RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? |
ragnarok
|
Post subject: RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:58 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 2:43 pm Posts: 2084 Location: Reading, England
|
Originally by hena:Well formations are redefined at the start of the turn, so I wouldn't worry about bugs leaving nodes. If they aren't near synapse at the start of the turn, they are removed from table anyways. Synapse don't vanish until killed.
The problem is that at the end of the move the hive node (esp LHNs) can be out of formatin and it then destroyed according to rule 1.7.4. Unless I've missed a nid rule that states you can do this.
_________________ Tyranid air marshal
|
|
Top |
|
 |
ragnarok
|
Post subject: RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 10:02 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 2:43 pm Posts: 2084 Location: Reading, England
|
Well any unit 'nid or otherwise can start out of formation, normally due to casulties. I think the nid ersion is to represent a swarm picking up extra if they beome closer to one synpase formation than its aprent. For example you could have a swarm 15cm from its original synapse but only 14 from a new one. It would join the new one even if there are no other swarm units between the two.
_________________ Tyranid air marshal
|
|
Top |
|
 |
ferrumvir
|
Post subject: RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 10:17 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:50 pm Posts: 50 Location: Nottingham, England
|
Quote (ragnarok @ 20 Oct. 2005 (08:58)) | The problem is that at the end of the move the hive node (esp LHNs) can be out of formatin and it then destroyed according to rule 1.7.4. ?Unless I've missed a nid rule that states you can do this. | I've always played it - that when you move you have to maintain coherency.
Therefore when a SNG/L and it broods perform a move they have to remain in coherency. This means that you get a "speach bubble" effect. The bulk of the Brood moves off and there is a trail leading back to the SN.
Exactly the same happens when you assault, the Hormagaunsts and Gargoyles vanish into the distance leaving the TH/TW trailing behind, with a few units spaced to bridge the gap.
That's how I've been playing it. I stand to be corrected.
In short: They must be in coherency after any move (like other formations), they must attempt to maintain coherency from casualties (like other formation). If coherency is broken during an enemy action out of coherency units remain on the board (lile other formations). The difference is, at the beggining of next turn extra units will be taken off because they are out of Synapse. They don't even have to be in coherencey at start of the turn to stay - Just in Syanapse, then during their activation moved back into coherency or lost.
Okay then... In long
I see no inconsistency in the rules. It might be possible to word them more clearly though.
----------------------------------------------------------
On the TW and the coherency of their 3 stands: Having read what JJ ment (thanks Jaldon and Markconz), I have to say that this definitely needs clarification in the next revision.
----------------------------------------------------------
An idea (possibly a bad one) I had was that TW did not need to maintain coherency... BUT the synapse range was based on how many TW were in coherency.
3 in coherency - 15cm 2 in coherency - 10cm 1 alone - 5cm
So you could have three 5cm radius clumps of Broods with the broods maintaining coherency. etc... Anyway have a look at the attached file. Note: this means that the Synapse reduces as you lose warrior stands.
Cheers Scott
_________________ Tyranids 5.40B - (w/d/l) 5/2/2
|
|
Top |
|
 |