Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Cover save in assault and counter-charges

 Post subject: Cover save in assault and counter-charges
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:11 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:35 pm
Posts: 22
Hello guys,
today I'm a bit on counter-charges... per rules they seem really straightforward, but here's some little questions about cover.

Normally, in an assault, infantry in cover terrain can use cover saves, but the attacker does not. This reflects the fact that attackers need to expose themselves, while static units in a defensive position can try to get the best from that.

So the questions are:

1. What about infantry units that counter-charge? Let's assume that they begin and end their movement in cover terrain: will they lose the cover save? I think they should, since by counter-charging they put themselves in the same conditions of the attacker.
2. What about a formation in cover that was dragged in by an enemy counter-charge from a nearby assault: will its units get a cover save? Or won't they, since for the rest of the assault the formation is going to be considered one with the one that started the assault?

Slightly unrelated, silly revision proposal (I did not want to open a further thread just for this):

The rules about cover in assault refer exclusively to infantry units: I guess this is because they were written before the introduction of special cover terrains (eg., gun emplacements) that give a cover save to vehicles. In this case I would say that the rule should be re-phrased to "any unit that can get a cover save".


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cover save in assault and counter-charges
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:35 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 379
Location: London
RAW
1) they keep the cover save (defenders get cover saves, countercharge does not change this)
2) they don't get a cover save (attackers don't get cover saves, such formations are treated as attackers)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cover save in assault and counter-charges
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:35 pm
Posts: 22
Got it. It is one of those KISS things, I guess...
Thanks by the way


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cover save in assault and counter-charges
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:05 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:24 pm
Posts: 8930
Location: Manalapan, FL
Feel free to house rule it. Also, nothing stops scenario specific rules, terrain, or units.

_________________
He's a lawyer and a super-villian. That's like having a shark with a bazooka!

-I HAVE NO POINT
-Penal Legion-Fan list
-Help me make Whitescars not suck!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron

Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net