Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Ork Lifta-Droppa vs Multi-Wound Creature Question

 Post subject: Ork Lifta-Droppa vs Multi-Wound Creature Question
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:53 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 9:53 am
Posts: 8
How should the Lifta-Droppa work against a multi-wound creature?

We had a game last night where a Tyranid 4 wound beast (a Dominatrix my opponent called it, although i'm not sure if he was being serious) was hit by a lifta droppa. It failed its armour save and was dropped onto something.

We read the rules and played that the model beast was destroyed outright, but was this correct?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ork Lifta-Droppa vs Multi-Wound Creature Question
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 12:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 2:04 am
Posts: 53
Hi

The name is correct, Tyranids does have 4 wound dominatrix model :)

I find i rather harsh that it dies out right, i would be think it costs a wound with no save possible. If dropped onto something regular Lifta-droppa rules apply.

Thats just my interpretation.

Best
Jens


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ork Lifta-Droppa vs Multi-Wound Creature Question
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:16 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:50 pm
Posts: 1474
The rules for the Lifta-Droppa are very specific that the falling model is destroyed, except for models with a Hit Location template, which cannot be picked up. As the Tyranid Dominatrix does not have a Hit Location template, it can be picked up and dropped on another model.

However, I would say that if the model being picked up has Wounds, then after it falls it should be considered to have taken a number of Wounds equal to how many it has available. This damage could still be Regenerated if the model has that ability. For example, if an undamaged Dominatrix is picked up and dropped, it would take 4 Wounds. In the end phase, it would get to try and Regenerate. If all four rolls failed, it would then be removed as a casualty.

_________________
Net Epic Coordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ork Lifta-Droppa vs Multi-Wound Creature Question
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:27 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 27034
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
MagnusIlluminus wrote:
The rules for the Lifta-Droppa are very specific that the falling model is destroyed, except for models with a Hit Location template, which cannot be picked up. As the Tyranid Dominatrix does not have a Hit Location template, it can be picked up and dropped on another model.

However, I would say that if the model being picked up has Wounds, then after it falls it should be considered to have taken a number of Wounds equal to how many it has available. This damage could still be Regenerated if the model has that ability. For example, if an undamaged Dominatrix is picked up and dropped, it would take 4 Wounds. In the end phase, it would get to try and Regenerate. If all four rolls failed, it would then be removed as a casualty.


Hi!

This would be the correct interpretation.

The Dominatrix is INCREDIBLY powerful. I have never seen one "die". Even in this example it would have to fail ALL four regeneration rolls to not recover a single wound and thus be removed.

That said, I wonder that if it classified in a pinning category similar to praetorian it should probably be exempt to such an attack.

But as it stands what Magnus explained is how it works.

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ork Lifta-Droppa vs Multi-Wound Creature Question
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:11 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 9:53 am
Posts: 8
Great, thanks for the clarification.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net