you do not.  That use of an imperative linked to an exception is an idiomatic construction.  It does not mean literally "anything outside this imperative is not allowed" but rather "anything else has the following consequences."

You can voluntarily move out of coherency.  The consequences for doing so are detailed in 1.7.4.

Quick check of rulebook refers to finding yourself out of coherency due to enemy fire or assaults. Nothing about moving.

Again, not true.  The only time you are destroyed as an effect of being out of formation is after a move.  You never check for being out of formation due to enemy fire or assault damage.  You are only required to move back into coherency in your next move, at which time the normal move-based coherency requirements and penalties are applied.




_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:19 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Rug:  Okay.  I understand what you're saying.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:29 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 04 Aug. 2009, 12:16 )

I did as well, and was going to post it as evidence, until I read a little 'deeper'.

There is an actual rule for 'charge move' that is seperate from Make Charge Moves.

A formation undertaking an engage action is allowed to make one move (not a double distance move as is the case in many sets of wargame rules, not least many Games Workshop games), and then fights an assault against the enemy formation that was chosen as the target of the charge. This move is known as the charge move.

Make the move normally, as described in the movement rules given previously. Once the move is complete, the engaging formation must have at least one unit within 15cms of a unit from the target formation.


The italicized section is actually in the rules, and would be hard to argue that there isn't a difference between the rules of the entire section, and the rules of a 'charge move'.

Just FAQ it, and be done with it, IMO.

Morgan Vening

If you read more of the rule for Charge Move it does cover the assault not taking place if there are no models in 15cm.

I still think this covers counter charges out of 15cm cancels the assault.

There are other parts to the rule which should be trumped by 1.12.4 (such as not entering the ZofC of a unit that is not the target of the assault) but we could still do with an FAQ to clarify.

1.12.3 Make Charge Move
A formation undertaking an engage action is allowed to
make one move (not a double distance move as is the
case in many sets of wargame rules, not least many Games
Workshop games), and then fights an assault against the
enemy formation that was chosen as the target of the
charge. This move is known as the charge move.
Make the move normally, as described in the movement
rules given previously. Once the move is complete, the
engaging formation must have at least one unit within
15cms of a unit from the target formation. If this is not
the case then the assault does not take place and the
action ends
. This caveat aside, units from the charging
formation may move in any direction and do not have to
head towards the enemy.

Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:57 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
There are several parts to assaults that can be perceived as unfair.
- The direction of counter-charges, which can 'pin' defending units
- The way that supports do not suffer damage.
- The way that the assault is limited, which tends to favour the attacker (naturally).

Spit-balling a little, I did wonder whether it was worth allowing the defender to increase the area of assault, and also perhaps allowing each participant to choose to allocate some hits to enemy supports (the assault resolution is still determined by the original attacking and defending formations).

The modifications might look like this:-
1) the attacker activates and charges under the current rules

2) the defender countercharges under the current rules

3) the defender may choose to increase the area of the assault by adding some or all units that are outside the the assault range of the attacker but within 15 cm of any other enemy unit. This makes these units eligible targets for enemy support fire under the usual rules

4) The attacker and defender may elect to split their fire, allocating up to half of their dice to enemy supports as follows:-
a) First the defending formation sets aside up to half of it's dice for shooting at enemy supports, then the attacker sets aside up to half of its dice

5) Attacker and defender exchange fire under the current rules, but potentially with fewer dice

6) If the assault continues, the attacker and defender exchange fire with the supports. Any hits on Supporting formations are handled under the normal shooting rules. Note to allocate dice to any target, one or more assaulting units need to be in range (15cm) and LoS as usual.

7) Assault resolution is performed as usual, considering the factors and hits relevant to the attacking and defending formations as usual.


The point of this is to allow the defender a little more control over the assault (or requires the attacker to be a little more cautious). More importantly, it may make the assault mechanism more acceptable. In practice, I have a suspicion that the defender may not take advantage of these options in the end, though being able to damage supports as you are overrun may have its appeal :p .

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Ginger @ 05 Aug. 2009, 20:57 )

3) the defender may choose to increase the area of the assault by adding some or all units that are outside the the assault range of the attacker but within 15 cm of any other enemy unit. This makes these units eligible targets for enemy support fire under the usual rules

I think this step, essentially the "dragging in" of nearby enemy support formations might be better represented by getting enemy units within the counter-charging units' Zones of Control; in which case you could firefight them if you're not in base or close combat them if they are.  

If you make it 15cm, it makes it far more risky to setup support fire.

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:31 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Yes the intention is to drag enemy units in 15cm into the fight. But note these are specifically those units that are not currently fighting. Effectively this allows the defender to fight these other units at the risk of suffering additional hits (detrimentally affecting their assault resolution). We would need to make it clear that the defender cannot use these additional dice to bolster the assault against the attacker, they would have to be used against the relevant enemy supports. For example

AAA                                    
AAA <---10cm---> D D D D D D D <5cm> SS
AAA                                    

Here, the 'token' support used to pin the defenders could be engaged by the bulk of the defenders (who cannot get into range of the attackers), with a resonable chance of killing them off. However, if the supports were a significant size, the defenders might decide to decline this. Indeed, if they fell the assault is a lost cause, they may just decide to go out in a blaze of glory by taking as many enemy with them as they can.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:43 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:02 pm
Posts: 916
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
6) If the assault continues, the attacker and defender exchange fire with the supports. Any hits on Supporting formations are handled under the normal shooting rules. Note to allocate dice to any target, one or more assaulting units need to be in range (15cm) and LoS as usual.


Might need to be careful with that kind of effect.  I could envisage "doomed" formations (ones surrounded and getting assaulted) acting as little BM bombs, where they use this effect to scatter BMs "for coming under fire" to all the surrounding formations.

And if they were fearless it could happen a few times I guess.  Assault, BM bomb, loose but dont move, Assault BM bomb..

I do think its worth discussing slight changes to the assault rules, as I have also had "issues of aligning game mechanics with imagined representations" with some assault rules.

Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:54 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Good spot Clauswitz. I was trying to make it clear that these hits on the supports did not contribute to the assault resolution.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:03 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:02 pm
Posts: 916
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
I think you'd also want to make very clear that they are not making a shooting attack against the supporting enemy but a single FF attack (well unless they have multiple FF attacks).  E.g. a Leman Russ would make its sibgle 4+ FF attack not unload its Battlecannon, Las Cannon and Heavy Bolters!

I understand that you haven't said that, but it should be very clear.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 153 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net