Login |  Register |  FAQ

Looking for mass combat game suggestions

Post subject: Looking for mass combat game suggestions
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 2:12 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Hey all

I'm a veteran wargamer all the way back to the 80s and 90s. I used to play Epic 40k, Battletech and Ogre/GEV. I would like to get back into a 6mm Sci-Fi game but there are so many choices.

I'm looking for something that is truly combined arms... armour, infantry and air power. I want to feel like the game is representing a major engagement.

Any suggestions? I would prefer to play in 6mm scale.

Profile Send private message  

Post subject: Re: Looking for mass combat game suggestions
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:34 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Whilst I'm just a poor young'un and relative gaming novice to some of the esteemed people here, Legion 4 seems to know quite a bit about the options! I would be interested in finding out what's out there, too.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:47 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Well, there are several different versions of Epic that are fan supported these days, you could find out if anyone in your area plays one of those.

Both Battletech and Ogre have recent re-releases out and have been seeing an upsurge in popularity.

Polyversal just ran a successful kickstarter and should be coming out pretty soon-ish.

There is also Dropzone Commander that is 10mm scale, but is very well supported model wise and has a pretty interesting background. I've always felt like someone had taken a GW rules system and fixed it.

That's about all I am able to comment on.

Once Upon a Midnight Dreary....

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:53 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Epic Armageddon is the most popular with people on here and my favourite wargame. It allows for massed combined warfare and has more manoeuvre and strategy than older versions I played.