Login |  Register |  FAQ

Osprey's Fighting Sail: Fleet Actions 1775-1815

Post subject: Osprey's Fighting Sail: Fleet Actions 1775-1815
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 6:37 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

I have a copy of Osprey's Fighting Sail: Fleet Actions 1775-1815

I am by no means an expert on sialing ships or the time period beyond basic knowledge of Naval history. However, I know many people love it thanks to a few famous fictional heroes of literature. My interest has mostly been in passing. However, there are a few things I love about Naval wargamingin general:

1, Typically a smaller model count
2. Easy to make terrain
3. Small gaming room foot print

Therefore, I was eager to pick up these rules when I saw them become available. It is a fleet game, and designed to use Ships-of-the-Line more than Frigates and small craft. It is not really meant for ship-to-ship duels. However, it can accomodate those fleet types. For example the American Fleet is all 5th and 6th rate ships! I.e. Frigates. The book contains fleet lists and some special command rules for fleets including: French, British, Russian, Spanish, American, Dutch and Pirates. Some claim that it misses out on the Danish, Turks, and Swedes as potential enemies. I sort of agree since how can a British fleet pull a Copenhagen without a Danish fleet? Well, I guess you wouldn't really need the stats for a Danish fleet in that scenario since they were all sunk in port, but you get the idea!

Anyway, I digress. The scale is 1/1200 and the GHQ Micronauts range is mentioned several times. However, it does cover how to use the larger 1/2400 scale as well. It does not give any indication on how to use the scale of the Sails of Glory ships though, since they are (of course) a unique scale.