Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Rules Question: Hit allocation in an Engagement with WE

 Post subject: Rules Question: Hit allocation in an Engagement with WE
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 8:44 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:38 pm
Posts: 95
Location: Toronto, Canada
Question: How are/can hits be allocated in an engagement where 4 hits are scored on an engagement involving a Landing Craft (in CC) and a tactical marine squad (2 of the tactical marines are in CC)?

A)Can all 4 hits be allocated by the marine player to the Landing craft since it is in CC,
B)Can the other player force some sort of allocation with the CC hits as he feels respecting that the hits have to be allocated to models in CC and no more then there 1 hit per model/DC (ie 1 hit each to the 2 tactical marines in CC and the remaining 2 hits to the Landing Craft) because WE have some different rules,
C)Some other combination.

Where my confusion lies is that hits are allocated like shooting (closest first (anything in CC is considered equally close))... but for WE it says refer to the WE shooting section, where it says that WE can be picked out separately.

Looking for some help in understanding how hits are to be allocated in an engagement involving several formations, one of which is a WE.

Thank you.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Hit allocation in an Engagement with WE
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 8:56 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 7855
Location: Worcester, MA
Your (the player controlling the SM) options are: 4 hits on the LC, 1 hit to a Tac and 3 hits to a LC, 2 hits to Tacs (one each) and 2 hits to a LC.

The opponent never gets to assign hits. The only exception is Sniper hits.

I brought up WE's being picked out separately for shooting carrying over to assaults. Consensus was that it's not allowed. While I agree that the rules seem to allow for it I don't think it was ever intended to be allowed.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Tyranids 2016-12-02 | Knight World 2017-01-03 | Raven Guard 2.0


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Hit allocation in an Engagement with WE
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:20 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:38 pm
Posts: 95
Location: Toronto, Canada
Thank you.
Will that be clarified anywhere in the FAQ?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Hit allocation in an Engagement with WE
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 3:31 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 7855
Location: Worcester, MA
It could, but given only two people have brought it up it isn't really in the "frequently" category yet.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Tyranids 2016-12-02 | Knight World 2017-01-03 | Raven Guard 2.0


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Hit allocation in an Engagement with WE
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 6:18 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5302
Location: London, UK
The rules around hit allocation are effectively the same as for shooting; allocate the hits 'closest to furthest', and where they are applied to a WE you allocate the DC number of hits before passing on to the next.

As Dave says, in your case, if the marines are in contact as well as the LC, it is your choice where you start to allocate hits; you may start with allocating hits to marine units or the LC, but once you start allocating hit to the LC you must place 4x hits before passing on to the next unit.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Hit allocation in an Engagement with WE
PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:09 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 6:42 am
Posts: 124
I was reading this the other week in the rules and was a little confused. It does say when theres a formation with WE and non WE the attacker needs to allocate. But i couldnt work out if it was shooting or FF in assaults or if it was CC also.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Hit allocation in an Engagement with WE
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:26 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 7855
Location: Worcester, MA
I see about drafting a FAQ this week.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Tyranids 2016-12-02 | Knight World 2017-01-03 | Raven Guard 2.0


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net