IJW Wartrader wrote:
I know I'm going to sound like a jerk for asking, but could you please provide a rules quote for this? All I can find is a requirement that at least one enemy unit be in LoF and range, not the template, and I've quoted rules text that supports this.
Both NetEA and EpicUK use the same rules, so interpretations would be the same unless we're talking about something that's gone over in the 5-minute warm-up.
With regards to the first template, second sentence of the second paragraph of
1.9.8:
Quote:
Each weapon contributing to the barrage must be within range and have a line of fire to at least one unit under the template.
And the second to last sentence in the last paragraph:
Quote:
In addition, templates must be placed in such a way as to get as many enemy units from the target formation under them as possible within the restrictions for lines of fire and range
So, 3 or 4 would be how you would have to place the original template (your choice, being the attacker). Note that the template has to be over an infantry MODEL on the stand to count as being over that unit though.
With regards to the extras:
Quote:
Extra Barrage Templates: Large barrages may receive extra Barrage templates. The Barrage table will tell you if a barrage receives any extra Barrage templates. Place any extra templates so that they touch the first template that was placed, and so that no templates overlap. All units under the templates are attacked with the barrage’s to hit values. Note that once the first template has been placed, the attacker may choose where to place the additional templates, as long as they are touching the first template, and no line of fire, placement or range restrictions apply (see below).
The "(see below)" refers to the third and fourth
FAQ:
Quote:
Q: Do extra Barrage templates have to be placed to get as many enemy units from the target formation under them as possible?
A: The rules are unclear here, but yes they do.
Q: Is it possible to place extra Barrage templates so that they cover units that no weapon contributing to the barrage has range or a line of fire to?
A: Yes, but only the extra templates.