BlackLegion wrote:
If a Formation is deployed as a Garrison and on Overwatch can it opt to change its Order during the first turn?
IIRC it is assumed to have activated in the turn before so activating with a different Order in the first turn is allowed (assuming the Fornmation hasn't used Overwatch-fire)?
From the rulebook,
Quote:
Formations remain on overwatch until they either shoot, or they undertake a new action in the following turn. Note that this means that a unit can go into overwatch on one turn, and
not shoot until the following turn. Shooting in the following turn counts as your action for that turn, and will stop the formation taking an action later on. If the formation does not shoot in the following turn then it may take an action instead of shooting.
From tournament section of the rulebook,
Quote:
Each player may start up to two of their garrisoned formations on Overwatch. These formations represent sentries deployed as a trip wire and to provide security at the objectives. They are assumed to have gone on Overwatch in their previous Action phase. That Overwatch is ‘carried over’ into the first turn.
So yes as it is assumed the formation went on Overwatch in the previous action phase they can take a different action in the first turn (as long as it hasn't used it's overwatch).
From the FAQ
Quote:
Q: Can a unit remain on Overwatch into a following turn?
A: If the Formation hasn't fired by the end of the turn, then they can remain on Overwatch into the following turn.
To remain on overwatch into a following turn doesn't require an activation roll if it's at the end of the turn (all other formations have activated) but you would have to pass an activation roll if there are other formations left to activate (as it wouldn't be the end of the turn yet).