Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

First post on the dark side of the board

 Post subject: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:34 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 196
Hi!

After realizing that now I DO own enough painted miniatures to play E:A games, I gave it a first try ever. Since the ruleset is very clear, I managed to play a Solo-Minigeddon in about an hour, which was quite fun. However, I do have a newbie question:

Once I lost some CSM from my Black Legion Retinues I had more Rhinos than needed, meaning some of them were empty, others carried one stand of CSM and another two. How do you memorize which vehicle still contains troops? Or do you assume that the Rhinos that are loaded are always the ones farest from enemy fire?



Thanks a lot,

Skully


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:53 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6023
Location: Leicester UK
You usually mark which ones are carrying troops if some are empty, same with characters/different troop types

_________________
NetEA Space Marine, Imperial Fists and Blood Angels Army Champion

NetEA Red Corsairs Army Champion

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:10 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 196
Thanks for the quick answer Kyuss.

I might have something useable and not looking too annoying on the table.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:51 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 196
After playing some solo games, I want to fight a real opponent this weekend. I still have some gaps of knowledge rules-wise, so here is another noob-question:

May Infantry start embarked in their transports? (I guess so, but I couldn't find anything about it in the transport section or the FAQ)

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:55 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 3062
Location: Norrköping, Sweden.
Yes they can!

_________________
https://epic40ksweden.wordpress.com/

"You have a right to be offended" - Steve Hughes
"Your feelings are hurting my thoughts" - Aron Flam


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:59 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 196
Thanks for that! :)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:30 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 348
Location: London
Skullhamma wrote:
Hi!

After realizing that now I DO own enough painted miniatures to play E:A games, I gave it a first try ever. Since the ruleset is very clear, I managed to play a Solo-Minigeddon in about an hour, which was quite fun. However, I do have a newbie question:

Once I lost some CSM from my Black Legion Retinues I had more Rhinos than needed, meaning some of them were empty, others carried one stand of CSM and another two. How do you memorize which vehicle still contains troops? Or do you assume that the Rhinos that are loaded are always the ones farest from enemy fire?



Thanks a lot,

Skully




It's actually quite unusual for units to be left in their transports between activations so often this isn't an issue.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 3:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:16 am
Posts: 854
Location: London
Depends on the unit - any eldar in wave serpents or Krieg in Gorgons usually spend all their time in transports for instance unless they're getting out to engage something :)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:33 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 5:13 pm
Posts: 36259
Location: Ohio - USA
If you dismount and remount every turn. You won't get anywhere. Move under cover and dismount under cover if at all possible, before you get to your Objective. As close as possible to your Objective/where you want to go.

_________________
Legion 4 "Cry Havoc, and let slip the Dogs of War !" ... "People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:55 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 3062
Location: Norrköping, Sweden.
In Epic:Armageddon you can dismount and remount for free with every move (just once per move though so an advance would let you dismount or remount, a double would make you do both and a march would let you do three different "mounts").

_________________
https://epic40ksweden.wordpress.com/

"You have a right to be offended" - Steve Hughes
"Your feelings are hurting my thoughts" - Aron Flam


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:44 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 5:13 pm
Posts: 36259
Location: Ohio - USA
Yes, that is what I was getting at. On Advance you could either mount OR dismount, if I understand it correctly, yes ? That was the way it is with SM1, etc.

So on Double Move is that on Charge Orders ? I don't know if you would want to jump out of vehicle going at top speed. Unless you wait for it to stop IIRC ? At the end of the move. I may be missing something ? :-[

_________________
Legion 4 "Cry Havoc, and let slip the Dogs of War !" ... "People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:04 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 196
I encountered the issue that lead to my question while doing withdrawals. I moved my formations away from the attacker allowing them to use their transports. But maybe troops cannot even embark their rides while being in panic? (In this case most infantry can only withdraw 15cm x 2, correct?)

Sorry, totally new to E:A, I tried to avoid it as long as possible, because I thought it to be as unbalanced as 40k.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:31 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 348
Location: London
they can embark and disembark as it is a double move

so mounted units can flee around 60cm if they wish and troops can end up within or outside their transport

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 196
Very clear explanation, thanks!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: First post on the dark side of the board
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:27 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 196
Another question, please. How does move cautiously work? It says that a formation counts as having 5cm of speed. What happens if I start my move 10cm before entering dangerous terrain? My first move ends and the second move action into/through the dangerous terrain piece is only 5cm? This way I would always need two actions of movement to pass through DT?

Sorry for my english... don't know if the issue is clear.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net