Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Rule Q - Multiple Daemon summoning and Commander ability

 Post subject: Rule Q - Multiple Daemon summoning and Commander ability
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 4:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:49 am
Posts: 173
Hello, I have a question regarding the correct order for summoning daemons with multiple summoning units when using the commander ability.

As per the Chaos rules, daemon summoning is done when selecting a unit, before activation roll is made.

With the commander rule therefore, would the correct order be;

-Select commander unit
-summon daemons for commander unit
-declare using commander ability
-select units being "commanded"
-summon daemons for these units?
-make activation roll
-if passed do engage action with all units + all daemons
-if failed only commander is affected, other units still have their daemons summoned?
-If failed, other units can then later take an action. Presumably they cant summon daemons again since they already summoned some when commander was declared?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rule Q - Multiple Daemon summoning and Commander ability
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 4:40 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:43 pm
Posts: 1164
Location: Devon, UK
You summon Daemons after selecting the unit for an action, but before rolling the action test. So far as I'm aware you'd only get to summon Daemons for the Commander's formation, because the secondary formations aren't getting their own separate actions.

_________________
The Wargaming Trader
NetEA Death Guard Army Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rule Q - Multiple Daemon summoning and Commander ability
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 4:43 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1960
Location: South Yorkshire
Jon wrote:
Hello, I have a question regarding the correct order for summoning daemons with multiple summoning units when using the commander ability.

As per the Chaos rules, daemon summoning is done when selecting a unit, before activation roll is made.

With the commander rule therefore, would the correct order be;

-Select commander unit
-summon daemons for commander unit
-declare using commander ability
-select units being "commanded"
-summon daemons for these units?
-make activation roll
-if passed do engage action with all units + all daemons
-if failed only commander is affected, other units still have their daemons summoned?
-If failed, other units can then later take an action. Presumably they cant summon daemons again since they already summoned some when commander was declared?


No, the correct order would be,
-Select formation with the Commander
-Declare which activation is to be used , you would have to declare a combined assault at this stage. (this is done before any units are summoned so players cannot place daemons to bring other formations starting out of 5cm into range for the rule)
-make activation roll, including any modifiers for BMs on any formation involved
-if passed all formations included in the action make the attack
-if failed only the formation that made the roll can take a hold action, others are not affected.

As IJW stated Non of the other formations can summon Daemons as part of the engage action.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rule Q - Multiple Daemon summoning and Commander ability
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 5:39 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:49 am
Posts: 173
Thanks - that was the main issue, if the other formations got to summon or not.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net