Largo_W wrote:
Hey there, I have a couple of questions. right away:
The situation is as follows:
A landing Craft is placed on the table, next to an enemy formation. The Marine player does some stuff, initative passes and the Craft has still a formation inside. The enemy has the opportunity to attack the craft. Now the questions arise:
1) The formation inside may exit the Craft as a Counter Charge Move as long as there are not damage capacity times two bases in contact with the Landing Craft already, correct?
correct
Quote:
2) IF the formation exits, does the whole formation has to leave as it is a different formation as the Craft?
yes, you cannot partially embark/disembark a formation
Quote:
3) Is the formation allowed to do a counter charge?
I believe so
Quote:
Next up, combat resolution. The Marine player loses the Assault by one. Now, the assaulted formation is broken. Additional, after allocating the Hack Down Hits, the Aircraft would be destroyed - but is fearless. A fearless landed aircraft is counted as a fearless ground unit with a movement of Zero.
4) Is the aircraft still destroyed if there is at least one enemy base in five centimeters AFTER the Craft breaks but BEFORE the enemy does his consolidation movement? The reasoning for this is the Withdrawl Move which fails to move out of 5cm.
no, fearless units only suffer hackdown hits if they elect to move and remain within 5cm, if they choose to remain where they are, they suffer no damage
Quote:
5) In case the formation inside elected to stay inside - what happens? Does everybody get a save or are they destroyed as they are inside an aircraft beeing destroyed (4.2.5) ?
assuming the landing craft is destroyed through damage, as the aircraft counts as a ground unit, they would get a save, however if the landing craft suffers a critical hit, any units on board would be destroyed
Quote:
6) Is the formation, if it elected to stay inside, broken? Given the fact that it is indeed an another formation, completely unrelated to the Craft apart from beeing transported, this may the case. Could be I am missing a rule here, like "it counts as part of the formation as long as beeing transported"
if the engager did not consider the formation intermingled, then I would say it remains unbroken
Quote:
7) If the Craft has to withdrawl, can the formation inside withdrawl out of the craft (as long as there are not DC x 2 bases in contact with the Craft)?
if we're talking war engines which can actually move, it could drop the embarked units as part of its withdrawal in the same way as normal transports can pick up/drop off units in a withdrawal