Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Rules question - Rolling for criticals

 Post subject: Rules question - Rolling for criticals
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:12 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
Following on from another thread.

My Shadowsword takes 5 points of unsaved damage, having already taken 1 point of damage in a previous turn.

Do we roll for 2 criticals, or 5?

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules question - Rolling for criticals
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:10 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
No idea. I would assume it's 5. There doesn't seem to be any reference to 'max capacity'.

My concern is those units that get a random movement. If a Warhound cops two criticals from the same firing action, does it stagger twice?

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules question - Rolling for criticals
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 8:57 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Quote: (The_Real_Chris @ 02 Aug. 2009, 04:12 )

Following on from another thread.

My Shadowsword takes 5 points of unsaved damage, having already taken 1 point of damage in a previous turn.

Do we roll for 2 criticals, or 5?

You would roll for 2 criticals.

FAQ
Q: In the rulebook in section 3.2.3 it
says to roll for a Critical Hit for every
hit made on a War Engine. Do you
actually roll of each hit or for each
point of damage that the WE takes?
A: Roll for a Critical Hit for each point of
damage
not for each hit. Only damage to a
we can potentially cause a Critical Hit, not
just hitting the War Engine with fire.




Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules question - Rolling for criticals
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:41 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
...Only damage to a
we can potentially cause a Critical Hit, not
just hitting the War Engine with fire.


Sounds to me that you don't roll for criticals for saved hits. But if a Shadowsword takes 5 hits and don`t save anything then it has to roll 5 times for ciritcal hits.




_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules question - Rolling for criticals
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:50 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Quote: (BlackLegion @ 02 Aug. 2009, 09:41 )

Sounds to me that you don't roll for criticals for saved hits. But if a Shadowsword takes 5 hits and don`t save anything then it has to roll 5 times for ciritcal hits.

But it only takes 3 points of damage not 5 despite how many failed saves it makes it can only take 3 points of damage.

The mention of hits is in regards to the rulebook at 3.2.3 misrepresenting hits as failed armour saves and being misleading.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules question - Rolling for criticals
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:22 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
FAQs are not reviewed and parsed out carefully like rules are.  Also, they are written in response to a specific question.  That particular FAQ was a response to the critical hit rules which confuse "hits" and "damage" in their text.  It was intended to clarify whether a WE had to roll for every hit, or only those that caused damage.  It doesn't address this question.

I think it can be done either way.

Personally, I'd go with 5, as the WE did actually suffer 5 unsaved hits, each of which did a theoretical point of damage.


Plus, if you're hitting it with that much damage, you should have a pretty good chance of getting a huge explosion.   :p

It's just the Ork in me, baby...
Dakka Dakka Dakka Yippee Yo Yippee Yay
Dakka Dakka Yippee Yo Yippee Yay

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules question - Rolling for criticals
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:16 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
I'm with Neal. It's not clear one way or the other, so go with the most cinematic version, i.e. the version with the highest chance of stuff exploding.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules question - Rolling for criticals
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:28 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
I've always played with 'dc lost' number of critical hit attempts, although I can see the funny in allowing more than that.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net