Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Question about air assaults

 Post subject: Question about air assaults
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2016 6:23 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 1:40 pm
Posts: 25
I am going to try out a chaos army and I have a question regarding air assaults. I have a formation with infantry with deamonic pact transported in a Thunderhawk. I understand that I cannot summon my daemons doing an air assault command since the daemons are summoned in the beginning of the movement phase.

But is there anything stopping me from landing with my TH, unloading the troops and shooting at my target with the TH, retaining and THEN summon daemons and assaulting the target? That seems pretty powerful.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about air assaults
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:38 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6305
Location: Leicester UK
if you check the rules for war engines it states that a unit may not perform any action after being disembarked although they may shoot or engage with the war engine, so if you disembark troops, you may not then activate them later in the turn

_________________
NetEA Space Marine, Imperial Fists and Blood Angels Army Champion

NetEA Red Corsairs Army Champion

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about air assaults
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:44 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1960
Location: South Yorkshire
JohanJ wrote:

But is there anything stopping me from landing with my TH, unloading the troops and shooting at my target with the TH, retaining and THEN summon daemons and assaulting the target? That seems pretty powerful.


From 4.2.5
Quote:
After embarking or disembarking any units, the aircraft may carry out its ground attack. Note that the limitations that apply to units disembarking from a war engine transport vehicle also apply to units disembarking from an aircraft (ie, they can’t take an action on the turn they disembark but can shoot with the aircraft – see 3.1.3)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about air assaults
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:42 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5467
Location: London, UK
Agreed with the others. The only way you can do something like this is to planetfall. This requires plotting which obviously depends greatly on anticipation and luck. The spacecraft would activate, dropping the Air-transport and the contents disembark. Later in the turn the contents can activate, summoning daemons beforehand etc.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron

Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net