Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Activations, ones and other questions

 Post subject: Activations, ones and other questions
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:35 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:40 pm
Posts: 520
1) The rulebook stablishes that a roll of 1 is always a miss, but i have read passages stating that this is not true regarding activations (so, an space marine formation with 1+ activation will not need to check for activations until it gets BMs). Which rule is true????

2) When a formation is being transported inside another formation (typically a war engine), and it is attacked, does the formation inside get any BM? If the transporting unit is broken, does the transported unit become broken?

3) If a formation is the objective of a barrage, but the templates also get to encompass units from another formation, will the other formation get BMs as the target formation (i.e., one for being shoot at, another one for every casualty + any extra BM caused by the barrage)?





_________________
"It would be most ilogical if i let you kick my ass"
-Spork, son of Spoon son of Fork


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Activations, ones and other questions
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:00 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
1 -

A roll of a '1' is always a failure... except if you're making an Activation roll.

Then, Marines (with their standard 1+) will always pass, and Orks making an Engage move will also auto-pass (They get +2 to their dice roll when Engaging).



2 -

If it's a seperate formation, then no.



3 -

The second formation takes BM's as if it were being targetted independently (Thus, a BM for being shot at, plus anything for kills that occur in that formation, etc).

BM's are not shared between the two targetted formations.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Activations, ones and other questions
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:31 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK

(Yuber Okami @ Oct. 02 2007,08:35)
QUOTE
1) The rulebook stablishes that a roll of 1 is always a miss, but i have read passages stating that this is not true regarding activations (so, an space marine formation with 1+ activation will not need to check for activations until it gets BMs). Which rule is true????
As E&C says - check out the last sentence under 1.0.1 "dice" on page 9 of the rule book.

2) When a formation is being transported inside another formation (typically a war engine), and it is attacked, does the formation inside get any BM? If the transporting unit is broken, does the transported unit become broken?
A similar discussion was held on the SG Boards here.

In Summary:-
- The transported formation is considered to be part of the WE formation while it is inside or as it emerges as part of an assault.
- They will be trapped inside if the enemy assaults and gets twice the DC value in units into B-B with the transport (so 4x enemy will "lock down" a ThunderHawk).
- Units inside transports cannot shoot or fight during an assault unless the transport datafax specifies otherwise.
- In the assault resolution, the trapped formation (and any inspiring characters) are still counted (so the Thunderhawk and transported formation could be 10 strong).
- If they lose the assault, then the transport and the formation inside are both broken, and both may be subject to 'hackdown' hits.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Activations, ones and other questions
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:52 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Good point about Engagements.

I was more thinking about what happens when a WE is broken at range.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Activations, ones and other questions
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 1:57 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
I believe the answer is the same. So a DC3 WE that is transporting another formation of 8 units counts as a 11 unit formation for all purposes. If several enemy formations fire on it, it is quite possible that it would suffer one hit, and have four BMs - but it would not break until the other formation disembarked. There is a significant risk here that the WE is destroyed while containing a separate formation, at which point each unit must then make a saving throw, and obviously a number of units may well perish as a result.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net