Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

NetEA FAQ errors/typos

 Post subject: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:10 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8768
Location: Worcester, MA
A little bit of background. At the start of the year I asked Onyx with some help going through and cleaning up/reorganizing the FAQ, so a big thank you to Onyx. Basically, the idea was to:

  • Remove Q&As answered directly in the rules (no more "Does a formation receive a Blast marker for coming under fire?" questions).
  • Make Q&As as generic as possible.
  • Try to reduce Q&As to yes/no answers.

The result was this: NetEA FAQ

Now, I have to say that I had a much heavier hand when it came to removing Q&As (so don't blame Onyx). To that end...

If you think a deleted FAQ needs back in, bring it up (keep in mind though it just might have been moved).
If you think a FAQ needs to be somewhere else, bring it up.
And if you find any errors/typos in the FAQ, post here.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:54 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
I've seen a few possible issues but I'll have more time later.
Thanks mate!

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:59 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:32 pm
Posts: 4835
Location: North Yorkshire
I think 1.9 has been misconstrued - surely this is talking about situations where you have slow firing of one-shot weapons which you might want to save for a subsequent turn.

1.12 Do assaults occur when an neither player takes an engage action?

_________________
_________________
www.epic-uk.co.uk - home of the UK Epic tournament scene
NetEA NetERC Xenos Lists Chair
NetEA Ork + Feral Ork + Speed Freak Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:52 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 3:12 pm
Posts: 826
Quote:
6.1.6

Q. When is it decided how formations in reserve will enter play?
A. The means by which a formation will be entering play must be
declared when forces are being selected (
Forces
)


Do you really mean that you have to decided if your Terminators are going to teleport when selecting your list? Surely this is a decision that is taken at the gaming table while formations are placed in reserve?

_________________
@MephistonAG for all sorts of twitter madness


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:37 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2478
Location: UK
MephistonAG wrote:
Quote:
6.1.6

Q. When is it decided how formations in reserve will enter play?
A. The means by which a formation will be entering play must be
declared when forces are being selected (
Forces
)


Do you really mean that you have to decided if your Terminators are going to teleport when selecting your list? Surely this is a decision that is taken at the gaming table while formations are placed in reserve?

Isn't it also not what the rulebook says? I thought the GT scenario essentially says that you keep deploying formations, and any you don't deploy are in reserve? So technically you don't have to tell your opponent until the end of your deployment?

Obv for marines it is different, there is a specific wording in the list special rule right?

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:22 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8768
Location: Worcester, MA
Hmmm, ya not sure what I was thinking there, this better?

Quote:
Q. When is it decided how formations in reserve will enter play?
A. The means by which a formation will be entering play must be declared when they are declared to be in reserve.


re: Kyrt's first point, do we need though if the rulebook says:

Quote:
Units kept in reserve must either aircraft, or be going to enter play in a transport aircraft or by teleportation.


Kyrt, you declare in reserve first though.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:24 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 3:12 pm
Posts: 826
Cheers Dave, that's how I've always seen it interpreted.

_________________
@MephistonAG for all sorts of twitter madness


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:28 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8768
Location: Worcester, MA
Tiny-Tim wrote:
I think 1.9 has been misconstrued - surely this is talking about situations where you have slow firing of one-shot weapons which you might want to save for a subsequent turn.


Ah, I misread that. Thought it was "later in the turn". Since this question has more to do with slow firing (where there's an FAQ that's answering it already) we can either drop it, or change it to:

Quote:
Q: Can you withhold fire for later in the turn?
No. A unit either fires when its formation activates with an action that allows it to shoot or forfeits its right to shoot. You do not have to


Thoughts?

Quote:
1.12 Do assaults occur when an neither player takes an engage action?


Got it.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:43 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2478
Location: UK
Dave wrote:
Hmmm, ya not sure what I was thinking there, this better?

Quote:
Q. When is it decided how formations in reserve will enter play?
A. The means by which a formation will be entering play must be declared when they are declared to be in reserve.


re: Kyrt's first point, do we need though if the rulebook says:

Quote:
Units kept in reserve must either aircraft, or be going to enter play in a transport aircraft or by teleportation.


Kyrt, you declare in reserve first though.

Indeed this is how I've always played it myself but the rulebook doesn't actually say that:

Rulebook wrote:
6.1.6 Set-up Remaining Formations

All of the remaining formations in the players’ armies must be set up within 15cms of their own side’s table edge or be kept back ‘in reserve’. The players take it in turn to set up these formations one at a time, starting with the player with the higher strategy rating.

Units kept in reserve must either be aircraft, or be going to enter play in a transport aircraft or by teleportation. Reserve formations entering play in aircraft or by teleportation should be placed aside with units that will enter play via planetfall. These formations are not ‘secret’ and your opponent may inspect them at any time.


Note that taken literally, there is no difference between an on-table formation and a reserve one in terms of the timeline. It just says you have to either place a formation on the board or keep it in reserve, and you take it in turns to do it.

However I normally just ask my opponent if he wants to know how things are deployed at the very beginning as I feel like that's more natural, but technically you can still count it like I am "setting them up" as my last formations, except I've already told him how I will do it. If my opponent doesn't want to tell me at the beginning then that's fine. Things can get a bit wonky if they want their first declaration to be "this thunderhawk will be in reserve" - that's why I don't think the rulebook makes sense.

I'd be happy for the FAQ to say when you do it, e.g. after objectives but before garrisons?? Taking it in turns?

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Dave wrote:
Quote:
Units kept in reserve must either aircraft, or be going to enter play in a transport aircraft or by teleportation.



Am I reading this wrong, or should it read "must either be aircraft..."


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:52 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8768
Location: Worcester, MA
Nope, be is missing.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:47 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5304
Location: Bristol
Dave wrote:
Now, I have to say that I had a much heavier hand when it came to removing Q&As (so don't blame Onyx).

Good call with this! FAQs that clarify unclear rules are helpful but the old TP had some questions asking basic things that were clearly stated in the rules above and these were pointless.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:57 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8768
Location: Worcester, MA
Kyrt wrote:
Note that taken literally, there is no difference between an on-table formation and a reserve one in terms of the timeline. It just says you have to either place a formation on the board or keep it in reserve, and you take it in turns to do it.

However I normally just ask my opponent if he wants to know how things are deployed at the very beginning as I feel like that's more natural, but technically you can still count it like I am "setting them up" as my last formations, except I've already told him how I will do it. If my opponent doesn't want to tell me at the beginning then that's fine. Things can get a bit wonky if they want their first declaration to be "this thunderhawk will be in reserve" - that's why I don't think the rulebook makes sense.

I'd be happy for the FAQ to say when you do it, e.g. after objectives but before garrisons?? Taking it in turns?


There is this FAQ in 6.1.6, does it cover it?

Quote:
Q: Are formations being kept in reserve declared at the same time as other formations are being set up within 15cm of their own side’s table edge?

A: No, players declare which formations are going to be kept in reserve first, then take it in turn to set up the remaining formations one at a time, starting with the player with the higher strategy rating.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:40 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5471
Location: London, UK
I am having difficulty accessing this file.
Could you check that it is still Ok


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA FAQ errors/typos
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5471
Location: London, UK
IIRC, in the past there was a question whether players would take it in turn to declare each formation being placed in reserve. This potentially allowed a variation on the meta game where certain races, notably the Marines, could choose their deployment depending on what their opponents did.

I believe this FAQ was written to address that question, effectively stating that both players declared their reserve forces simultaneously, though note Spacecraft and planetfalling forces are decided separately from other reserves.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net