Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

8 stands of Assault Marines in a Thawk....

 Post subject: 8 stands of Assault Marines in a Thawk....
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 11:23 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:25 pm
Posts: 483
Location: Scotland, UK
Quick question, I have a Thawk loaded with 2 detachments of Assault marines. One of the detachments has a character with the commander ability. When the Thawk does an air assault can I unload both the detachments of Assault Marines and use the commander ability to straight away do a combined engagement? So in essence I would have 8 stands of marines, plus the FF from the Thawk?

And if I can, can I declare intermingled and drag more than one enemy formation into it?

Apologies if these are obvious question!

_________________
Walk softly. And carry a big gun.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 8 stands of Assault Marines in a Thawk....
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 11:32 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:39 am
Posts: 1097
Location: Alleroed, Denmark
Berkut666 wrote:
Quick question, I have a Thawk loaded with 2 detachments of Assault marines. One of the detachments has a character with the commander ability. When the Thawk does an air assault can I unload both the detachments of Assault Marines and use the commander ability to straight away do a combined engagement?

It is always a combined engagement:
http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/tournament-pack/ section 4.2.5 wrote:
Air Assault
Transport aircraft may choose to land as described above, and then it and any units that disembark are allowed to fight an assault instead of shooting. If this option is chosen then the aircraft and any units that disembark may enter enemy zones of control as if they were charging. The aircraft and any units that disembark are treated as a single formation for the duration of the assault, in the same manner as units disembarking from a war engine taking an engage action (see 3.1.3). If the aircraft loses the assault it is destroyed, but any units that have disembarked may withdraw normally.


Berkut666 wrote:
So in essence I would have 8 stands of marines, plus the FF from the Thawk?

Yes.
Berkut666 wrote:
And if I can, can I declare intermingled and drag more than one enemy formation into it?

Yes, as per 1.2.10.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 8 stands of Assault Marines in a Thawk....
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 11:46 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5467
Location: London, UK
As Speaker says, an air assault is always a combined assault depending on the air transport activation. However, having the Commander in one formation (and preferably a Chaplain in the other) means that you can perform a combined assault after planetfalling as well.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 8 stands of Assault Marines in a Thawk....
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 11:48 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:25 pm
Posts: 483
Location: Scotland, UK
Perfect thanks guys.

_________________
Walk softly. And carry a big gun.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net