Quote: (frogbear @ 08 Mar. 2009, 02:59 )
1. If a warlord is on the other side of a crater, would you give it hull down as the ridges were probably up to where it's shins should be.
2. If it entered the crater, would you give it the hull down advantage?
Basically, any time you ask the question, "Should [target unit] get the cover modifier?", the answer is "yes".
From the rulebook, pg 17, emphasis mine:
DESIGN CONCEPT
Terrain ConventionsIt is possible to have all kinds of arguments
about whether terrain partially or fully
blocks the line of fire to a target. Because of
this, you should discuss the terrain on your
gaming table with your opponent before a
game starts and make sure you both agree
on how it will work with regard to this and
any of the other terrain rules. However, the
-1 to hit modifier should be generously
applied, and
if in any doubt it should be
counted rather than ignored.The thing to consider is that, despite the models being static and the table being flat, the "real" battlefield is much more dynamic and contoured, and that the "-1" should be used a *lot*.